Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road
what brushless systems can be mixed? >

what brushless systems can be mixed?

what brushless systems can be mixed?

Reply

Old 12-09-2008, 09:21 AM
  #1  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
iTrader: (43)
 
AlanHall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Watson ,Louisiana
Posts: 2,999
Trader Rating: 43 (100%+)
Default what brushless systems can be mixed?

ive got a novak 5.5 BL motor coming in a trade. do i have to use a novak esc with it or can i get a lrp that id rather have? but since im thinking about it . how do you mix and match set ups. i see alot of BL motors out from different manufactures.
AlanHall is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2008, 09:23 AM
  #2  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (23)
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Upper Milwaukee
Posts: 2,731
Trader Rating: 23 (100%+)
Default

no problem at all. I see most onroaders use that. novak motor and lrp speedo. Works flawlessly. All i have to day is make sure you have the sensor wire hooked up first. They say the motor will heat up when its all hooked up if the sensor wire isn't on.
not home is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2008, 10:38 AM
  #3  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
iTrader: (43)
 
AlanHall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Watson ,Louisiana
Posts: 2,999
Trader Rating: 43 (100%+)
Default

Yeah i wasent sure if the plugs where the same and how well they worked together.
AlanHall is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2008, 11:12 AM
  #4  
Registered User
iTrader: (20)
 
UltegraSTI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,171
Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)
Default

anything that has sensored drive. b/c novaks are sensored. yes technically a castle can drive a sensored motor, but there are some hang ups. they are in fact working on a sensored speedo as we speak. and without question that is what i'll be buying upon its release

R
UltegraSTI is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2008, 12:29 PM
  #5  
Tech Master
iTrader: (26)
 
RC Dad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Bismarck
Posts: 1,355
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

So is it safe to assume that all sensor leads are one standard size and number of pins? Totally interchangeable between brands and speedos?
RC Dad is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2008, 01:59 PM
  #6  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (23)
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Upper Milwaukee
Posts: 2,731
Trader Rating: 23 (100%+)
Default

thats fine. novaks are a little different. they have the sensor wire built into the motor that goes directly into the speedo. i think all other motors have an easy pop out sensor wire. all leads and pins are the same.
not home is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2008, 02:35 PM
  #7  
Tech Master
iTrader: (1)
 
porkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Niles,Michigan
Posts: 1,007
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Get the LRP Sphere.

Last edited by porkey; 12-09-2008 at 03:33 PM.
porkey is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2008, 02:42 PM
  #8  
Tech Master
iTrader: (260)
 
Michael#81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Bedford, IN
Posts: 1,890
Trader Rating: 260 (100%+)
Default

I would also recommend the LRP Sphere with either a Trinity based motor or a Novak motor.

I have had equally good luck wih both of those motors.
Michael#81 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2008, 03:49 PM
  #9  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
iTrader: (43)
 
AlanHall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Watson ,Louisiana
Posts: 2,999
Trader Rating: 43 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by RC Dad View Post
So is it safe to assume that all sensor leads are one standard size and number of pins? Totally interchangeable between brands and speedos?
thats what i was wondering
AlanHall is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2008, 03:53 PM
  #10  
Tech Master
iTrader: (260)
 
Michael#81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Bedford, IN
Posts: 1,890
Trader Rating: 260 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by RC Dad View Post
So is it safe to assume that all sensor leads are one standard size and number of pins? Totally interchangeable between brands and speedos?
Yes all sensor wires should be the same pin placement and plug style.

I have ran 5 different motors and all of them had the same style sensor plug that went into the ESC.
Michael#81 is offline  
Reply With Quote

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service