R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-25-2009, 06:08 PM   #1
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: louisville, ky.
Posts: 4
Default lipo charging ?

will i have a problem charging a 5200 mah battery with a charger that you can only type in 5000 mah in the charger also it only charges at 5 amps instead of 5.2 amps will that creat any problems. thanks for any input i am fairly new to this lipo stuff.
stealth43 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2009, 06:09 PM   #2
Tech Champion
 
whitrzac's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: WI
Posts: 5,750
Trader Rating: 96 (100%+)
Default

no it won't be a problem, if anything else, when it peaks, put it on again
whitrzac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2009, 06:11 PM   #3
Dan
Tech Elite
 
Dan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 4,407
Trader Rating: 48 (100%+)
Default

What charger are you using?
Dan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2009, 06:18 PM   #4
Tech Fanatic
 
gndprx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Fort Mill, SC
Posts: 791
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Default

Actually you don't want to "re-peak" a LiPo.

Charging at 5A will just add time to the charge, the CC/CV portion of the charge will act exactly the same and cut off the charge when the battery is full. All amperage will do is affect the charge time.

The difference between 5A and 5.2A for a 5200 battery will barely be noticeable overall. Maybe to the tune of 5 minutes extra?
__________________
Carl Fisher
Team Xtreme RC
The Grove Racing Center
gndprx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2009, 06:29 PM   #5
Registered User
 
UltegraSTI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,171
Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)
Default

yeh ur fine, no harm in go lower. no condition where that 200mah will help u.

R

some places where they try to put a 5000mah cap, if they gave u stink, u could show em that u can only charge up to 5000mah b/c of ur charger.
UltegraSTI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2009, 06:29 PM   #6
Tech Champion
 
whitrzac's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: WI
Posts: 5,750
Trader Rating: 96 (100%+)
Default

I'v had a charger cut out at 5300mah when charging an 8000 pack, thats why I said to put it back on if the voltage doesnt read 8.4
whitrzac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2009, 06:39 PM   #7
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: louisville, ky.
Posts: 4
Default lipo charging

thanks thats what i was looking for. just wanted to make sure it wouldnt cause no problems just a little longer charge time wont matter right now i have the triton eq
stealth43 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
EPMTs check in here. (a subsidiary of TNT) overtki11 Singapore R/C Racers 55470 05-08-2017 12:57 AM
RC FLIGHT brading Manila Racers 23110 12-24-2015 07:23 PM
DuraTrax IntelliPeak ICE DC Competition Charger billwilner Radio and Electronics 1944 04-10-2014 05:23 AM
Best charger of all time?! Barry White Electric On-Road 251 01-02-2010 02:13 PM
Lithium Poly Batteries - The future of R/C! Accord Electric On-Road 140 09-14-2006 04:37 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 09:53 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net