Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road
Losi 1/8 8ight E 4wd Thread >

Losi 1/8 8ight E 4wd Thread

Losi 1/8 8ight E 4wd Thread

Old 04-21-2011, 01:21 PM
  #5791  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (5)
 
dangerwr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Boulder, CO
Posts: 2,245
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

+1

3mm BCE chassis, titanium bits and other goodies to reduce some rotational mass.
dangerwr is offline  
Old 04-21-2011, 03:12 PM
  #5792  
Tech Master
iTrader: (40)
 
rcmike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: plano,tx
Posts: 1,723
Trader Rating: 40 (100%+)
Default losi 1700 bl motor

Can you buy rebuild kits for the losi motors ? cant find it on losi website,thx
rcmike is offline  
Old 04-21-2011, 03:33 PM
  #5793  
Tech Prophet
iTrader: (34)
 
Casper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Orange, Ca
Posts: 17,869
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

No there are not parts available for the Losi 8th scale motors. They have all be discontinued as well.
Casper is offline  
Old 04-21-2011, 06:00 PM
  #5794  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (39)
 
orgnoi1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Nassau, NY
Posts: 534
Trader Rating: 39 (100%+)
Default

Hey guys I have a very quick specific question...

I have a buddy who just got the 8ightE... he ordered the wrong motor combo (the 2650kv)... I realize that its WAY over sized in motor... but could he get away with a 12t or 13t pinion on stock spur gearing and keep both the heat down and speeds consistant with the stock gearing on say a 1900kv?

Thanks!
orgnoi1 is offline  
Old 04-21-2011, 06:20 PM
  #5795  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (71)
 
Bman's 3XNT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Ct.
Posts: 3,044
Trader Rating: 71 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by orgnoi1 View Post
Hey guys I have a very quick specific question...

I have a buddy who just got the 8ightE... he ordered the wrong motor combo (the 2650kv)... I realize that its WAY over sized in motor... but could he get away with a 12t or 13t pinion on stock spur gearing and keep both the heat down and speeds consistant with the stock gearing on say a 1900kv?

Thanks!
I ran a 2100kv with a 13T and it was still fast. I would buy another motor or run three cell.
Bman's 3XNT is offline  
Old 04-21-2011, 10:38 PM
  #5796  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (86)
 
mblgjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: AL
Posts: 2,179
Trader Rating: 86 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by DC#14 View Post
what springs are you and john ball running?
Standard Drake E-buggy setup from the TLRacing website.

Email me for the rest.

As far as turning the 1900 down; you can cut the EPA back in the radio; or use a Tekin Hotwire to set it up however you like in the ESC. There's plenty of parameters to make it smoother. Just using the current limiter and backing it down to about 85% will make it less explosive.
mblgjr is offline  
Old 04-21-2011, 10:46 PM
  #5797  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (6)
 
DC#14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: alabama
Posts: 188
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by mblgjr View Post
Standard Drake E-buggy setup from the TLRacing website.

Email me for the rest.

As far as turning the 1900 down; you can cut the EPA back in the radio; or use a Tekin Hotwire to set it up however you like in the ESC. There's plenty of parameters to make it smoother. Just using the current limiter and backing it down to about 85% will make it less explosive.
Ok good I just got a deal on a 1900. I think I just bought the baddest 1/8 scale buggy ever. You'll have to see it! But there will be no 4x4 sct racing for me... For at least a while.
DC#14 is offline  
Old 04-22-2011, 06:57 AM
  #5798  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (8)
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 614
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by neobart View Post
Try running the rear camber links in the C hole. That should calm down the rear a little.
For the camber links in the rear do I need to buy longer ones or shorter ones or do the stock ones work in all the holes? I'd like to get another set and get the camber set so i can just swap links without having to adjust at the track.
bacchus is offline  
Old 04-22-2011, 07:43 AM
  #5799  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (8)
 
Integra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 12,486
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by bacchus View Post
For the camber links in the rear do I need to buy longer ones or shorter ones or do the stock ones work in all the holes? I'd like to get another set and get the camber set so i can just swap links without having to adjust at the track.
No you dont need longer links. I would also advise adjusting as needed.
Integra is offline  
Old 04-22-2011, 08:13 AM
  #5800  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (8)
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 614
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Integra View Post
No you dont need longer links. I would also advise adjusting as needed.
Why?
bacchus is offline  
Old 04-22-2011, 08:21 PM
  #5801  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (8)
 
Integra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 12,486
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by bacchus View Post
Why?


The overall hassle of removing them to change camber isn't worth it. Buy a Camber gauge and get your self a losi turnbuckle wrench and have at it. Its something you should get into a habit of checking anyways.
Integra is offline  
Old 04-22-2011, 10:06 PM
  #5802  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (5)
 
dangerwr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Boulder, CO
Posts: 2,245
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Integra View Post
The overall hassle of removing them to change camber isn't worth it. Buy a Camber gauge and get your self a losi turnbuckle wrench and have at it. Its something you should get into a habit of checking anyways.
I think what he is asking is why not change out the tie rods? I never heard of this since they are adjustable. Camber seems to be pretty important and do check it with every tire because it will change slightly.
dangerwr is offline  
Old 04-23-2011, 01:55 AM
  #5803  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 491
Default

Is there a 48t plastic spur gear available for this car?
iThinman is offline  
Old 04-23-2011, 06:54 AM
  #5804  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (71)
 
Bman's 3XNT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Ct.
Posts: 3,044
Trader Rating: 71 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by dangerwr View Post
I think what he is asking is why not change out the tie rods? I never heard of this since they are adjustable. Camber seems to be pretty important and do check it with every tire because it will change slightly.
How does everyone check their camber? If I set mine up using plates (-2)then recheck when I install my tires it always seems to be different(0,-1). So which reading is more accurate? Thanks........
Bman's 3XNT is offline  
Old 04-23-2011, 07:00 AM
  #5805  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (5)
 
dangerwr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Boulder, CO
Posts: 2,245
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Bman's 3XNT View Post
How does everyone check their camber? If I set mine up using plates (-2)then recheck when I install my tires it always seems to be different(0,-1). So which reading is more accurate? Thanks........
Exactly! I set mine at ride height after I install the tires I am going to run. Recheck ride height after adjusting camber.
dangerwr is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.