R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-07-2008, 01:13 AM   #1
gfx
Tech Adept
 
gfx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Long Beach, CA
Posts: 233
Exclamation Not sure what's going on here (Novak ESC)

I bought a Novak HV Maxx BL setup... this is the first time I've tried to hook it up... I'm getting the green light going on every time I hit the throttle, red light comes on when I tap the brake, the servo works, but the motor will not move... Anyone know what the issue might be?

FYI:
Spektrum DX2.0 radio (binded properly; I think)
Fully charged ProMatch 4600 stick pack.
Also, this ESC has/had two battery connectors; I "shorted" one of them to use only one battery, as the instructions say to (not sure if that might have anything to do with my issue).

If you need more info, let me know. I was hoping to run this for the first time tomorrow.

Thanks for any help.
__________________
E-CRT.5 BL
Novak HV 6.5 / HV Pro ESC
Spektrum DX2.0
gfx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2008, 01:29 AM   #2
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: costa mesa, ca
Posts: 37
Send a message via AIM to eldivad1
Default

have you checked the wiring from the esc to the receiver?

edit: oops... didn't read inside the parenthesis
eldivad1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2008, 10:11 AM   #3
Tech Master
 
RC Dad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Bismarck
Posts: 1,355
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to RC Dad
Default

hook up a voltmeter to the motor leads to see if any power is actually being sent. If so, the motor might be bad, if not it's likely a setup issue.
__________________
GV2 Pro, XXX4G+, Blitz SCT, CRC GenXL
RC Dad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2008, 04:32 PM   #4
gfx
Tech Adept
 
gfx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Long Beach, CA
Posts: 233
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RC Dad View Post
hook up a voltmeter to the motor leads to see if any power is actually being sent. If so, the motor might be bad, if not it's likely a setup issue.
I just got back into RC... I don't have those types of gadgets.

Does anyone have any other opinions on what the cause may be?
__________________
E-CRT.5 BL
Novak HV 6.5 / HV Pro ESC
Spektrum DX2.0
gfx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2008, 05:36 PM   #5
Tech Champion
 
Krio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: At dirt tracks in Michigan!
Posts: 5,104
Trader Rating: 150 (99%+)
Default

Make sure the sensor harness is in properly and perhaps try calibrating the esc to your radio again. Also, you didn't mention how many cells are in your pack (just "stick pack" so I'm assuming 6 to 8 cells), but if the lipo-cutoff is "on" then the esc won't send power to the motor if you are trying with a 6 cell pack since the cutoff is over 12v.
__________________
www.kriostasis.com
Krio is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2008, 05:42 PM   #6
gfx
Tech Adept
 
gfx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Long Beach, CA
Posts: 233
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Krio View Post
Make sure the sensor harness is in properly and perhaps try calibrating the esc to your radio again. Also, you didn't mention how many cells are in your pack (just "stick pack" so I'm assuming 6 to 8 cells), but if the lipo-cutoff is "on" then the esc won't send power to the motor if you are trying with a 6 cell pack since the cutoff is over 12v.
It's a 6 cell pack.

The instructions don't mention anything about a Lipo cutoff, and there's nothing other than the capacitor and the other normal wires coming out of the ESC. Since I'm new back into RC, I'm not even sure where the Lipo cutoff should be located.
__________________
E-CRT.5 BL
Novak HV 6.5 / HV Pro ESC
Spektrum DX2.0
gfx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2008, 05:52 PM   #7
Tech Champion
 
Krio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: At dirt tracks in Michigan!
Posts: 5,104
Trader Rating: 150 (99%+)
Default

How old is your esc? If you just bought it new it has lipo cutoff built in and it should be mentioned in the instructions or at least on a separate slip of paper. If not, check out a manual online over at teamnovak.com
__________________
www.kriostasis.com
Krio is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2008, 06:10 PM   #8
gfx
Tech Adept
 
gfx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Long Beach, CA
Posts: 233
Default

Actually, there is no Lipo cut off on this ESC.
__________________
E-CRT.5 BL
Novak HV 6.5 / HV Pro ESC
Spektrum DX2.0
gfx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2008, 09:22 PM   #9
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,195
Trader Rating: 23 (100%+)
Default

Have you tried giving Novak a call? Their customer service over the phone is very good and should be able to help you pin point your problem a lot faster. Ask for Charlie

Steve
__________________
Steve Wang
ST Racing Concepts: www(dot)teamstrc(dot)com
teamstrc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2008, 09:25 PM   #10
gfx
Tech Adept
 
gfx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Long Beach, CA
Posts: 233
Default

Yes, I have called Novak.

Since they are not too far from me, I'm going to head by their HQ in Irvine tomorrow, so they can take a close-up look at it.
__________________
E-CRT.5 BL
Novak HV 6.5 / HV Pro ESC
Spektrum DX2.0
gfx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2008, 09:38 PM   #11
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,195
Trader Rating: 23 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gfx View Post
Yes, I have called Novak.

Since they are not too far from me, I'm going to head by their HQ in Irvine tomorrow, so they can take a close-up look at it.
That's great! Bring the whole car with a charged battery and your transmitter ready to go, that will really help. They are good folks over there, and should be able to take care of you right away

Steve
__________________
Steve Wang
ST Racing Concepts: www(dot)teamstrc(dot)com
teamstrc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2008, 09:57 PM   #12
Tech Regular
 
avrcguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: West Des Moines, IA
Posts: 398
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gfx View Post
Actually, there is no Lipo cut off on this ESC.
If it is new... Krio is right there is a lipo cutoff built in, and I'm betting that's the issue. Even if it's the older version there should have been an external cut-off included.

Well...Let us know what Novak tells ya.
avrcguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2008, 03:35 PM   #13
gfx
Tech Adept
 
gfx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Long Beach, CA
Posts: 233
Default

Just got back from Novak; they offer great service there. They were able to tell me the ESC was somehow water damaged... the reason I didn't know it was is because I bought it used. So, I went ahead and purchased a replacement ESC for about $75. Now it looks like I'm good to go!
__________________
E-CRT.5 BL
Novak HV 6.5 / HV Pro ESC
Spektrum DX2.0
gfx is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tamiya Championship Series Neil Rabara Racing Forum 21260 12-16-2017 11:25 PM
Motors and Speed Control Help (Choosing) capone Electric On-Road 20 07-30-2008 02:44 PM
Nitro guy getting into electric....esc help JeremyS Electric Off-Road 19 11-13-2007 06:54 AM
Eddie, Carl, and Mike....finally a polarizing issue McSmooth Electric On-Road 131 11-10-2006 02:50 PM
FS: SELLOUT - Everything MUST GO! (adding items often) Mustangz R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 18 11-04-2006 07:18 PM
Novak Power Capacitor jonski Electric On-Road 29 12-18-2003 11:41 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 12:00 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net