R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road

Old 10-15-2008, 07:13 PM   #1
Tech Regular

Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default Mamba max viable for racing?

I have a Mamba max with 4600 and 5700. Will these fare well for off road 4wd mod club racing?

I know that it is sensorless, but does it have that much difference in the 'low end' drivability when compared to sensored brushless?

The programming feature is pretty cool.
phixd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2008, 07:30 PM   #2
Tech Legend

Trader Rating: 240 (100%+)

I ran the mamba max 5700 setup in a 4wd buggy, Academy SBV2Pro and it worked excellent. the mamba max system works well with the castle motors, and higher Kv motors.
Old 10-15-2008, 07:58 PM   #3
Tech Initiate

Phixd, I have had a mamba max 5700 for over a year now, never had a problem. It has been in touring cars, 2wd buggy, B44, Slash, and so on...I have bought and sold many cars, but my MM stays and runs solid as the first day, with 2s and 3s lipo batteries..
Question for you, where do you race your 4wd? I'm in North LA as well and sold my B44 because of the lack of 4WD at local tracks. Unless you know of a track that runs them, I'd love to get another one..
Thanks.
flatovercrest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2008, 08:10 PM   #4
Tech Regular

Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)

I race at Hot Rod Hobbies in Saugus. There's a good turnout of 4wd mod guys on tuesday and saturday nights. Where do you race at?

I want to check out OCRC in Huntington Beach, but I'm lazy to drive.
phixd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2008, 09:44 AM   #5
Tech Regular

I'm racing a B44 with a mamba max 6900kv system and love it. The system overal works as well as the sensored ESC and motors on the market. Plus it,s very very tunable as you mentioned!