Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road
Lipo cutoff, Voltage or Capacity >

Lipo cutoff, Voltage or Capacity

Lipo cutoff, Voltage or Capacity

Old 01-03-2009, 07:29 PM
Tech Fanatic

Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)
Default Lipo cutoff, Voltage or Capacity

I read most places that lipo cutoff should be 3.0 volts per cell maximum. I have also read in one place to only discharge them to like 80% of capacity. Which is right?? I'm new to electric much less lipo. I ran my 6s 5000mah pack to @ 3.5 volts per cell the other day and it still had plenty of punch. When I charged it it took 3980 mah to charge it, which is right at 80%. Some of you pro's staighten me out please If you do use voltage is it under load 3.0 volts or what? I currently have my MMM set at 19volts which is 3.17 volts per cell. HELP please, I don't want to waste my battery.
Thanks in advance.

Last edited by brofroe; 01-03-2009 at 08:58 PM. Reason: typo
Old 01-03-2009, 09:13 PM
Super Moderator

They are both right, just saying different things. Need to stay above 3 volts per cell minimum. Go below this the battery may not charge back up. Immediate failure concern.

The 80% discharge comes before that, and is recommended for longer battery life and fewer out of balance issues. More of a long life issue.

Last edited by Dave H; 01-04-2009 at 07:07 AM.
Old 02-16-2009, 06:28 AM
Tech Fanatic

Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)

OK I've set my LVC to 3.5 volts per cell and don't even ever reach the LVC point. However i'm still using over 80% of capacity. In fact, once I recharged to over capacity. Info please.
Old 02-16-2009, 06:39 AM
Tech Champion

Trader Rating: 96 (100%+)

Originally Posted by Dave H View Post
They are both right, just saying different things. Need to stay above 3 volts per cell minimum. Go below this the battery may not charge back up. Immediate failure concern.