R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-06-2008, 06:28 PM   #1
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: MA
Posts: 103
Default Mamba Max ESC on/off switch

The on/off swith for my mamba speed control has unfortunatly come off and i have lost it as well. I was wondering if i could take an on/off switch from one of my older speedos such as the Tamiya ESC that comes with most of their kits. Do any of you guys know if this will work. Thanks in advance my fellow RCer's. A.J.
SpeedKills25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2008, 06:34 PM   #2
Tech Elite
 
kufman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Elburn, IL
Posts: 3,428
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SpeedKills25 View Post
The on/off swith for my mamba speed control has unfortunatly come off and i have lost it as well. I was wondering if i could take an on/off switch from one of my older speedos such as the Tamiya ESC that comes with most of their kits. Do any of you guys know if this will work. Thanks in advance my fellow RCer's. A.J.
Anything that will make contact between the two wires that used to go to the switch will work. You could even twist the two wires together and it will work just fine (soldering would be better for long term use).
kufman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2008, 06:35 PM   #3
Tech Master
 
porkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Niles,Michigan
Posts: 1,007
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

You can bypass it. You just take the positive and negitive wire and wrap them around, then put a thin pice of heat shrink so it dont come apart.
porkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2008, 06:45 PM   #4
Tech Regular
 
HEAT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Dallas,TX
Posts: 443
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

I took the switch off and soldered the + and - together and it works fine .
HEAT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2008, 06:58 PM   #5
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: MA
Posts: 103
Default

Wow, thanks a lot guys for the quick replies. It looks like i will be using the wires from a broken speedo that i have laying around. The only problem with soldering the wires to the mamba is the fact that the speedo doesn't provide much room for soldering. My soldering iron is a radio shack brand which works nice, but im afraid the tip is too large to fit into the small area where the wires will be connected. Is there actually a way to do this without soldering at all? Thanks guys.
SpeedKills25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2008, 07:23 PM   #6
Tech Elite
 
glassdoctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 2,250
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

If the wires have pulled away from the circuit board, then you have to solder wires back on, yes.

Actually you have 3 options...

1. get an iron with a small tip and solder on new switch leads.
2. ditch the switch, and the wires... and use solder as a "jumper" across the contacts on the circuit board. That might be easier to do with the iron you have anyway. It's not too hard to get the solder to flow and connect the two spots. Just do not keep the iron on the board too long... if it doesn't work right away, let the board cool and try it again.
3. send it back to Castle and they will do it for you... and be aware that soldering on the boad does void the warranty
glassdoctor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2008, 08:51 PM   #7
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: MA
Posts: 103
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by glassdoctor View Post
If the wires have pulled away from the circuit board, then you have to solder wires back on, yes.

Actually you have 3 options...

1. get an iron with a small tip and solder on new switch leads.
2. ditch the switch, and the wires... and use solder as a "jumper" across the contacts on the circuit board. That might be easier to do with the iron you have anyway. It's not too hard to get the solder to flow and connect the two spots. Just do not keep the iron on the board too long... if it doesn't work right away, let the board cool and try it again.
3. send it back to Castle and they will do it for you... and be aware that soldering on the boad does void the warranty

Thanks for this useful information my friend. My only question for you is in part number 2. So if i ditch the switch and bridge the tabs with solder, how will i turn the ESC on and off? Will this just happen when i plug a battery in? Im about to go ahead with this method as i type.
SpeedKills25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2008, 10:08 PM   #8
Tech Apprentice
 
Dadx2mj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 68
Default

I did away with my switch long ago after the tech support guys from Castle made that suggestion to me.

Yes plugging your battery in with activate the system and unplugging it shuts it down. It is as simple as that.
__________________
BlindManRacing
Powered by Mamba 5700
Dadx2mj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2008, 10:12 PM   #9
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Christchurch, NZ
Posts: 1,063
Default

You're dead right. Plug the battery in, and she's all go

The switch is handy when you can locate it outside the shell, but with most race cars it is inside, and so it's use is pretty much redundant!
JR007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2008, 10:20 PM   #10
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: MA
Posts: 103
Default

You guys are the best. I did exactly what you said and it was a success. Thanks again. A.J.
SpeedKills25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Traxxas Revo futureal Monster Trucks 3275 11-23-2017 07:38 AM
Castle Creations Mamba/MM/MMM FACTORY Q&A thread! Joe Ford Team and Company Discussions 2371 08-07-2017 11:37 AM
Losi 1/8 8ight E 4wd Thread tyhodge07 Electric Off-Road 8898 11-17-2015 06:31 PM
Is this normal behaviour for a Mamba Max? + some BL terms Qs shurcooL Electric Off-Road 19 08-15-2008 03:56 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 01:42 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net