HELP - TEKIN RS PRO

Reply

Old 01-19-2009, 07:31 AM
  #1  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
iTrader: (10)
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 239
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default HELP - TEKIN RS PRO

need help... probably something stupid... Car will not turn one way and be on gas at same time... works fine the other way.... Also, if i turn the wheels that same way at a stop and then give it throttle - i get nothing.... doesnt move... When i straighten the wheels it goes forward....

IDEAS???? SUGGESTIONS????
blacksheep is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2009, 07:42 AM
  #2  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (7)
 
yodace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Caleb
Posts: 2,528
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

have u tried replacing your reciever?
yodace is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2009, 07:51 AM
  #3  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
iTrader: (10)
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 239
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

receiver is brand new.... I will try switching it out....

any other suggestions? could it be some sort of glitch because of interference?
blacksheep is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2009, 07:52 AM
  #4  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (13)
 
tom_chang79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Southern California
Posts: 2,591
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Seriously, sounds like a radio problem. Quickest way to determine that is to hook up your RS Pro to your buddy's radio (that is known to work) and test it out.

Conversely, you can hook up a known good speed control with your radio and if that behaves, it's the RS Pro...

Did you recalibrate your RS Pro to your throttle? I think all ESCs has some button or routine to get the end-points of throttle/brake and neutral point of a radio.

I'm sure you know, but CH1 on the receiver is for the steering servo, CH2 is for the speed control.
tom_chang79 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2009, 08:25 AM
  #5  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
iTrader: (10)
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 239
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

swapped receivers with another one from one of my other cars.... Same model receiver.... Still had same problem....
blacksheep is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2009, 08:31 AM
  #6  
mo
Tech Master
iTrader: (7)
 
mo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 1,363
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Do you have another servo you can try? Does it only happen when you turn fully to the one direction or even if you only turn the wheel a little that direction?
mo is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2009, 08:36 AM
  #7  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
iTrader: (10)
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 239
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

i can sake a servo out of another car.... Servo is new.... I am pretty sure it happens only at full lock.... Thoughts?
blacksheep is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2009, 08:51 AM
  #8  
mo
Tech Master
iTrader: (7)
 
mo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 1,363
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Have you adjusted you epa so that you just get enough servo movement to get you full steering and not over stress the servo by it trying to turn farther than necessary?
mo is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2009, 08:57 AM
  #9  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
iTrader: (10)
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 239
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

if i adjust the travel (which i assume is the same as epa) to 60% the problem seems to go away... I was just trying that as you suggested it... Does 60% seem low? I need to confirm that the wheels are at full lock at around 60% to see if that is the limit... It might be??? It is a 4wd buggy if that makes a diff... on my stadium truck the travel is set to 100% with no problems...

As a point of interest... at about 65% the problem is intermittent and the wheel on the side of the issue seems to rotate a bit on the rough side...
blacksheep is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2009, 08:59 AM
  #10  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Boise Id
Posts: 218
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Are you sure you have a full battery?
nascarracer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2009, 09:03 AM
  #11  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
iTrader: (10)
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 239
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

not full battery but plenty of juice left....
blacksheep is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2009, 09:08 AM
  #12  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (12)
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: miami, fl
Posts: 455
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

I would also check the motor, I know when I was running a 278 in my 4wd in would do weird stuff on the straight, especially later in a race when the battery had fallen off a bit but I later found out it was taking all the power for the motor and not giving me enough for my steering servo which would cause the car to veer on the straights at full throttle....something to check out.
peakman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2009, 09:11 AM
  #13  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
iTrader: (10)
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 239
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

tekin redline 5.5, smc 4900 saddle pack.... should be plenty of juice...
blacksheep is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2009, 09:16 AM
  #14  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (12)
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: miami, fl
Posts: 455
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

what is your speed controller setup
peakman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2009, 09:17 AM
  #15  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
iTrader: (10)
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 239
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

you mean what are the settings i am running?
blacksheep is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service