R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-18-2008, 05:28 PM   #1
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: costa mesa, ca
Posts: 37
Send a message via AIM to eldivad1
Default getting a t4. need help.

alright so i know this might be redundant and i wasn't sure whether to post this in rookie zone or here. but anyways i was planning on getting the team associated t4 and i had a few questions. the local raceway's motor restrictions for stock are 27 turn brushed or 17.5 turn brushless so whats a good motor in either of those categories that are reasonably priced? and also should i go straight for the factory team kit, or the stock one and upgrade it as i see needed
eldivad1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2008, 05:39 PM   #2
Tech Champion
 
Jason Pelletier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New York
Posts: 8,820
Trader Rating: 33 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by eldivad1 View Post
alright so i know this might be redundant and i wasn't sure whether to post this in rookie zone or here. but anyways i was planning on getting the team associated t4 and i had a few questions. the local raceway's motor restrictions for stock are 27 turn brushed or 17.5 turn brushless so whats a good motor in either of those categories that are reasonably priced? and also should i go straight for the factory team kit, or the stock one and upgrade it as i see needed
OK first good choice of class and vehicle to learn with. Do you feeel you are gonna be pretty serious about r/c racing because if you are your gonna only gonna wanna buy once. If your not that serious about and just wanna dabble i would reccomend something different.. so you serious or are you just looking to dabble ?
__________________
Island Raceway & Hobby
Jason Pelletier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2008, 05:45 PM   #3
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: costa mesa, ca
Posts: 37
Send a message via AIM to eldivad1
Default

well in between, i want to race and not just mess around with but at the same time i go to school and i work and i'm fairly busy. but yeah i want to do more than just backyard bashing and messing around at the tracks
eldivad1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2008, 06:50 PM   #4
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: costa mesa, ca
Posts: 37
Send a message via AIM to eldivad1
Default

i was thinking this motor/esc combo

http://www.horizonhobby.com/Products...=CSESDWCMS5700

but i wasn't sure if it fit under those categories
eldivad1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2008, 07:08 PM   #5
Tech Legend
 
Cain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: West Fargo, North Dakota
Posts: 29,527
Trader Rating: 240 (100%+)
Default

That not legal for stock class. The motor doesn't fit the specs. You want a motor along these lines:

http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...?&I=LXVBW2&P=7

or

http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...&I=LXUFC1&P=ML

There are more choices for sure, give tower hobbies a spin to see a variety from Novak, LRP, tekin, etc.

As for ESCs, there are some cheaper models out there right now, definitely worth a look, just make sure they are sensored if you are going with those sensored 17.5 motors.

As for starting with a factory team kit versus a team kit, keep in mind the factory team graphite is more rigid, so more prone to breakage. Doesn't hurt to run the wide RPM bumper to start to save the A-arms till you feel comfortable running without.

As for battery, go with a lipo for sure, hardcased if your track requires it.

Here is a link to a sweet factory team T4 that has the JConcepts buggy conversion on it, and can be had basically RTR. All you need is a charger. and anything you don't want to use like the alloy parts, he still has the originals.

http://www.rctech.net/forum/r-c-item...o-expense.html

you just need to buy the 17.5 motor, sell the other one, and you set.
__________________
Member - Red River Radio/Control Car Club
< Tekno EB48SL / SCT410.3 | Tekno EB410 x 2 | Yokomo YZ-2 DTM x 2 | LC Racing EMB-1 Buggies and Truggies >
Cain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2008, 07:31 PM   #6
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: costa mesa, ca
Posts: 37
Send a message via AIM to eldivad1
Default

okay how about that vector motor with

http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...?&I=LXKSB1&P=7

or maybe an associated esc.. basically i'm looking for a good esc to go with that motor for around 80 bucks.
eldivad1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2008, 07:34 PM   #7
Tech Legend
 
Cain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: West Fargo, North Dakota
Posts: 29,527
Trader Rating: 240 (100%+)
Default

The ESC needs to be a brushless ESC to use a brushless motor.

If the motor you want to run is sensored, you in general need a sensored ESC. There are motors that can be ran both ways, the trinity duo is one for example. Sensorless motors in the 17.5 range can have a slight hesistation issue from a dead stop. Something to keep in mind if you go with say a castle creations sidewinder and a trinity duo.

The LRP / Associated A.I. brushless ESCs should do the trick, and they start at $95. I think they also can auto detect if you are running a lipo and have lipo cutoff. worth calling AE to confirm. The Pro edition is waterproof too.
__________________
Member - Red River Radio/Control Car Club
< Tekno EB48SL / SCT410.3 | Tekno EB410 x 2 | Yokomo YZ-2 DTM x 2 | LC Racing EMB-1 Buggies and Truggies >
Cain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2008, 07:43 PM   #8
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: costa mesa, ca
Posts: 37
Send a message via AIM to eldivad1
Default

alright how about the associated AI brushless esc's? are those decent?

oh and how do i know if a motor is sensored?
eldivad1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2008, 07:45 PM   #9
Tech Legend
 
Cain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: West Fargo, North Dakota
Posts: 29,527
Trader Rating: 240 (100%+)
Default

funny, just updated my last post as you posted.

The AI esc's should do what you are looking for.
__________________
Member - Red River Radio/Control Car Club
< Tekno EB48SL / SCT410.3 | Tekno EB410 x 2 | Yokomo YZ-2 DTM x 2 | LC Racing EMB-1 Buggies and Truggies >
Cain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2008, 07:48 PM   #10
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: costa mesa, ca
Posts: 37
Send a message via AIM to eldivad1
Default

haha you made me feel like an idiot. i was like aw crap he already answered that question when i edited. but hey thanks a lot, you were of great help.
eldivad1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2008, 07:48 PM   #11
Tech Legend
 
Cain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: West Fargo, North Dakota
Posts: 29,527
Trader Rating: 240 (100%+)
Default

no problem. More than happy to help. Got any more questions?
__________________
Member - Red River Radio/Control Car Club
< Tekno EB48SL / SCT410.3 | Tekno EB410 x 2 | Yokomo YZ-2 DTM x 2 | LC Racing EMB-1 Buggies and Truggies >
Cain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2008, 10:09 PM   #12
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: costa mesa, ca
Posts: 37
Send a message via AIM to eldivad1
Default

so many, i've lost track.

i've got an airtronics cx2p 3-channel radio and a receiver that my uncle passed down to me and its probably pretty outdated. but it'll do right?

http://www.airtronics.net/manual/CX2P.pdf a link to the manual.

Last edited by eldivad1; 09-18-2008 at 10:24 PM.
eldivad1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2008, 10:31 PM   #13
Tech Champion
 
Jason Pelletier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New York
Posts: 8,820
Trader Rating: 33 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by eldivad1 View Post
so many, i've lost track.

i've got an airtronics cx2p 3-channel radio and a receiver that my uncle passed down to me and its probably pretty outdated. but it'll do right?

http://www.airtronics.net/manual/CX2P.pdf a link to the manual.
I used to have that radio. Old School...
__________________
Island Raceway & Hobby
Jason Pelletier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2008, 10:33 PM   #14
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: costa mesa, ca
Posts: 37
Send a message via AIM to eldivad1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RB FIVE View Post
I used to have that radio. Old School...
so... it'll work well?
eldivad1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2008, 10:40 PM   #15
Tech Master
 
kdeselms's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,019
Default

You're going to want a spread spectrum radio if you're racing. It only took me one weekend where I had radio conflicts with some nitro guy tuning up his car during my race, for me to upgrade to SS. I have a Futaba 3pm which ran me $190 or so, with one receiver (if memory serves).
__________________
Kevin Deselms
Associated Factory Team SC10
Webmaster, www.hotrodhobbies.com
kdeselms is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
RC10B4/T4 Forum DerekL Electric Off-Road 14338 11-18-2017 04:19 PM
2WD Buggy 1/10 Electric, Which one? Losi, Kyosho, Associated? Onetrade Electric Off-Road 56 06-11-2009 11:42 AM
HUGE SALE! NOVAK MOTORS! 3PK! Lipo! SERVO! SPEKTRUM! ICE CHARGER! POWERSUPPLY! RedBull_81 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 24 05-18-2009 10:57 PM
Help! Brushed vs. Brushless Tony_B Electric Off-Road 14 09-17-2008 02:27 PM
Major Help with Associated Monster GT needed here AE guy Monster Trucks 27 06-24-2006 05:35 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 02:11 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net