Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road
help with brushless, im retarded >

help with brushless, im retarded

help with brushless, im retarded

Reply

Old 01-30-2009, 08:09 PM
  #1  
Tech Rookie
Thread Starter
 
Jake Foz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Cypress, CA
Posts: 18
Default help with brushless, im retarded

Hello all, Im pretty much the most retarded person with electronics ever and I bought a stock brushless orion vortex and lrp sphere speed control, installed it and Its moving slowwwww... Im running 30c lipos and its going like 7 miles per hour.. how can I get more power? Did I do something wrong??? And could I have damaged the motor by turning it on without the sensor wire?
Jake Foz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2009, 08:19 PM
  #2  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (4)
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 775
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

This might sound stupid but...
Are your batteries charged?
Happened to me when I got my Slash, something went wrong with the one NiMh I had, so went I went to my LHS I got 2 new 7-cells.
Then I found out I needed a new charger, the one I was using could only handle a 6-cell...
Grr....
howtowakeakar is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2009, 08:21 PM
  #3  
Tech Rookie
Thread Starter
 
Jake Foz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Cypress, CA
Posts: 18
Default

yea my batteries are charged, i tried the same battery in my truck before and its perfectly charged... i think i fried it when i installed it without the sensor wire and tried to throttle it for like 4 seconds.
Jake Foz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2009, 08:29 PM
  #4  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (4)
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 775
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Did you have to calibrate the ESC?
If you did or did not have to, you might have done something else more serious.
howtowakeakar is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2009, 08:41 PM
  #5  
Tech Master
iTrader: (95)
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: KY
Posts: 1,152
Trader Rating: 95 (99%+)
Default

run through the speedo setup again
RobbieS is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2009, 09:13 PM
  #6  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Fullerton, california
Posts: 496
Default

Not having the sensor connected will not damage the motor. You need to re-calibrate.
Thopper is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2009, 09:45 PM
  #7  
Tech Rookie
Thread Starter
 
Jake Foz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Cypress, CA
Posts: 18
Default

even if the motor started smoking from not having the sensor cable?
Jake Foz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2009, 09:53 PM
  #8  
Suspended
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Pimping Old Hoes .
Posts: 597
Talking AE.......................IS THE KILLER OF ALL!

Did u make sure you have a/a b/b c/c from speedo to motor and the sensor cable only goes one way into the speedo..... also what is your gearing is it on your BK2 id start with 78 spur 28 pinion or 27 pinion.... good luck........
losidriver70 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2009, 09:54 PM
  #9  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (6)
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Plain City, OH
Posts: 727
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

What LRP Speed control are you using? Some of them have an auto motor sensing function. If the speed control doesn't "see" the sensor wire it thinks you hooked up a brushed motor. This will fry a brushless motor almost immediately. If you saw smoke, you fried the motor.
Bike racer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2009, 10:11 PM
  #10  
Tech Rookie
Thread Starter
 
Jake Foz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Cypress, CA
Posts: 18
Default

im using a sphere with a 17.5t orion vortex.... how should i set it up to make sure its good?
Jake Foz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2009, 10:32 PM
  #11  
Tech Rookie
Thread Starter
 
Jake Foz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Cypress, CA
Posts: 18
Default

could it have been a gearing issue?
i think i had the gearing at like 84 18...
Jake Foz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2009, 10:53 PM
  #12  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (43)
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 867
Trader Rating: 43 (100%+)
Default

you might check your radio setup. Could be turned way down. happened to me
mracer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2009, 10:58 PM
  #13  
Tech Rookie
Thread Starter
 
Jake Foz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Cypress, CA
Posts: 18
Default

im pretty sure its gearing.. the biggest pinion i have is a 22 with a 78 spur and it got lots more punch and power than the 19 84... so if i get a smaller spur or stay the same and get like a 30t pinion will it be faster?
Jake Foz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2009, 11:01 PM
  #14  
Suspended
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Pimping Old Hoes .
Posts: 597
Talking AE.......................IS THE KILLER OF ALL!

go taller on the pinion......
losidriver70 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2009, 03:37 PM
  #15  
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 27
Default

what model are you talking about? a xxx-t?
gini@BentKneeRC is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service