Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road
Losi 1/8 8ight E 4wd Thread >

Losi 1/8 8ight E 4wd Thread

Losi 1/8 8ight E 4wd Thread

Old 08-10-2011, 07:47 PM
  #6196  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (5)
 
dangerwr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Boulder, CO
Posts: 2,245
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by 84 GT 5.0 View Post
Any one use the dragon racing chassis?
I have only heard of guys running them and were not let down--especially for the price. I would recommend the BCE but that is just me! I have pancaked the stocker and will no longer run it. Nothing wrong with it really but race every weekend and need something that I can rely upon. I think the best thing to do is understand what kinda aluminum the manufacturer is using . . .
dangerwr is offline  
Old 08-10-2011, 08:11 PM
  #6197  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (9)
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 638
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by losi_racer View Post
so i have an issue,


i received my protek 5600/50c batteries today and i think they are to tall. the battery straps barley overlap like a couple mm and im having to pull tight to get that. I am worried about my body fitting if im having such a hard time with the straps. What are you guys doing?
Doug, my Pro-match 5600 batteries are barely too tall as well. For the battery straps, I took them out of the stock slots and ran them all the way under the battery tray. Try it and you'll see what I mean. As far as my body, Mine rests on the front corner of the battery. You can barely tell the front left side of the body sits a little higher than the right side but its not enough to make any changes.
mellen_mpz is offline  
Old 08-10-2011, 09:11 PM
  #6198  
Tech Master
iTrader: (24)
 
Slash and Burn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Chesterfield, MO
Posts: 1,496
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by losi_racer View Post
perfect, didnt even think of that. Now just hope my body fits, have to wait till i get it back from the painter. What protek are you using
I think they still only offer one 4s lipo, so we should have the same one, but I think it is a 5600 50c 4s. Nice battery, good hard case, I have more expensive batteries that the cases have come apart.
Slash and Burn is offline  
Old 08-10-2011, 11:34 PM
  #6199  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (25)
 
losi_racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: mesa,az
Posts: 6,470
Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by mellen_mpz View Post
Doug, my Pro-match 5600 batteries are barely too tall as well. For the battery straps, I took them out of the stock slots and ran them all the way under the battery tray. Try it and you'll see what I mean. As far as my body, Mine rests on the front corner of the battery. You can barely tell the front left side of the body sits a little higher than the right side but its not enough to make any changes.
i did what slash suggest and worked fine. now just have to put the servo in, waiting for it to come in, if it isnt here by friday ill throw in a old hitec so i can run sat.

Originally Posted by Slash and Burn View Post
I think they still only offer one 4s lipo, so we should have the same one, but I think it is a 5600 50c 4s. Nice battery, good hard case, I have more expensive batteries that the cases have come apart.
i love protek, only battery i run, they are in my scte,1/8 E 1/8 N, and my starter boxes
losi_racer is offline  
Old 08-11-2011, 06:21 PM
  #6200  
Tech Master
iTrader: (33)
 
nickdawg18's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Granite City, IL
Posts: 1,696
Trader Rating: 33 (100%+)
Default

How do you guys keep your sway bars from creeping like an old gate??? Mine sounds horrible.
nickdawg18 is offline  
Old 08-11-2011, 06:53 PM
  #6201  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (5)
 
dangerwr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Boulder, CO
Posts: 2,245
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by nickdawg18 View Post
How do you guys keep your sway bars from creeping like an old gate??? Mine sounds horrible.
I use PLEDGE in the orange (or yellow) can. You might not believe it but it works very well. Spray some on and blow it off with an air compressor. I do the whole car after a race. Looks new, smells good, no squeaks. Obviously go light on the electronics and try no to force air directly into your bearings. Words.
dangerwr is offline  
Old 08-14-2011, 06:00 PM
  #6202  
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 32
Default Update

Originally Posted by bsloan22 View Post
Hi, Great forum a lot of really good information in here. I have read through about 250 pages in this section and searched numerous ways trying to find a good ESC and EPA setting for my ebuggy. I see a lot of you all are running 17-1800 kv on 4S and some 1300kv or so on 6S. I am on the other hand ended up with a Losi 2100kv amd a Mamba Monster ESC on on Venom 6400 & 5400 3S. I saw where Casper started out with this set up and I have searched high and low for his set up sheet however no luck. I saw he had geared way up on the 3S/2100kv set up 19/43 20/43. I am planning on doing this as well. My LHS did not have this gearing in stock. I did bump to a 17/45 this weekend temps were good about 140 on motor and around 100 on the ESC and it was over 100 degrees outside. Currently I have punch set around 80% and EPA at 100%. I keep getting beat by the guys on 4S set ups. I would prefer not to switch motor and battery set ups if I can help it as i like the light weight of the 3S. I tried a 4S on the 2100 and it was a rocket for me. As I have only been driving a ebuggy a couple of months now and newbie as of January 2011 to the hobby. Anyhow wanted to see what advice was out there and maybe if Casper could share one his 3S set up sheets. I have one really large track locally and one smaller more technical tracks I run. Next year I plan on running more tracks. Just feel I need to get these two tracks dialed first. Cape Fear in Fuquay NC (it want let post a youtube link until I have made so many post)I hear it is one of the largest tracks on the east coast. The one section beside the straight the fast line seems to be to triple on double off. And the other is Thunder Alley Speedway in Wilson, NC. I feel real fortunate to have both these tracks with in an hour of me. Thanks in advance for any advice on the 3S 2100 KV set up.

Ran a 19/43 on 3S this weekend. much faster than prev15/15 gearing. I was at a track in Fuquay, NC with a good sized pit jump my 3S would not pull prior now pulls with ease and plenty of power down the straight as well. Temps ran good too. Ran a 12 min. on my 3S 5400. So my 3S 6400 sure be more than fine on race day.

Just got my wraps back too thought I would show them off.
Attached Thumbnails Losi 1/8 8ight E 4wd Thread-img_20110813_114314.jpg   Losi 1/8 8ight E 4wd Thread-184047_10150285092712722_84416217721_7531728_7083904_n.jpg   Losi 1/8 8ight E 4wd Thread-262954_10150285092602722_84416217721_7531726_2271984_n.jpg   Losi 1/8 8ight E 4wd Thread-282179_10150285092547722_84416217721_7531724_196427_n.jpg  
bsloan22 is offline  
Old 08-15-2011, 11:39 PM
  #6203  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (36)
 
xDIEGOx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 397
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Default

My brother picked up a Losi 1.0, Tekin 2050kv, and a MM esc. What gearing do you guys recommend for a large outdoor track? He's running a 16t pinion now. But he'd like to know what others are running.
xDIEGOx is offline  
Old 08-15-2011, 11:56 PM
  #6204  
Tech Master
iTrader: (24)
 
Slash and Burn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Chesterfield, MO
Posts: 1,496
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

I'm running 45/15 gearing with my RX8/T8 1900 setup.
Slash and Burn is offline  
Old 08-16-2011, 09:49 PM
  #6205  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (9)
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: SE MI
Posts: 396
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

anyone have any issues with the front bearings that hold the diff into the housing coming apart? I had an outer bearing actually crack on the housing today....really strange as I havent even taken this car to even an 1/8 scale track yet or bashed it. Not a biggy I already have it back together just thought it was a bit odd that it happened though.
barry1me is offline  
Old 08-16-2011, 10:19 PM
  #6206  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (2)
 
old&slow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 327
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default limiting shock travel

Hey ,
I was wondering if someone could give some tips on how to limit shock travel. I am planing on using a extra set of eight shocks i have on my 1/10 sc truck and need to limit travel

thanks , any pics would help also

jaime
old&slow is offline  
Old 08-17-2011, 02:10 AM
  #6207  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (26)
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: SoCal
Posts: 243
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by old&slow View Post
Hey ,
I was wondering if someone could give some tips on how to limit shock travel. I am planing on using a extra set of eight shocks i have on my 1/10 sc truck and need to limit travel

thanks , any pics would help also

jaime
If ur mounting them on a 1/10 sct then u should probably only use the shorter front shocks. I tried to put a set on my slash 4x4 but the ride height was too much. U might look into finding a shock tower adapter to get them in the right spot.
n2trouble is offline  
Old 08-18-2011, 09:52 AM
  #6208  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (9)
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 638
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

For those of you running castle motors in your 8ight-E's, what is your solution to the tiny motor screws they use. They are the same size as the 1/10 scale motors. I ripped one right out of my motor last night ruining the hole. Tap and die a bigger hole?
mellen_mpz is offline  
Old 08-18-2011, 10:32 AM
  #6209  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (19)
 
SNR Graphite's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: So Cal
Posts: 586
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

I have a stupid question I bought a use Losi 8e and it has a blue chassis and gold shock tower. So do I have a 8 2.0 or 1.0? Thanks for your help guys.
SNR Graphite is offline  
Old 08-18-2011, 12:01 PM
  #6210  
Tech Master
iTrader: (4)
 
neobart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Denmark
Posts: 1,413
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by SNR Graphite View Post
I have a stupid question I bought a use Losi 8e and it has a blue chassis and gold shock tower. So do I have a 8 2.0 or 1.0? Thanks for your help guys.
You have a bastard 8ight on your hands. The blue chassis is a 2.0 RTR one, shock towers are 1.0 kit towers. The 2.0 rtr towers are blue, and the kit towers are black.
neobart is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.