Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road
!!!HELP!!! NOVAK GTB SPEKTRUM PROBLEM >

!!!HELP!!! NOVAK GTB SPEKTRUM PROBLEM

!!!HELP!!! NOVAK GTB SPEKTRUM PROBLEM

Old 10-10-2008, 04:28 PM
  #1  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
iTrader: (29)
 
lil_man72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: raytown, mo.
Posts: 354
Trader Rating: 29 (100%+)
Default !!!HELP!!! NOVAK GTB SPEKTRUM PROBLEM

hello, i'm having problems with my xxx4 buggy. i have the novak gtb brushless 5.5 set-up and i'm running the spektrum receiver. after about 30 seconds of running it starts cutting out. when i slowly apply throttle it works ok, but if i hit full throttle it shuts down. the spektrum receiver light goes out when this happens. a buddy of mine told me it's because the brushless system is pulling so much power. he's heard that all you have to do is hook up a capasitor to the receiver. does anyone know if this works and if so what size cap. is it something i can get at radio shack or do i have to special order it. any help would be great.
lil_man72 is offline  
Old 10-10-2008, 05:22 PM
  #2  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (22)
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: st. louis
Posts: 846
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

I had that happen also to fix it use the spektrum voltage protector it works great.
http://www.spektrumrc.com/Products/D...ProdID=SPM1600
cmain is offline  
Old 10-10-2008, 05:47 PM
  #3  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (6)
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Evansville, IN
Posts: 671
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

I've been told you only need the voltage protector(capacitor) is when running 4-cell applications as voltage can fall below failsafe voltage and shut receiver down. Sounds like you're losing voltage to me, maybe weak or bad cell or cells. Just an opinion.
JLinney is offline  
Old 10-10-2008, 06:23 PM
  #4  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (42)
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: anywhere I can race 2wd dirt,and 1/12 onroad in MI.
Posts: 3,860
Trader Rating: 42 (100%+)
Default

What conectors are you using???I had a similar problem and it turned out to be a bad male deans plug on the speedo.It worked fine until I pegged the throttle then it would just cut out until the spektrum would re-connect to the transmitter.
2wdMod is offline  
Old 10-10-2008, 07:49 PM
  #5  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
iTrader: (29)
 
lil_man72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: raytown, mo.
Posts: 354
Trader Rating: 29 (100%+)
Default receiver

thanks for the info. i think i'll track down the protector and double check my connections. i used my traxxas am receiver and radio and no problems. go figure cheap am working better than the top of the line stuff.
lil_man72 is offline  
Old 10-10-2008, 11:42 PM
  #6  
Tech Master
iTrader: (3)
 
JeromeK99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Loma Linda, CA - USA
Posts: 1,137
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Novak makes one too

http://www.shopatron.com/product/par...0.56.440.0.0.0




Jerome
JeromeK99 is offline  

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2023 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.