R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-01-2008, 01:57 PM   #16
Super Moderator
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Rochester Hills Michigan
Posts: 7,232
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tater salad View Post
Pissing match: i will bring my fluke 88 4th or 5th edition from work home and well give it a go, i doesnt really matter to me i was just trying to support MattWebb's theory not saying anyone is correct or not.
My bad. I was only trying to help as well.
Dave H is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2008, 02:00 PM   #17
Tech Champion
 
Briguy's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Ottawa , IL
Posts: 8,128
Trader Rating: 125 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Briguy
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tater salad View Post
Pissing match: i will bring my fluke 88 4th or 5th edition from work home and well give it a go, i doesnt really matter to me i was just trying to support MattWebb's theory not saying anyone is correct or not.
You don`t need to , I just checked again with both meters . Why would i lie about what voltages my meters are reading ? I have a fluke 113 and a UEI DM410 and both read the same . All I was doing was trying to help and then everyone jumped on me because I supposedly was wrong . I always speak from experience .
__________________
At Your Service Vinyl Works
Royal R/C & Hobby
Leisure Hours Hobby & Raceway
Briguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2008, 02:02 PM   #18
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 327
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Just woking on stock 12 turn slash motors, so cant open em up, but I would think that a properly broke in motor may a few hundred more rpm than one that was just plugged up and gone wot.
reddishdsb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2008, 02:06 PM   #19
Super Moderator
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Rochester Hills Michigan
Posts: 7,232
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Briguy View Post
You don`t need to , I just checked again with both meters . Why would i lie about what voltages my meters are reading ? I have a fluke 113 and a UEI DM410 and both read the same .
Sir, no issue with either your honesty or the readings you are getting with a voltmeter. They are correct. But a voltmeter will only show a time averaged reading, it can't detect the very rapid switching rate involved. It takes an oscilloscope to really see switching voltages like this.

My apologies if I've offended anyone, I'm just trying to explain how these things work.
Dave H is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2008, 02:58 PM   #20
Tech Champion
 
F N CUDA's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Mission Viejo, So Cal
Posts: 5,489
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

Tater,
You talkin about the lighter fluid to rinse the brushes during break in?
Lighter fluid for like Zippo lighters not Bar B Qs!
I've seen it and it didn't go up in flames. Just dribbled it on now and then, supposed to clean em up as you go.
I was told 2 volts for 5 to 10 minutes with a slight drag such as the small fan on the armature shaft.
Also was told that removing the brushes to look at em runs the risk of chipping the clean sharp edges left from breaking them in when you try to slide them back into the brush hoods. Not sure if this only applies to the round brushes on the Check Point and Banzai type brushes.
I guess every little bit helps.
__________________
Craig Hammon
F N CUDA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2008, 03:30 PM   #21
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 576
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by F N CUDA View Post
Tater,
You talkin about the lighter fluid to rinse the brushes during break in?
Lighter fluid for like Zippo lighters not Bar B Qs!
I've seen it and it didn't go up in flames. Just dribbled it on now and then, supposed to clean em up as you go.
I was told 2 volts for 5 to 10 minutes with a slight drag such as the small fan on the armature shaft.
Also was told that removing the brushes to look at em runs the risk of chipping the clean sharp edges left from breaking them in when you try to slide them back into the brush hoods. Not sure if this only applies to the round brushes on the Check Point and Banzai type brushes.
I guess every little bit helps.
Yup exactly, i havent made it to the store yet to buy some. You heard this from Dan right. Ive allways broke my motors in on a stand with a slight drag with comm drops but i need to cut my checkpoint money motor and my 13x2 checkpoint motor so ill try it this week sometime.
__________________
Tater salad the stories behind nick names how it stuck at that track is beyond me, good times, short lived, forever missed FHR.
Tater salad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2008, 03:32 PM   #22
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 576
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave H View Post
My bad. I was only trying to help as well.
oh i wasnt mad or nothing just messing around
__________________
Tater salad the stories behind nick names how it stuck at that track is beyond me, good times, short lived, forever missed FHR.
Tater salad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2008, 03:35 PM   #23
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 576
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Briguy View Post
You don`t need to , I just checked again with both meters . Why would i lie about what voltages my meters are reading ? I have a fluke 113 and a UEI DM410 and both read the same . All I was doing was trying to help and then everyone jumped on me because I supposedly was wrong . I always speak from experience .
Im not questioneing your honesty or anyhting but im not familiar with your dvom's but do they have a Fq setting or a bar at the bottom of the lcd screen that can indicate the switching of the voltage. Im still going to try this just for giggles and i havent had to break out my dvom in a while so it will be fun.
__________________
Tater salad the stories behind nick names how it stuck at that track is beyond me, good times, short lived, forever missed FHR.
Tater salad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2008, 05:04 PM   #24
Tech Elite
 
Flying Monkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ringgold, GA
Posts: 4,452
Trader Rating: 54 (100%+)
Default

i did some searching for break in methods and followed one with a little adjustments with my ICE i have a integy stand that has a small fan in the bottom i hooked to a 1500 nicd battery. I set my ICE to 1.5 volts and ran for 20 minutes. then ran it again at 2.5 volts for another 20 minutes. i can see inside the endbell for the most part and no carbonizing or anything on the come so looks like it could have went well.

btw this was my first electric motor break in...so please dont rip me apart if i did somethign wrong.
__________________
MONKEY BUSINESS RACING
Flinging poo at a track near you! Winning hearts and minds everywhere!
www.graphicmonkeydesigns.com
Brooksphotodesign.net
Flying Monkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2008, 05:07 PM   #25
Tech Champion
 
Briguy's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Ottawa , IL
Posts: 8,128
Trader Rating: 125 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Briguy
Default

I break in my motors with my Ice at 3 volts for 5 minutes , look in and check the comm and run another 5 minutes .
__________________
At Your Service Vinyl Works
Royal R/C & Hobby
Leisure Hours Hobby & Raceway
Briguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2008, 09:01 PM   #26
Tech Addict
 
Mr RC Centre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 731
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by reddishdsb View Post
Just woking on stock 12 turn slash motors, so cant open em up, but I would think that a properly broke in motor may a few hundred more rpm than one that was just plugged up and gone wot.
I'm not familiar with this motor sorry but can I ask
1. does it have bushings or bearings?
2. Are the brushes serrated?
Mr RC Centre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2008, 09:18 PM   #27
Tech Master
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1,771
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr RC Centre View Post
I'm not familiar with this motor sorry but can I ask
1. does it have bushings or bearings?
2. Are the brushes serrated?
Bushings.

Probably some crappy brushes.

This is a Traxxas RTR vehicle as these motors dont last long.

BTW for everyone in the Slash class, does it make a difference to get a new motor and new tires every couplr runs?

As for a tip about how to improve performance look at Jato arms if you track isnt too strick. They improve steering but it isnt as smooth. But really no one drives a Slash smooth.
__________________
Losi 8ight 1.5 ~ 8T ~ XXX Buggy ~ Mini-Baja

The o''le saying goes, pay me now, or pay me later, because you gonna pay me. "Pearl_414"
Chris__RC is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Electric 1/8th Scale conversion kits. DJ1978 Electric Off-Road 19923 06-12-2017 06:16 AM
Rc10ntc3 Taz_S Nitro On-Road 9437 05-28-2017 09:13 PM
Silver Can Motor Tips/Tricks TAMIYAMANUK Electric On-Road 1741 04-11-2014 02:44 PM
Leisure Hours Raceway Joliet IL chicagokenji Wisconsin & Illinois Racing 6157 10-18-2013 04:06 PM
Longer TC Races... Twin-Kyle Electric On-Road 133 03-15-2009 01:19 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 12:29 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net