R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-09-2008, 07:39 AM   #31
Tech Elite
 
Yeti35's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: SL, UT
Posts: 2,804
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by porkey View Post
no there not doing any thing wrong they wint to the limit on the speedo
which is 8.5 and had smoke it right gearing right hook up
every thing
Still does not sound right to me or Novak would not have said it can run an 8.5. Tell them to swap out the capacitor for the bigger one found on the GT7 and GTX. I got rid of the smaller capacitor right away when I got mine.
__________________
JRXS Type R, I have four of them!! ;) ( Yes, I still have them!!)And racing one of them again!!
22 3.0SR
22T 2.0 w/ Exotech chassis
Yeti35 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2008, 09:23 AM   #32
Tech Master
 
chewiefttc4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: algonac, mi
Posts: 1,552
Trader Rating: 26 (96%+)
Send a message via AIM to chewiefttc4 Send a message via Yahoo to chewiefttc4
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by porkey View Post
no there not doing any thing wrong they wint to the limit on the speedo
which is 8.5 and had smoke it right gearing right hook up
every thing

dude go away and let the grown ups talk. lol
chewiefttc4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2008, 09:32 AM   #33
Tech Master
 
chewiefttc4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: algonac, mi
Posts: 1,552
Trader Rating: 26 (96%+)
Send a message via AIM to chewiefttc4 Send a message via Yahoo to chewiefttc4
Default

lipos are preety straight forward as use goes (hes more at risk running 4200s than lipo)

run. charge. run. charge. run. charge. (no discharging or eqalizing ) and if you have a proper lipo charger theres no risk for over charge.

if hes running a 2s lipo and he never drains it down to lipo cutoff he wont need to balance it all season. i run a few lipos between my rc8 and b4 and tc3 and i havent needed to balance all season everytime i put them on the balancer its still very close. (it may balance for 5 seconds or so )

heres the setup i suggest.

factory team t4
xbr 10.5 (for 19 turn truck personally stock is a bore)
orion carbon lipo. (if the track mandates hardcase lipos). if not maxamps 5000 2s pack (great power for the money and lots of runtime )
as far as radio goes. if your on a budget a xs3 does the job quite well. ( it has every adjustment he needs and has all the 75 fm channels built in )
servo (something peppy .10 and under ) dont skimp here.
charger. if your brushless your over paying for the ice and the checkpoint chargers. (they have motor breakin which you will no longer need due to brushless)
i run the triton 2 which i am very happy with. (does all the battery types even lead acid ) the triton jr would probably be perfect for him. and its cheap

thats the package i would get if i were starting out but thats just me.
chewiefttc4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2008, 12:52 PM   #34
Tech Master
 
porkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Niles,Michigan
Posts: 1,007
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chewiefttc4 View Post
dude go away and let the grown ups talk. lol
o im fine ill stay but thanks
__________________
AE T4: 8.5 AE B4: 10.5 AE B44: 7.5
www.michianabuildingsupplies.com(Sponsor)
www.embassyrcraceway.com
www.michianarc.com
www.steelmx.com(Sponsor)
porkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2008, 12:52 PM   #35
Tech Master
 
porkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Niles,Michigan
Posts: 1,007
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yeti35 View Post
Still does not sound right to me or Novak would not have said it can run an 8.5. Tell them to swap out the capacitor for the bigger one found on the GT7 and GTX. I got rid of the smaller capacitor right away when I got mine.
ok ill let them know
__________________
AE T4: 8.5 AE B4: 10.5 AE B44: 7.5
www.michianabuildingsupplies.com(Sponsor)
www.embassyrcraceway.com
www.michianarc.com
www.steelmx.com(Sponsor)
porkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Nitro On-Road Addict sa RC Manila Racers 12522 12-27-2015 06:51 PM
New technology and club racing- has it thinned out classes? tc3team Electric On-Road 75 05-23-2008 02:16 PM
CO27 brush question and advice needed. razzor Electric On-Road 20 08-21-2007 07:26 AM
Career in RC RoostAZ Electric Off-Road 21 08-16-2006 07:43 AM
Advice Needed On Choosing An Esc. TRUENO Rookie Zone 11 11-18-2003 07:15 PM
Are dischargers necessary? AE Racer Electric On-Road 15 11-18-2003 08:01 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 01:46 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net