R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-01-2008, 06:02 AM   #1
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 327
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default electric motor break in

What is the best way to break one in?
reddishdsb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2008, 06:09 AM   #2
Tech Champion
 
Briguy's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Ottawa , IL
Posts: 8,128
Trader Rating: 125 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Briguy
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by reddishdsb View Post
What is the best way to break one in?
if you don`t have a charger that has a break-in feature you can put it in you car buy do not put the pinion on . Turn up the throttle trim on the radio so it is about 1/4 throttle and run for 5 minutes .
__________________
At Your Service Vinyl Works
Royal R/C & Hobby
Leisure Hours Hobby & Raceway
Briguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2008, 08:18 AM   #3
Tech Regular
 
MattWebb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 320
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

dont do this.

motors need to be run in at about 3volts for a few minutes.

electronic speed controllers pulse at 7.2 volts, at slow speeds its still pulsing at 7.2volts just less pulses to give the illusion of a slower speed, but, the motor is still being hit with bursts of 7.2volts!

either use a charger that has motor run in (variable voltage) or use a few cells in series to run the motor at low volts.
__________________
www.teamadrenaline.net - your home for West Australia r/c race results and gossip
MattWebb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2008, 08:46 AM   #4
Tech Champion
 
Briguy's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Ottawa , IL
Posts: 8,128
Trader Rating: 125 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Briguy
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MattWebb View Post
dont do this.

motors need to be run in at about 3volts for a few minutes.

electronic speed controllers pulse at 7.2 volts, at slow speeds its still pulsing at 7.2volts just less pulses to give the illusion of a slower speed, but, the motor is still being hit with bursts of 7.2volts!

either use a charger that has motor run in (variable voltage) or use a few cells in series to run the motor at low volts.
I used that method for 22 years until I got an Ice three years ago . Works great and no issues at all . Everyone doesn`t have a chrager with the feasture ar a few cells laying around to do so .

And you are wrong by the way , at approx. 1/4 throttle the voltage is 3.5 volts , not a full 7.2 . How do you think what tells the motor to go faster or slower ? Voltage .
__________________
At Your Service Vinyl Works
Royal R/C & Hobby
Leisure Hours Hobby & Raceway
Briguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2008, 09:30 AM   #5
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 327
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

I have heard of people putting them in water to break in?
reddishdsb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2008, 09:40 AM   #6
Tech Champion
 
Briguy's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Ottawa , IL
Posts: 8,128
Trader Rating: 125 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Briguy
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by reddishdsb View Post
I have heard of people putting them in water to break in?
Ya we used to do that , but then you have to take the motor apart again and oil the bearings and dry off the magnets .
__________________
At Your Service Vinyl Works
Royal R/C & Hobby
Leisure Hours Hobby & Raceway
Briguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2008, 09:53 AM   #7
Tech Fanatic
 
RC Corral's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Waukesha, Wisconsin
Posts: 777
Default

underwater style works well, as I understand. Keeps the motor cooler.
RC Corral is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2008, 11:20 AM   #8
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 576
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Briguy View Post
I used that method for 22 years until I got an Ice three years ago . Works great and no issues at all . Everyone doesn`t have a chrager with the feasture ar a few cells laying around to do so .

And you are wrong by the way , at approx. 1/4 throttle the voltage is 3.5 volts , not a full 7.2 . How do you think what tells the motor to go faster or slower ? Voltage .
What MattWebb is trying to say and im not sure if its correct since i would have to hook up my fluke and see if it can detect it or not, but at 1/4 throttle or at any throttle position other than full throttle the esc is changing the amount of power to the esc by changing the frequency by the amount of on time so the motor is not getting a steady amount of voltage at any given time other than full throttle. How the motor goes faster depends on how close the amount of on time is compared to the amount of off time. But like i said im not sure if thats how these things work but in the automotive industry alot of things work this way.
ive heard of a new way to break in motors but im going to try it first to make sure it doesnt end up in a ball of flames since it requires a flamable source.
__________________
Tater salad the stories behind nick names how it stuck at that track is beyond me, good times, short lived, forever missed FHR.
Tater salad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2008, 11:27 AM   #9
Tech Champion
 
Briguy's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Ottawa , IL
Posts: 8,128
Trader Rating: 125 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Briguy
Default

I`ve put a voltmeter to the motors years ago when i was curious about it .
__________________
At Your Service Vinyl Works
Royal R/C & Hobby
Leisure Hours Hobby & Raceway
Briguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2008, 12:42 PM   #10
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 576
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Briguy View Post
I`ve put a voltmeter to the motors years ago when i was curious about it .
Ok, was it a high quality DVOM with a Fq setting, if not its just going to tell you the average voltage measurement.
__________________
Tater salad the stories behind nick names how it stuck at that track is beyond me, good times, short lived, forever missed FHR.
Tater salad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2008, 01:39 PM   #11
Super Moderator
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Rochester Hills Michigan
Posts: 7,232
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Briguy View Post
I`ve put a voltmeter to the motors years ago when i was curious about it .
You would need an oscilloscope to see it. A voltmeter has a limited response rate in order to stabilize the reading.

The speed controls switch all the way off and on when at part throttle, usually 2000 times a second or more. The speed is varied by the percentage of the time it is full on. The only way they can be efficient enough to handle the current in the size package we need.
Dave H is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2008, 01:42 PM   #12
Tech Champion
 
Briguy's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Ottawa , IL
Posts: 8,128
Trader Rating: 125 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Briguy
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave H View Post
You would need an oscilloscope to see it. A voltmeter has a limited response rate in order to stabilize the reading.

The speed controls switch all the way off and on when at part throttle, usually 2000 times a second or more. Old school is usually around 60 times per. The speed is varied by the percentage of the time it is full on. The only way they can be efficient enough to handle the current in the size package we need.
Well , my Fluke and UEI meters read it just fine .
__________________
At Your Service Vinyl Works
Royal R/C & Hobby
Leisure Hours Hobby & Raceway
Briguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2008, 01:44 PM   #13
Super Moderator
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Rochester Hills Michigan
Posts: 7,232
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Briguy View Post
Well , my Fluke and UEI meters read it just fine .
Do they show the voltage going from 0 to 7.2 or whatever 2000 times or so a second?
Dave H is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2008, 01:49 PM   #14
Tech Champion
 
Briguy's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Ottawa , IL
Posts: 8,128
Trader Rating: 125 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Briguy
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave H View Post
Do they show the voltage going from 0 to 7.2 or whatever 2000 times or so a second?
They show voltage at the motor from 0 to 7.5 volts . No throttle to full and as stated approx. 3.5 at 1/4 throttle .
__________________
At Your Service Vinyl Works
Royal R/C & Hobby
Leisure Hours Hobby & Raceway
Briguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2008, 01:51 PM   #15
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 576
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave H View Post
Do they show the voltage going from 0 to 7.2 or whatever 2000 times or so a second?

Pissing match: i will bring my fluke 88 4th or 5th edition from work home and well give it a go, i doesnt really matter to me i was just trying to support MattWebb's theory not saying anyone is correct or not.
__________________
Tater salad the stories behind nick names how it stuck at that track is beyond me, good times, short lived, forever missed FHR.
Tater salad is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Electric 1/8th Scale conversion kits. DJ1978 Electric Off-Road 19923 06-12-2017 06:16 AM
Rc10ntc3 Taz_S Nitro On-Road 9437 05-28-2017 09:13 PM
Silver Can Motor Tips/Tricks TAMIYAMANUK Electric On-Road 1741 04-11-2014 02:44 PM
Leisure Hours Raceway Joliet IL chicagokenji Wisconsin & Illinois Racing 6157 10-18-2013 04:06 PM
Longer TC Races... Twin-Kyle Electric On-Road 133 03-15-2009 01:19 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 11:04 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net