R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-09-2008, 09:21 AM   #1
Tech Elite
 
AlanHall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Watson ,Louisiana
Posts: 2,999
Trader Rating: 43 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to AlanHall Send a message via Yahoo to AlanHall
Default what brushless systems can be mixed?

ive got a novak 5.5 BL motor coming in a trade. do i have to use a novak esc with it or can i get a lrp that id rather have? but since im thinking about it . how do you mix and match set ups. i see alot of BL motors out from different manufactures.
__________________
Alan Hall
AlanHall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2008, 09:23 AM   #2
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Upper Milwaukee
Posts: 2,731
Trader Rating: 23 (100%+)
Default

no problem at all. I see most onroaders use that. novak motor and lrp speedo. Works flawlessly. All i have to day is make sure you have the sensor wire hooked up first. They say the motor will heat up when its all hooked up if the sensor wire isn't on.
__________________
Mike Adamec
TEAM HACK-HACK OR BE HACKED
Trackside Hobbies
not home is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2008, 10:38 AM   #3
Tech Elite
 
AlanHall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Watson ,Louisiana
Posts: 2,999
Trader Rating: 43 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to AlanHall Send a message via Yahoo to AlanHall
Default

Yeah i wasent sure if the plugs where the same and how well they worked together.
AlanHall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2008, 11:12 AM   #4
Registered User
 
UltegraSTI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,171
Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)
Default

anything that has sensored drive. b/c novaks are sensored. yes technically a castle can drive a sensored motor, but there are some hang ups. they are in fact working on a sensored speedo as we speak. and without question that is what i'll be buying upon its release

R
UltegraSTI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2008, 12:29 PM   #5
Tech Master
 
RC Dad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Bismarck
Posts: 1,355
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to RC Dad
Default

So is it safe to assume that all sensor leads are one standard size and number of pins? Totally interchangeable between brands and speedos?
__________________
GV2 Pro, XXX4G+, Blitz SCT, CRC GenXL
RC Dad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2008, 01:59 PM   #6
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Upper Milwaukee
Posts: 2,731
Trader Rating: 23 (100%+)
Default

thats fine. novaks are a little different. they have the sensor wire built into the motor that goes directly into the speedo. i think all other motors have an easy pop out sensor wire. all leads and pins are the same.
__________________
Mike Adamec
TEAM HACK-HACK OR BE HACKED
Trackside Hobbies
not home is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2008, 02:35 PM   #7
Tech Master
 
porkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Niles,Michigan
Posts: 1,007
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Get the LRP Sphere.

Last edited by porkey; 12-09-2008 at 03:33 PM.
porkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2008, 02:42 PM   #8
Tech Master
 
Michael#81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Bedford, IN
Posts: 1,841
Trader Rating: 254 (100%+)
Default

I would also recommend the LRP Sphere with either a Trinity based motor or a Novak motor.

I have had equally good luck wih both of those motors.
__________________
Michael Malott
Michael#81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2008, 03:49 PM   #9
Tech Elite
 
AlanHall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Watson ,Louisiana
Posts: 2,999
Trader Rating: 43 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to AlanHall Send a message via Yahoo to AlanHall
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RC Dad View Post
So is it safe to assume that all sensor leads are one standard size and number of pins? Totally interchangeable between brands and speedos?
thats what i was wondering
AlanHall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2008, 03:53 PM   #10
Tech Master
 
Michael#81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Bedford, IN
Posts: 1,841
Trader Rating: 254 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RC Dad View Post
So is it safe to assume that all sensor leads are one standard size and number of pins? Totally interchangeable between brands and speedos?
Yes all sensor wires should be the same pin placement and plug style.

I have ran 5 different motors and all of them had the same style sensor plug that went into the ESC.
__________________
Michael Malott
Michael#81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Team Tekin New Speedos Drew_Cat Radio and Electronics 1521 10-06-2012 12:35 AM
NORTHWEST PRO 10 or whatever you want to call it skypilot Northwest Racers 42 07-24-2008 06:39 PM
4-29 Shootout Race at Primetime Hobbies ShaunMac Georgia Racing 71 05-01-2007 03:26 PM
Question for all Race Directors...BL systems stonedgti Electric On-Road 71 04-23-2007 02:58 PM
Stockton RC Raceway 5th Annual northwest Carpet Champs schurcr Racing Forum 266 02-03-2007 12:41 AM
what happems when brushless takes over? TAMIYAMANUK Electric On-Road 207 09-15-2006 04:49 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 03:02 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net