Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road
My laps are not counting! Help >

My laps are not counting! Help

My laps are not counting! Help

Reply

Old 01-20-2009, 03:59 PM
  #1  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 120
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default My laps are not counting! Help

I have a AMB transponder that I use in two different cars. In my b44, the transponder has never missed a lap. In my brothers xxxt, the same transponder has missed up to 6 laps of about 15 in one race. He uses a sidewinder esc and a 5700 motor. The reciever is a fm jr xr2. In my b44 I use a lrp sphere and a 2.4ghz fasst system. Any one else have this problem?

Also I have borrowed another transponder and it did the same thing so I know it is not the problem. Thank you for any help you can give me.
fazznick is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2009, 04:03 PM
  #2  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (14)
 
What up?'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Corona, CA USA
Posts: 2,348
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by fazznick View Post
I have a AMB transponder that I use in two different cars. In my b44, the transponder has never missed a lap. In my brothers xxxt, the same transponder has missed up to 6 laps of about 15 in one race. He uses a sidewinder esc and a 5700 motor. The reciever is a fm jr xr2. In my b44 I use a lrp sphere and a 2.4ghz fasst system. Any one else have this problem?

Also I have borrowed another transponder and it did the same thing so I know it is not the problem. Thank you for any help you can give me.
Where are you mounting the Transponder on the car? Try mounting it as low as possible.
What up? is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2009, 04:13 PM
  #3  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 120
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Im mounting it on the chassis on the right side of the battery.
fazznick is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2009, 04:32 PM
  #4  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (11)
 
jamminnay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: IL
Posts: 2,021
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

well try mounting it in the front of the chassis somewhere.. maybe on top of the servo
jamminnay is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2009, 05:04 PM
  #5  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 120
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

First, thanks for trying to help. I think I have found the problem. I have been searching for a thread about this for weeks and finally found someone else with the same problem. It turns out that jr servos and the sidewinder do not mix well. The voltage would drop enough when turning that transponder didnt have enough power to count the lap. I tried my fasst rx and it would loose the bind when turning only. With the Jr rx it didnt have to bind so it would glitch a bit then work perfectly when not turning.

Moral of the story, jr servos and sidewinders dont mix.
fazznick is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2009, 05:10 PM
  #6  
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Rochester Hills Michigan
Posts: 7,232
Default

Perhaps a stutter stopper, a capacitor that plus into the receiver? Helps to stabilize the voltage.
Dave H is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2009, 05:44 PM
  #7  
Tech Elite
 
RC Scoring Pro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Elm Grove, WI (Milwaukee area) USA
Posts: 2,010
Default

Just use a splitter and split the steering wire and power the transponder from Slot #1 in the receiver.
RC Scoring Pro is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2009, 05:51 PM
  #8  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 120
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I have a older futaba s9304 that im going to put in it for now. If the servo doesnt work as well I am going to try a stabilizer.
fazznick is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2009, 06:22 PM
  #9  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 120
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Dave H View Post
Perhaps a stutter stopper, a capacitor that plus into the receiver? Helps to stabilize the voltage.
Is this what your talking about?

http://www.shopatron.com/product/pro...=NOV5626/135.0
fazznick is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2009, 07:01 PM
  #10  
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Rochester Hills Michigan
Posts: 7,232
Default

Originally Posted by fazznick View Post
Bingo! Other rambling thoughts: The quality of the batteries comes into play, if you have tired nimh you will tend to have more problems. Wiring/connector condition too. That's a fairly hot motor, needs lots of juice. Especially if it's geared high. Good Luck!
Dave H is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2009, 07:24 PM
  #11  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (8)
 
MaTt 93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Australia, NSW
Posts: 581
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

maybe if you conected a small rx pack to the receiver it might work. i thik i'v heard of people doing the same the with 1:12 pan cars.
MaTt 93 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2009, 11:06 AM
  #12  
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 20
Default

If you are the Nick from KC come see me tonight or sat if you are running. I can see if I can help you out. Thanks Ben.
IMCAMOD6 is offline  
Reply With Quote

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service