Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road
Losi 1/8 8ight E 4wd Thread >

Losi 1/8 8ight E 4wd Thread

Losi 1/8 8ight E 4wd Thread

Old 12-15-2011, 01:59 PM
  #6751  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (26)
 
Solidd33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: GA
Posts: 545
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Integra View Post
IF your tray is flexing you have some binding going on in the steering components. THere's nothing to hinder the movement of the Anchorman or the Spindle's So the Steering should be Silky smooth with Zero flexing.

So again if the tray is flexing your either pulling too much EPA or there's a blown bearing in the steering rack.
Whoops, guess I'll be going over my entire steering assembly before the next race.
Solidd33 is offline  
Old 12-15-2011, 02:01 PM
  #6752  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (8)
 
Integra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 12,486
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by XXXDad View Post
You can find a 1.0 carbon stiffiner and cut it its what i did and some have a transponder holder also. !


I also did this for Shit* and Giggles due to the fact i had 1.0 tray stiffener's and zero use for them. But by all means it's not needed. If your tray is flexing you have other issues going on.
Integra is offline  
Old 12-15-2011, 06:41 PM
  #6753  
Tech Adept
 
Razorbelly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 143
Default

Originally Posted by Integra View Post
IF your tray is flexing you have some binding going on in the steering components. THere's nothing to hinder the movement of the Anchorman or the Spindle's So the Steering should be Silky smooth with Zero flexing.


So again if the tray is flexing your either pulling too much EPA or there's a blown bearing in the steering rack.
__________________________________________________ _
All u have to do is grab the servo box from the top and wiggle it and
u will see how much the box will flex. My has a little. but yea 2 more
screws wouldn't hurt. Or the flex might be for shock absorbent.
Razorbelly is offline  
Old 12-15-2011, 06:55 PM
  #6754  
Tech Master
iTrader: (26)
 
84 GT 5.0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Fresno California
Posts: 1,303
Trader Rating: 26 (96%+)
Default

I replaced all the bearings in he steering. The steering moves freely when the car is off. Yes the tray is flexing because my servo is pushing to far. That is my point the tray flex makes it hard to set EPA.


Also when setting the endpoints on the steering I keep lowering the steering value until the servo stops buzzing. I have done that then I hit the steering to that side again and it still buzzes.
84 GT 5.0 is offline  
Old 12-16-2011, 09:02 AM
  #6755  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (8)
 
Integra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 12,486
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by 84 GT 5.0 View Post
I replaced all the bearings in he steering. The steering moves freely when the car is off. Yes the tray is flexing because my servo is pushing to far. That is my point the tray flex makes it hard to set EPA.


Also when setting the endpoints on the steering I keep lowering the steering value until the servo stops buzzing. I have done that then I hit the steering to that side again and it still buzzes.


Then you have something else going on, As to what, I have no clue. The tray should Not flex unless your Pushing the EPA too far. Are you testing this with the wheels On or Off the ground ?
Integra is offline  
Old 12-16-2011, 01:16 PM
  #6756  
Tech Master
iTrader: (26)
 
84 GT 5.0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Fresno California
Posts: 1,303
Trader Rating: 26 (96%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Integra View Post
Then you have something else going on, As to what, I have no clue. The tray should Not flex unless your Pushing the EPA too far. Are you testing this with the wheels On or Off the ground ?
both
84 GT 5.0 is offline  
Old 12-18-2011, 09:58 AM
  #6757  
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 12
Default front cvd issues

Hello
I just purchased an 8ight-e and was upgrading it before taking it out. I put in the front adjustable hinge pin brace, 10 deg aluminum spindle carrier, aluminum spindles, and front smart diff. After changing everything out and getting it all back together the cvds pop out of the diff outdrives easy now at full droop. Looking at everything it all seems fine. The left and right side specific parts are all on correctly. I am not sure what I messed up but any help would be greatly appreciated.
wftmwd is offline  
Old 12-18-2011, 11:14 AM
  #6758  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (3)
 
SuperSmoove's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 155
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

You may have put the outer camber link in the outer whole on the spindle carrier and didnt adjust camber back in. Post pics.
SuperSmoove is offline  
Old 12-18-2011, 11:37 AM
  #6759  
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 12
Default

Originally Posted by SuperSmoove View Post
You may have put the outer camber link in the outer whole on the spindle carrier and didnt adjust camber back in. Post pics.
I did not adjust the camber links after i put in the new parts. I did not think that it would have changed the lengths of them so i will readjust and see if that fixes it.
wftmwd is offline  
Old 12-18-2011, 02:15 PM
  #6760  
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 12
Default

Ok camber is on 2-b tried to set it at -1 to -6 degrees of camber and the cvd is still to short. The upgraded part numbers are tlr3500, losa6504, losa1708, losa1734 and losa1754. I am at a loss for what I have done wrong.
Attached Thumbnails Losi 1/8 8ight E 4wd Thread-img_1599.jpg   Losi 1/8 8ight E 4wd Thread-img_1600.jpg   Losi 1/8 8ight E 4wd Thread-img_1601.jpg  
wftmwd is offline  
Old 12-18-2011, 02:48 PM
  #6761  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (8)
 
Integra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 12,486
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by wftmwd View Post
Ok camber is on 2-b tried to set it at -1 to -6 degrees of camber and the cvd is still to short. The upgraded part numbers are tlr3500, losa6504, losa1708, losa1734 and losa1754. I am at a loss for what I have done wrong.


You have the Wrong Spindle's on, You need the Black Spindle's to match the Black 10 carriers.
Integra is offline  
Old 12-18-2011, 03:51 PM
  #6762  
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 12
Default

Originally Posted by Integra View Post
You have the Wrong Spindle's on, You need the Black Spindle's to match the Black 10 carriers.
Wonderful...oh well back to a main to buy the correct part now...thanks for the help

What is the difference between those spindles and the black spindles other than the offset must be less?
wftmwd is offline  
Old 12-22-2011, 09:32 PM
  #6763  
Tech Apprentice
iTrader: (5)
 
lethal19's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 64
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

I have been looking at the wiring pics on other thread and it seems that most people do not use BEC's how do you know if you should use 1 or not I have a MMM sc and an Ace servo should I wire a BEC in or would I be fine without it?
lethal19 is offline  
Old 12-22-2011, 10:27 PM
  #6764  
Tech Master
iTrader: (26)
 
84 GT 5.0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Fresno California
Posts: 1,303
Trader Rating: 26 (96%+)
Default

So you have a mamba max pro? Does it glitch at all? You only need a bec if your experiencing brown out issues or glitches and or are runnin a HV servo and tryin to run your servo at 7.4v
84 GT 5.0 is offline  
Old 12-23-2011, 07:00 AM
  #6765  
Tech Apprentice
iTrader: (5)
 
lethal19's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 64
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

I have the Mamba Monster I have not run it much because the BEC I have the wires are now to short to wire in and I was unsure if I should wire it in or not
lethal19 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.