R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-21-2009, 02:10 PM   #1
Tech Regular
 
LT280z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 356
Trader Rating: 28 (97%+)
Default B4 wheels on B3???????

I dont have my B4 with me right now and was going to order some wheels. Does anyone know if you can use B4 wheels on a B3 buggy?????

I know the shaft is the same size but im wondering about the offset?

I cant find B3 wheels anywhere so im looking for an alternate solution

Any help is appreciated
LT280z is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2009, 05:19 PM   #2
Tech Elite
 
ta_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 4,363
Trader Rating: 151 (100%+)
Default

B4 wheels have a different offset than B4 wheels. The fronts are probably close enough that it doesn't matter much, but B4 rears will make a B3 much narrower. The thing to do is get the Evader Nitro BX rear wheels. They have the same offset and same axle size as the B3. I have lots (Tower had them on sale once in GREEN for $1.55 a pair and I got a bunch to use for bashing.) They work fine. Here are the white ones:

http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...?&I=LXEWP3&P=X

I think they are actually better (stronger) than the Associated or Pro-line B3 rear wheels.
ta_man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2009, 06:06 PM   #3
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Indy
Posts: 1,140
Trader Rating: 23 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to AxiomJacob
Default

B4 wheels on the B3 will narrow the front end up a little due to the offset in the rim itself.
__________________
Jacob

Proline Racing
AxiomJacob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2009, 07:39 PM   #4
Tech Elite
 
Bugle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 2,082
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

You can swap B4 hub carriers onto the B3 with the pin hole enlarged to 1/8", then use B4 driveshafts.
__________________
http://bugleboyracing.com/

http://stivesrc.org.au/
Bugle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2009, 01:18 PM   #5
Tech Regular
 
LT280z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 356
Trader Rating: 28 (97%+)
Default

Great info thanks guys!
LT280z is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2009, 11:41 PM   #6
Tech Apprentice
 
asbe88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 50
Default

wheels from my b3 fit on my b4, (not so well because you have to cut the holes bigger in which you put them on) but I have never tried the other way around.. like I said they may fit but won't be as reliable and easy to use if you had the b3 wheels. my b3 wheels are so tight on my b4 that i try and get away without using them.
asbe88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tamiya Championship Series Neil Rabara Racing Forum 21242 Today 01:40 PM
RC10B4/T4 Forum DerekL Electric Off-Road 14338 11-18-2017 04:19 PM
Associated Wheels help OI812 Electric Off-Road 7 05-19-2008 08:43 PM
Indoor Dirt Racing @ RC Performance in Madison squirrel Wisconsin & Illinois Racing 4856 05-11-2008 06:25 PM
Still running a B3? Bikerbob Electric Off-Road 25 04-10-2008 05:40 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 02:52 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net