R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-20-2009, 07:04 PM   #1
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 42
Default Traxxas Slash with Novak GTB/Velociti 5.5 Brushless combo

This guy is selling me this setup for ~$200. The thing is, I don't have LIPO. Will a 6 cell 3300 nimh work well with it? Whats the downside to it? If not battery or not LIPO, then what would u guys recommend? Don't really need a LIPO cuz I don't race and don't have that kind of money for it. It will just be for bashing and outdoor fun.


Thanks.
Danteazy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2009, 10:28 PM   #2
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Puyallup
Posts: 444
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Steve
Default

no you dont need a lipo for it and it sounds like a good deal for 200, 6 cell 3300's will work fine

with a 5.5 brushless it should be real fast
Steve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2009, 10:31 PM   #3
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 42
Default

i actually got it for $140 on craigslist. This dude was desperate!
Danteazy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2009, 09:16 AM   #4
Tech Master
 
joelm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Lower Burrell PA
Posts: 1,434
Trader Rating: 114 (100%+)
Default

the only thing you need to do for a non lipo battery is to make sure the lipo cut off is not on or you will not run for long on a non lipo battery
joelm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2009, 02:17 PM   #5
Tech Fanatic
 
jmcvicker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: SE Pennsylvania
Posts: 814
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

The 5.5 will be a pretty good amp draw. You could consider looking at a 4600 NiMH 6-cell rather than the 3300. You should be able to get more runtime along with more speed out of a larger, newer battery (such as an enerG 4600 cell). The GTB's manual says to use 4-6 cells - so any mAh size cell will be fine - there are even 5000 and 5200 mAh cells out now.
jmcvicker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2009, 02:19 PM   #6
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 42
Default

Sweet.. I'll look into it! Thanks for the suggestion.
Danteazy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:15 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net