R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-23-2008, 10:42 AM   #1
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 26
Questions?? DUMB QUESTION?

PLEASE BEAR WITH ME THIS IS ALL NEW TO ME.


WHAT EXACTLY DOES A POWER SUPPLY DO?
DO I NEED ONE IF I HAVE A HONDA EU GENERATOR?
WE PLAN ON RACING OUTDOORS.
HOWIE BEDELL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2008, 10:52 AM   #2
Tech Elite
 
kufman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Elburn, IL
Posts: 3,428
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

a power supply converts house hold 120VAC to 12VDC. Most hobby grade chargers run off of 12VDC (automotive battery voltage). So if your generator provides 120VAC, you would need a power supply to make 12VDC. Some chargers run off of 120. Kind of depends on what you have.
kufman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2008, 11:07 AM   #3
Tech Elite
 
y2kgtp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Deltona, FL
Posts: 2,559
Trader Rating: 35 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to y2kgtp Send a message via Yahoo to y2kgtp
Default

Which Honda EU? Hopefully more than the 1000watt model....
y2kgtp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2008, 11:14 AM   #4
Tech Champion
 
Briguy's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Ottawa , IL
Posts: 8,128
Trader Rating: 125 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Briguy
Default

Kufman , I see your a fellow VH fan .



Howie , unless you have an AC/DC charger you will need some sort of 12volt power supply . When I was a kid we used to use marine 12v battery . You can pick up a power supply fairly descent price used or at radio shack or if there is a pawn shop by you , there seems to always be power supplies there .
__________________
At Your Service Vinyl Works
Royal R/C & Hobby
Leisure Hours Hobby & Raceway
Briguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2008, 11:22 AM   #5
Tech Lord
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 11,530
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

I've found good deals on power supplies here in the FS/Ft thread.
Duster_360 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2008, 11:34 AM   #6
Tech Master
 
Bulldawg RC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,941
Trader Rating: 65 (99%+)
Default

no question is ever dumb, if you don't know the answer then it is always better to ask.
__________________
Bulldawg R/C Batteries and Products
Nimh and Lipo Batteries and accessories
www.BulldawgRC.com
Team Driver for: Proline, Team Epic/Trinity, Hex Crew, Bulldawg R/C, Speed Demon Hobbies ~~~~TEAM CRUNCHY~~~~
Bulldawg RC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2008, 12:25 PM   #7
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 26
Default GENARATOR

ITS A EU2000
HOWIE BEDELL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2008, 02:34 PM   #8
Tech Elite
 
jamminnay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: IL
Posts: 2,012
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to jamminnay Send a message via MSN to jamminnay
Default

forums are made to ask questions.. there are some good power supplies that can be purchased very cheap.. there are a lot of guys that use the radio shack power supply..
jamminnay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2008, 02:36 PM   #9
Tech Elite
 
y2kgtp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Deltona, FL
Posts: 2,559
Trader Rating: 35 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to y2kgtp Send a message via Yahoo to y2kgtp
Default

I have a couple 10A Radio shack specials I got on clearance for 15$ each a few years ago. big and bulky, but do the job nicely.
y2kgtp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2008, 02:39 PM   #10
Tech Elite
 
crazy4wdracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Way Out Here
Posts: 3,142
Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to crazy4wdracer
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by y2kgtp View Post
I have a couple 10A Radio shack specials I got on clearance for 15$ each a few years ago. big and bulky, but do the job nicely.
Wow! Can't beat that deal.
crazy4wdracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2008, 02:41 PM   #11
Tech Elite
 
y2kgtp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Deltona, FL
Posts: 2,559
Trader Rating: 35 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to y2kgtp Send a message via Yahoo to y2kgtp
Default

Is this yours?
http://www.advancedmower.com/honda/g...iet/eu2000.htm

Says it has:

Rated AC Output (60Hz) 120V 1600W (13.3A)
DC output 12V, 96W (8.0A)

Do you plan on running multiple chargers off of it?
y2kgtp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2008, 02:44 PM   #12
Tech Elite
 
y2kgtp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Deltona, FL
Posts: 2,559
Trader Rating: 35 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to y2kgtp Send a message via Yahoo to y2kgtp
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by crazy4wdracer View Post
Wow! Can't beat that deal.
Well, I bought 5 total, and sold 3 on eBay for 2x what I paid+ shipping. So that made them (my 2 I had left) free + couple bucks profit.
y2kgtp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2008, 02:53 PM   #13
Tech Elite
 
crazy4wdracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Way Out Here
Posts: 3,142
Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to crazy4wdracer
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by y2kgtp View Post
Well, I bought 5 total, and sold 3 on eBay for 2x what I paid+ shipping. So that made them (my 2 I had left) free + couple bucks profit.
Nice!
crazy4wdracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2008, 03:47 PM   #14
Tech Rookie
 
GentleBen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 9
Default

If your a computer guy you probably have a few old computer power supplies laying around. There are several articles on line about coverting them. That's what I did over two years ago and its still going strong. Cost about $1.47 in parts at the hardware store.
GentleBen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2008, 04:01 PM   #15
Tech Elite
 
y2kgtp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Deltona, FL
Posts: 2,559
Trader Rating: 35 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to y2kgtp Send a message via Yahoo to y2kgtp
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GentleBen View Post
If your a computer guy you probably have a few old computer power supplies laying around. There are several articles on line about coverting them. That's what I did over two years ago and its still going strong. Cost about $1.47 in parts at the hardware store.
I got like 3-4 computers in the basement I just can't bear to part with. Might be an idea....
y2kgtp is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
1/10th pan car Taz_S Oval, Larger Scales and More 16138 09-25-2014 10:03 AM
2008 IFMAR 1/10 200mm On-Road World Championships: Aug 7-17 bvoltz Nitro On-Road 1317 08-27-2008 11:57 AM
dumb diff question mike williams Nitro Off-Road 30 07-23-2008 08:27 PM
Team Orion 3200mAh Race Spec LiPo Nexus Racing Electric On-Road 1772 03-16-2008 09:52 AM
Drift Tires?? thedudeaturdoor Electric On-Road 24 12-25-2005 10:57 PM
3 speed transmission for savage classic xl Monster Trucks 11 08-25-2005 01:55 PM
Glueing Tires RoadRat Electric On-Road 9 07-23-2003 11:38 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 09:45 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net