R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-16-2008, 01:11 PM   #1
Tech Adept
 
Dorion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 101
Default Highest mah NiMH

I am looking for the highest mah 6 cell 7.2v NiMH battery pack possible. So far I've found the Team Orion Rocket Pack which is 5100 mah. Has anyone seen a 7.2v 6 cell NiMH with a higher mah?

Thanks

Dorion
Dorion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2008, 01:21 PM   #2
Tech Fanatic
 
jmcvicker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: SE Pennsylvania
Posts: 814
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

5100 is pretty darn good. For sub-C that's about the limit. Slightly more for C-size due to larger cell size (but not normal for RC packs). I think you could build a C-size pack for larger battery trays like within Slash with a stick-pack layout.

There are 5000mAh out there too - like Elite 5000 at cheapbatterypacks.com. Now, do you want this for longer-runtime for bashing or is this for racing? If for higher voltage during racing, I've seen some good results with the enerG 4600mAh packs showing slightly higher voltage during discharge than some other 4500mAh packs. enerG can be found at www.promatchracing.com and a few other places.

If you can shoehorn them in - you can get 10,000 mAh D-cell rechargeable NiMH - but that's not too common to see out there and the weight would be higher.

appx. sizes:

subC-cell Height 43 mm, Diameter 23 mm @ 58gm.
C-cell Height 50 mm, Diameter 26 mm @ 85gm.
jmcvicker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2008, 02:23 PM   #3
Tech Master
 
DustinR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C-Bus in the OH10
Posts: 1,566
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Team Orion has 5300 packs. They are even ROAR approved. They are readily available through Tower Hobbies, Stormer Hobbies, and even your local hobbyshop.

http://www.teamorion.com/Products/Ni...ition+5300+SHO
__________________
Grandview Hobbies, HobbyWing, J-Concepts, Airtronics, LukeDawg Graphics, TQ Wire
DustinR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2008, 04:03 PM   #4
Tech Master
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1,771
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DustinR View Post
Team Orion has 5300 packs. They are even ROAR approved. They are readily available through Tower Hobbies, Stormer Hobbies, and even your local hobbyshop.

http://www.teamorion.com/Products/Ni...ition+5300+SHO
That is what I was going to reccomend. But $85 for 6 loose cells is stepp!!!
__________________
Losi 8ight 1.5 ~ 8T ~ XXX Buggy ~ Mini-Baja

The o''le saying goes, pay me now, or pay me later, because you gonna pay me. "Pearl_414"
Chris__RC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2008, 07:44 AM   #5
Tech Adept
 
Dorion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 101
Default Thanks guys

jmcvicker, thanks for the reply. I am strictly doing it for longer run times. I would consider Lipo, but I don't want all the hassle that comes with them. I am going to be bashing. I picked up an RC10T4 for Christmas. I've never had an rc car before and was hearing stories about how quickly the batteries discharge. I initially bought a 3300 rocket pack with a prophet charger. I want to run my car at least 20 minutes without having to change the batteries, so I'm hoping the 5100 gets me there. Since I'm bashing maybe the D cells would be worth it. I really don't need to worry about the weight since I'm not racing.....

DustinR thanks for the info. I'm going to check those out as well. One other question, Chris_RC mentioned loose cells. How would I use those? Don't they need to be in a pack? Sorry, I'm sure this is a newbie question..

Thanks

Dorion
Dorion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2008, 07:52 AM   #6
Tech Master
 
DustinR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C-Bus in the OH10
Posts: 1,566
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

The loose cells you would need to solder together yourself useing battery bones you buy, solder, and a soldering iron.

If you are not into that you can buy the pack assembled here http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...?&I=LXVAC0&P=7

I would think that this will get you very close to 20 min of runtime. I have ran my T4 for 20 min with a 6.5 Orion motor at a track useing these cells.
__________________
Grandview Hobbies, HobbyWing, J-Concepts, Airtronics, LukeDawg Graphics, TQ Wire
DustinR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2008, 08:16 AM   #7
Tech Master
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1,771
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

If you want long runtime get a 5000+ mAh lipo.
__________________
Losi 8ight 1.5 ~ 8T ~ XXX Buggy ~ Mini-Baja

The o''le saying goes, pay me now, or pay me later, because you gonna pay me. "Pearl_414"
Chris__RC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2008, 08:53 AM   #8
Tech Prophet
 
Casper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Orange, Ca
Posts: 17,764
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

Lipo are less hassle then nimh. You just need to get the right charger (and balancer) and they are easy to take care of. Since you are just bashing around I would make sure your ESC has a lipo cutoff or get an external lipo cutoff (novak sells some) to make sure you do not over discharge the battery but other then that they will be less maintaince and should last longer then a nimh pack.

Max amps has 6000+ mah packs I believe. Losi sells a hard case 5000 pack. Orion sells a 5000 pack. Reedy has 5000 packs and trinity is selling EP 5200 packs.
__________________
TLR/Losi Team Driver
TLR/Losi | Tekin | DE Racing | Spektrum | Exotek | JBRL | Kolor Koncepts | OC/RC |Sticky Kicks | Imagine It Graphics | Casper-RC.com
TLR 22 4.0 SR, TLR 22T 4.0, TLR 22-4 2.0, Spektrum DX6R

WWW.CASPER-RC.COM TLR and Tekin setups
Casper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2008, 09:04 AM   #9
Tech Fanatic
 
jmcvicker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: SE Pennsylvania
Posts: 814
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Thing of Lipo vs. NiMH will be is that NiMh weigh more than LiPo. So, you automatically get more runtime even with the same mAh sizes due to lower weight of the vehicle. If you have a fast motor on there, the higher output LiPo would possibly give you more punch and top-speed vs. a 7.2v 6-cell NiMH.

Now, price and such - a big lipo pack will cost more than a NiMH 5000+ pack. You can do a 5000 Elite pack, prebuilt, from CBP for under $45 shipped while a hot Lipo pack over 5000 (25C or 30C) could cost more unless it's a Yeah Racing type import. For bashing, you wouldn't need 30C or 35C LiPo either, 25C would be fine and a lower cost.

3000 and 3300 NiMH packs tend to be a bit more lower-output and get hotter faster, etc. You may find you can easily do your 20 minute bashing with a 4600 to 5300 NiMH pack - however, you can get 10,000 mAh with two 5000 packs! 9000 mAh with two 4500 packs. Just change them out as needed. I'm not someone who would want to limit runtime by trying to get it all done with one pack. Just get more packs...
jmcvicker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2008, 09:21 AM   #10
Tech Elite
 
y2kgtp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Deltona, FL
Posts: 2,559
Trader Rating: 35 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to y2kgtp Send a message via Yahoo to y2kgtp
Default

NiMH's also don't like to be recharged over and over and over all day long either....LiP's don't seem to care....
__________________
"Yes my car is technically illegal, but still its either just as fast or slower than any other car on the track so whats the issue with it being illegal?"
y2kgtp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2008, 04:24 PM   #11
Tech Master
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1,771
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Even if you added weight, lipo batteries last 30% longer with the same mAh than nimh.
__________________
Losi 8ight 1.5 ~ 8T ~ XXX Buggy ~ Mini-Baja

The o''le saying goes, pay me now, or pay me later, because you gonna pay me. "Pearl_414"
Chris__RC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2008, 08:21 AM   #12
Tech Adept
 
Dorion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 101
Default No Lipo's allowed.

I justed checked the rc10.com website at
http://www.rc10.com/ae/t4/t4_home.htm and it says that Lipo's cannot be used with my configuration under the "Items Needed" section. I have a RC10T4 RS. I find that kind of surprising. Can anyone shed any light on this?
Dorion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2008, 08:44 AM   #13
Suspended
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 326
Trader Rating: 3 (80%+)
Default t4 q

If its the rtr like it seams . Its the ESC they cannot handle a lipo weather they are able to recognise them or just cannot handle the power they can supply..this is what I did to rtr truck. I bought a oracle 2 esc by integy or indi $27 and a X charger $57 to my door and a atx computer power supply $10 a RCM 7.4v lipo $22 with Kokam cells just like orions. it adds up but after you drop $65-85 dollars 4 times into nimh you might learn like I did I know the 4200 and 4600 mah cells had isssues with exploding Peace TnT
tntpoof is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2008, 10:09 AM   #14
Tech Prophet
 
Casper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Orange, Ca
Posts: 17,764
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

I think they don't want you to use the ESC with lipos since there is not an automatic cutoff. Without the lipo cutoff you can damage the battery by over discharging the pack. It is not a power issue.
__________________
TLR/Losi Team Driver
TLR/Losi | Tekin | DE Racing | Spektrum | Exotek | JBRL | Kolor Koncepts | OC/RC |Sticky Kicks | Imagine It Graphics | Casper-RC.com
TLR 22 4.0 SR, TLR 22T 4.0, TLR 22-4 2.0, Spektrum DX6R

WWW.CASPER-RC.COM TLR and Tekin setups
Casper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2008, 11:18 AM   #15
Tech Fanatic
 
jmcvicker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: SE Pennsylvania
Posts: 814
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Dorion,
Those web pages were written up a few years ago when the models came out. I'd bet that LiPo wasn't even that popular then. The others are right in that the ESC doesn't stop pulling power from the battery - so you could damage the battery by using it in the truck without a low voltage cut off.

You can always add a LV alarm into your truck to beep at you when voltage is dropping below safe levels for LiPo. See this thread:

http://www.rctech.net/forum/radio-el...-question.html
jmcvicker is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Serpent 710 Ron C. Nitro On-Road 23347 03-16-2010 02:47 PM
Speedpassion Brushless. razzor Electric On-Road 928 01-22-2008 09:27 AM
brushless motor question for a 1/8th buggy conversion downunder23 Electric Off-Road 25 02-26-2007 05:15 AM
Battery mAh levels? Beercan Rookie Zone 6 01-23-2007 05:24 PM
any 1 know how to convert 1/8th nitro into electric? downunder23 Electric Off-Road 13 04-21-2006 05:36 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 02:25 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net