Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road
Losi 1/8 8ight E 4wd Thread >

Losi 1/8 8ight E 4wd Thread

Losi 1/8 8ight E 4wd Thread

Old 12-10-2008, 05:27 PM
  #826  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (209)
 
hlpressley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 2,729
Trader Rating: 209 (99%+)
Default

Hopefully a little more brake control.
hlpressley is offline  
Old 12-10-2008, 06:48 PM
  #827  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (1)
 
R40Victim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: N.W. FL___L.A.___Lower Alabama
Posts: 7,827
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Have you tried messing with your EPA, or maybe using some Expo on the brakes? I managed to do this vid with the current brakes, just by turning my EPA down until I was happy with it. Beyond that, I'm just being light on the trigger. After swapping back and forth with a nitro car, it's clear to me how much more sensitive my 8ight E is. So if you've just come from nitro as I did, try going easy on it at first, soon you'll be ripping around the track!

+ YouTube Video
ERROR: If you can see this, then YouTube is down or you don't have Flash installed.


I have no trouble at all controlling it in the air, yet two seasoned pros both made the mistake of nailing the brakes hard in the air, resulting in a pretty severe tumble! I'm used to it, so I can drive the wheels off it! There's a jump I can make that no other car can... so far...

+ YouTube Video
ERROR: If you can see this, then YouTube is down or you don't have Flash installed.
R40Victim is offline  
Old 12-11-2008, 11:09 PM
  #828  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (1)
 
R40Victim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: N.W. FL___L.A.___Lower Alabama
Posts: 7,827
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I managed to get my ESC's PC programing software to work today. I changed my cutoff voltage to 13, to further protect everything. I've got a race this weekend, hopefully I can twist somebody's arm into running my camera for me...
R40Victim is offline  
Old 12-12-2008, 01:07 AM
  #829  
Tech Master
iTrader: (27)
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: illinois
Posts: 1,682
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

are the losi motors delta winds or wye winds
cheesecake is offline  
Old 12-12-2008, 08:27 AM
  #830  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (1)
 
R40Victim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: N.W. FL___L.A.___Lower Alabama
Posts: 7,827
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

are the losi motors delta winds or wye winds
I dunno, lemme pull out my Tri-Corder so I can scan it really quick...

But seriously, what's the difference?
R40Victim is offline  
Old 12-12-2008, 08:39 AM
  #831  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (86)
 
jhautz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 4,263
Trader Rating: 86 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by R40Victim View Post
I dunno, lemme pull out my Tri-Corder so I can scan it really quick...

But seriously, what's the difference?
Timing settings on the esc. In general delta motors tend to like a bit lower timing than the wye winds.

Its a simple question the losi guys should be able to answer easily.
jhautz is offline  
Old 12-12-2008, 09:49 AM
  #832  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (16)
 
rocketron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: palm desert
Posts: 2,280
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by cheesecake View Post
are the losi motors delta winds or wye winds
Delta wind
rocketron is offline  
Old 12-12-2008, 08:01 PM
  #833  
Tech Master
iTrader: (27)
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: illinois
Posts: 1,682
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

Thanks now i have to reprogram the speed controller ill drop it down to the lowest timing
cheesecake is offline  
Old 12-13-2008, 07:21 AM
  #834  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (1)
 
R40Victim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: N.W. FL___L.A.___Lower Alabama
Posts: 7,827
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

NEATO! Any other uncommon things you guys know about these beasts?
R40Victim is offline  
Old 12-15-2008, 08:11 AM
  #835  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (1)
 
R40Victim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: N.W. FL___L.A.___Lower Alabama
Posts: 7,827
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Had another great race on Saturday. I got the chance to have my butt handed to me by a couple bad asses! I managed to come in 3rd behind two sponsored drivers, and I think they may have both been wheeling the Hyper 9. I know the local was, the other guy I'm not sure, because the motor was standing upright, not leaned like in the other car...but other than that it appeared to be a Hyper 9. Those things are LIGHT too! I know my perspective is skewed by my brushless tank, but DANG!
R40Victim is offline  
Old 12-15-2008, 08:57 AM
  #836  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (6)
 
wfdfiremedic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: CT
Posts: 598
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

R40,

Glad to see your electronics are holding up. What pinion are you running now, 15??? I was amazed at how much better the car drives with a 16 pinion compared to a 13.

Also, just out of curiosity, what nue motor size is equivalent to the losi? 1512 or 1515???
wfdfiremedic is offline  
Old 12-15-2008, 09:18 AM
  #837  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (159)
 
Krio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: At dirt tracks in Michigan!
Posts: 5,717
Trader Rating: 159 (99%+)
Default

The 1512 is closer to the losi than the 1515
Krio is offline  
Old 12-15-2008, 10:54 AM
  #838  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (1)
 
R40Victim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: N.W. FL___L.A.___Lower Alabama
Posts: 7,827
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Glad to see your electronics are holding up. What pinion are you running now, 15??? I was amazed at how much better the car drives with a 16 pinion compared to a 13.
Right now I'm still using the 16T, because the weather is cold. Once it gets warm again, I plan to gear down. The first step will be the smaller nylon spur. I have a 13T pinion to use, but I'd like to minimize the RPMs the motor gets to. I'm pretty sure it'll get hot again once the temps are in the high 90s again. But until then, I'm using the stock gearing.

I did like the incredible acceleration I had with the 12T pinon, and it did all but eliminate the cogging. It just didn't keep the temps low enough, and I lost a little too much top end compared to now. That, however, was with the first gen ESC. The new one may handle it better, but I'm not pushing my luck! This is all new territory, so I'm taking it easy for now.
R40Victim is offline  
Old 12-15-2008, 11:44 AM
  #839  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (16)
 
rocketron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: palm desert
Posts: 2,280
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by R40Victim View Post
That, however, was with the first gen ESC. The new one may handle it better, but I'm not pushing my luck! This is all new territory, so I'm taking it easy for now.
There is NO Second GEN ESC guys, there is new Firmware which should be available online by friday that you will be able to update to. There is NO new hardware required, and no changes to hardware either.
rocketron is offline  
Old 12-15-2008, 12:19 PM
  #840  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (1)
 
R40Victim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: N.W. FL___L.A.___Lower Alabama
Posts: 7,827
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I say "Second Gen" because it's gotta be different than the first one I had, either by manufacturing flaw, or simply a defective unit. The first one lasted 2 weeks, the second one is about the same age/run time now... keeping fingers crossed.
R40Victim is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.