R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-12-2008, 09:35 PM   #1
Tech Regular
 
Cheezburger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: NYC
Posts: 296
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default Traxxas Slash range problem?

Hey all,
Just recently got the Traxxas Slash, and i seem to be having some range problems. I only get about 50-60ft before the car starts spazzing out. If i press full throttle it'll turn out of nowhere all the way in one direction. Is this a common problem? Thanks
Cheezburger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2008, 09:45 PM   #2
Moderator
 
roadrashracing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Green Bay, Wi
Posts: 12,858
Trader Rating: 76 (100%+)
Default

fresh batteries, antenna up?
roadrashracing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2008, 09:48 PM   #3
Tech Regular
 
Cheezburger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: NYC
Posts: 296
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Yup, radio batteries are brand new and antenna is fully extended. The car battery is also fully charged
Cheezburger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2008, 03:30 AM   #4
Tech Fanatic
 
SirSwiftAlot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: SOCAL the fastest mini cooper guys in the nation
Posts: 862
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Did you put a personal transponder in it if so make sure its away from the reciever also check and make sure the crystals are properley seated in the remote and reciever and all the other stuff the guys said above me
__________________
Why do people park in a driveway but then drive in a parkway?
SirSwiftAlot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2008, 11:30 AM   #5
Tech Regular
 
Cheezburger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: NYC
Posts: 296
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

What's a transponder? lol. I don't think i have one. My current setup is: Castle Creations Sidewinder ESC + 4600kV motor, stock radio equipment, 3600mah Nimh battery. Nothing is near the receiver.
Cheezburger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2008, 12:25 PM   #6
Tech Master
 
offtraxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: da dells WI
Posts: 1,871
Trader Rating: 59 (100%+)
Default

do u have the compasators on the sidewindor? little round dodads that should be on the backside or soldered into there own wires. I had the same problem with a novak setup, found one of the compasator wires hanging by a thread.
__________________
I'm not a RC addict. addict's are in denial, I admit I have a problem
offtraxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2008, 02:44 PM   #7
Tech Regular
 
Cheezburger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: NYC
Posts: 296
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Well all the wires on the ESC are are perfectly soldered on. The only other thing i see is the 2 capacitors but they're soldered on fine as well. I don't think it's the brushless system since i'm getting steering problems as well. After 60ft or so, when i hit the throttle it just turns to one direction out of nowhere. I also switched out the crystals on the transmitter and receiver from a good radio set but still the same problem. Maybe i just have a bad radio system? Hopefully Traxxas covers it under their warranty... I'm about to put the good radio system in and see if that helps.
Cheezburger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2008, 03:00 PM   #8
Tech Lord
 
20 SMOKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: HVR_ WEEKI WACHEE FL
Posts: 10,299
Trader Rating: 101 (100%+)
Default

factory radio or after market, might have a bad receiver or crystal
__________________
Jamie W
*Team Tekin*Tekno-rc*DE Racing*AKA*DDHRC*
20 SMOKE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2008, 03:15 PM   #9
Tech Regular
 
Cheezburger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: NYC
Posts: 296
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

It's the stock radio equipment. I just took the crystals from a good radio system. Same problem though. But yea i'm gonna put the Slash's radio equipment in my other car, since the other equipment doesn't fit into the Slash.
Cheezburger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2008, 03:26 PM   #10
Tech Regular
 
scooter1985's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 436
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to scooter1985
Default

I had the same problem..The turining of the wheels are the fail safe I guess...My batts where just dead though....Also check the waterproof rec. box, and see if the antenna wire is pinched...I have seen that before with all the wires...So check that..
scooter1985 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2008, 05:10 PM   #11
Tech Master
 
offtraxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: da dells WI
Posts: 1,871
Trader Rating: 59 (100%+)
Default

are u running around high voltage power lines? my truck, b4 I fixed it, would only go 60ft at home and 150 ft at the track with no power lines near it
__________________
I'm not a RC addict. addict's are in denial, I admit I have a problem
offtraxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2008, 05:49 PM   #12
Tech Regular
 
Cheezburger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: NYC
Posts: 296
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Okay i just tried the Slash's radio equipment in my nitro car. And it works flawlessly. So now it's either the Brushless equipment or the servo. I'm going to check the servo right now. The wire was not pinched btw.
Cheezburger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2008, 08:57 PM   #13
Tech Regular
 
Cheezburger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: NYC
Posts: 296
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Well i am near a baseball park with huge lights and some power lines. But it didn't affect my nitro car so i'm guessing they aren't the problem. I also tried braiding the brushless sytem's wires like someone suggested but that didn't work either... Well i don't know what else to do. Should i call Traxxas / Castle Creations? This has to be fixable since the Slash + Castle Creations combo is commonly used...
Cheezburger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2008, 01:03 PM   #14
Tech Regular
 
Cheezburger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: NYC
Posts: 296
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

So i called Castle Creations today. The only thing he could tell me was to braid the wires and try to move the ESC in different areas. Guess i'll do that tomorrow. I'll keep you guys updated.
Cheezburger is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Transitioning from nitro. What should my first car be? sokar Electric Off-Road 42 08-05-2009 08:12 PM
XL-5 + Titan 550 & Losi Micro Desert Truck **Free Shipping!!!** Cheezburger R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 7 12-14-2008 02:58 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:28 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net