R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-12-2008, 05:51 PM   #1
Tech Elite
 
MoparRules's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Rollin on 35s, NJ
Posts: 4,262
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to MoparRules Send a message via Yahoo to MoparRules
Default traxxas slash. electric newb.

Hi! im thinking about getting the slash but i know NOTHING about electric. ive watched videos and ive come to the conclusion that it is wayyyy to slow stock. no ive watched videos that have them running on brushless systems and thats what im lookin for. i want to have trouble keeping traction if you know what i mean. the problem is that i dont know anything about electric so i dont know wich one to get. i dont care about price or how to install it.


ps: is ther anywhere i can learn mor about electric?
MoparRules is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2008, 06:29 PM   #2
Tech Elite
 
crazy4wdracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Way Out Here
Posts: 3,142
Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to crazy4wdracer
Default

If you want alot of power go with the Mamba Max 7700 system and get a couple good lipo packs.
crazy4wdracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2008, 06:34 PM   #3
Tech Elite
 
MoparRules's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Rollin on 35s, NJ
Posts: 4,262
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to MoparRules Send a message via Yahoo to MoparRules
Default

a couple? i thought it could only take one? is there anyway i could hook up more than one pack to get more power?
MoparRules is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2008, 06:36 PM   #4
Tech Elite
 
crazy4wdracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Way Out Here
Posts: 3,142
Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to crazy4wdracer
Default

I was just saying that it would be easier to have one charging one while you're driving than having one to have to wait to charge all the time.
crazy4wdracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2008, 06:37 PM   #5
Tech Elite
 
MoparRules's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Rollin on 35s, NJ
Posts: 4,262
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to MoparRules Send a message via Yahoo to MoparRules
Default

o... ok. thank you.
MoparRules is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2008, 06:41 PM   #6
Tech Master
 
porkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Niles,Michigan
Posts: 1,007
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

7700 is way to much go w/ a 4600 or a 5700 i have the 4600
and cant keep the front wheels down in my b4 down the front
straight
__________________
AE T4: 8.5 AE B4: 10.5 AE B44: 7.5
www.michianabuildingsupplies.com(Sponsor)
www.embassyrcraceway.com
www.michianarc.com
www.steelmx.com(Sponsor)
porkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2008, 06:55 PM   #7
Tech Elite
 
MoparRules's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Rollin on 35s, NJ
Posts: 4,262
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to MoparRules Send a message via Yahoo to MoparRules
Default

why is it too much? theres no suck thing as too much power.
MoparRules is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2008, 07:10 PM   #8
Tech Addict
 
rjs_13203's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: lowell, nc
Posts: 725
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

i would think a 7700 would be uncontrolable plus u can only run 2s lipos with it, the 5700 is more tame but still really really fast and u can run a 3s and make it faster then the 7700 but u can run it with a 2s and have more then enough speed and burnouts and wheelies(i think not sure with the big slash)
__________________
"You ain't seen nothin yet"
rjs_13203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2008, 07:11 PM   #9
Tech Master
 
porkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Niles,Michigan
Posts: 1,007
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

b/c then u will be stripping gears breaking parts EZ
and u dont need all that power
__________________
AE T4: 8.5 AE B4: 10.5 AE B44: 7.5
www.michianabuildingsupplies.com(Sponsor)
www.embassyrcraceway.com
www.michianarc.com
www.steelmx.com(Sponsor)
porkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2008, 07:15 PM   #10
Tech Elite
 
MoparRules's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Rollin on 35s, NJ
Posts: 4,262
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to MoparRules Send a message via Yahoo to MoparRules
Default

well im not gonna use it to race. mostly just roasting tires and ripping apart my lawn. ya i know its a waist but i cant do it in 1:1 cars for another year.
MoparRules is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2008, 07:18 PM   #11
Tech Addict
 
rjs_13203's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: lowell, nc
Posts: 725
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

mm5700 with a 3s is faster then a 7700 with a 2s. the 7700 can only run with a 2s and a 5700 can run up to a 3s
__________________
"You ain't seen nothin yet"
rjs_13203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2008, 07:20 PM   #12
Tech Addict
 
TCRacer101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Ypsilanti, Michigan USA
Posts: 678
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to TCRacer101
Default

Are you a newb to electric or newb to R/C?
__________________
E-Revo Brushless.....4s lipo/Coming SOON: HPI savage flux HP
Electric Monster Truck Association (EMTA)~~ electricmonster.webs.com
TCRacer101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2008, 07:20 PM   #13
Tech Elite
 
MoparRules's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Rollin on 35s, NJ
Posts: 4,262
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to MoparRules Send a message via Yahoo to MoparRules
Default

no im a newb to electric. i have had a couple of nitros. currently have a savage. i just dont know s*** about electric things. just how to drive them.


now next question. on the mamba site for 1/10 scale i can only fine them in a 540 size motor but according to tower hobbies the slash takes a 550. ?? can someone show me where to buy the right kit.


EDIT: what are some good batteries?
MoparRules is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2008, 07:28 PM   #14
Tech Master
 
EastCoasterVa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Norfolk, Virginia
Posts: 1,109
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MoparRules View Post
why is it too much? theres no suck thing as too much power.
Too much power and you cannot control the vehicle. Brushless can have way more instant-on power than a nitro engine. I would get a 4600 and go 2S for day to day driving/racing and a 3S for speed runs. You can calculate speeds using this calculator: http://www.scriptasylum.com/rc_speed/_top_speed.html

Here is a video of a brushless E-Revo with way too much power. I am not knocking this truck in any way. I actually love this setup. You can control this with punch control on speed control (Mamba Max). http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=h01_k...eature=related
EastCoasterVa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2008, 07:31 PM   #15
Tech Addict
 
rjs_13203's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: lowell, nc
Posts: 725
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

540 will work fine just alittle smaller but will be no problem, used a mm in my old rusty and it had a 550 originally, there will be just alittle room around the motor
__________________
"You ain't seen nothin yet"
rjs_13203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Traxxas Slash 1:10 Electric CORR Truck salteen Electric Off-Road 3949 03-19-2012 09:24 AM
Which one of these 2 r/c's should i get? Zeeshan Rookie Zone 36 03-17-2009 10:08 PM
New to this site.. need a little advice pageup Nitro Off-Road 33 02-12-2009 07:34 AM
When will we see a beefier 4WD from Kyosho\Losi\AE? y2kgtp Electric Off-Road 64 11-18-2008 01:15 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 12:08 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net