Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road
Losi 1/8 8ight E 4wd Thread >

Losi 1/8 8ight E 4wd Thread

Losi 1/8 8ight E 4wd Thread

Old 10-10-2008, 04:33 AM
  #271  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (12)
 
badassrevo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Roaming Shores, Ohio
Posts: 3,324
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

http://rclipos.com/Accessories.htm
This is a link to www.rclipos.com you need the TP-PQ-4S to adapt your losi battery to your Hyperion charger.
badassrevo is offline  
Old 10-10-2008, 05:19 AM
  #272  
Tech Master
iTrader: (113)
 
C.Capelo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Ancaster, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,787
Trader Rating: 113 (100%+)
Talking New Losi 8 conversion

Hi everyone,
I read through most of the posts on this thread...excellent info BTW.
I would just like some opinions on which Neu motor I should use?

I recently purchased a new Losi 8ight race roller. I'm pretty much set on using the Losi conversion kit, CC Monster Max ESC and a Flight power 4S 5000mah EVO25 Lipo.

Any ideas of to which Neu motor...I've heard of using the 1512 or a 1515. I'd prefer to be on the safe side and run a cooler motor but would still like some longer run times so efficiency is important.

Let me know what you guys think?

Thanks
C.Capelo is offline  
Old 10-10-2008, 05:39 AM
  #273  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (12)
 
badassrevo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Roaming Shores, Ohio
Posts: 3,324
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Neu 1512/2.5d/f with a 14tooth pinion.
badassrevo is offline  
Old 10-10-2008, 05:47 AM
  #274  
Tech Master
iTrader: (113)
 
C.Capelo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Ancaster, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,787
Trader Rating: 113 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by badassrevo View Post
Neu 1512/2.5d/f with a 14tooth pinion.
What kind of runtimes do you get with that motor and your 4S 5000 Lipo? How are the temps of the motor and ESC?

Thanks
C.Capelo is offline  
Old 10-10-2008, 06:13 AM
  #275  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (12)
 
badassrevo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Roaming Shores, Ohio
Posts: 3,324
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

20+ on a small track, 15+ on a big track. 140 motor 120 esc and 110 battery
badassrevo is offline  
Old 10-10-2008, 09:12 AM
  #276  
Tech Master
 
RBMike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Santa Clara CA
Posts: 1,264
Default

Originally Posted by Cain View Post

I'm not using it on my Medusa but when I first got the medusa I put this cover on & it fit.
RBMike is offline  
Old 10-10-2008, 11:27 AM
  #277  
Tech Master
iTrader: (59)
 
DRRC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,515
Trader Rating: 59 (98%+)
Default

[QUOTE=spcpicard;4922771]I am using this:
http://www.horizonhobby.com/Products...ProdID=EFLA229
to connect the 5000 4cell losi lipo to
http://www.b-p-p.com/product.php?pro...&cat=27&page=1
which connects directly to the hyperion chargers.

works perfectly for me. For the 4s adapter you plug your balancing tap all the way to one side and don't use one of the pins, just line up the red wire.

The losi balancing plug DOES fit the TP adapter, it just that the TP taps don't fit the hyperion, so you have to either get a TP adapter that fits the hyperion (which they do make, listed below) or if you already have an adapter ( like I did) just get this adapter which lets you connect the TP taps to the EFL taps which most of the batteries like Zippy, venom, common sense and several others use.

If you use the hyperion, your best bet is to get the two adapters that I listed above and you will be able to balance most lipos on the market, expecially since the charger included the hyperion taps that cover the other ones.QUOTE]

great info guys thanks alot
I will be ordering the losi plugs since I already have the JST connector
now I can concentrate more on my race tom
thanks again
DRRC is offline  
Old 10-10-2008, 11:05 PM
  #278  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (14)
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 242
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

Well I went to run my e 8ight Monday and it was working fine until about 3 minutes into the run I cased a small jump and suddenly it was like the system went to 50% power. I thought it may have been something loose so I brought it back home and looked over it. Took it back today and it was doing the same thing, but after about a half a lap it came back to life and was full power again, but then a few seconds later it would loose it again, this went on for about 3 or 4 mins and I came in and checked the temps and the motor was 204! Anyone has any suggestions?
spcpicard is offline  
Old 10-11-2008, 06:00 AM
  #279  
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 46
Default

i would check your connections for shorts ....maybe even take the motor apart and clean it you might have a small rock or dirt or something binding inside the can .It also could be something as simple as gear mesh being set wrong also, really hard to tell unless you see the problem frist hand .bert
russo11218 is offline  
Old 10-11-2008, 08:19 PM
  #280  
Tech Master
iTrader: (16)
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 1,578
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default Novak combo

I purchased the Novak HV Pro 7.5 combo to intall in my losi 8ight conversion. While installing the motor I noticed the shaft is barely long enough to mount the pinion gear once installed. I can't tell for sure but the Losi 1/8 motors appear to have a longer shaft. Has anyone tried using different motors with the Losi conversion? Will other motors fit the Losi conversion kit?
zipperfoot is offline  
Old 10-11-2008, 08:21 PM
  #281  
Tech Master
iTrader: (16)
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 1,578
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default Losi Conversion Kit

I purchased the Losi 8ight electric conversion for my Losi 8ight recently. All went together fine until I tried to install the motor. The motor mount consists of two aluminum pieces. I mounted the motor to the first piece then tried to slide the assembly into the mount. It would not slide into position. I found out that the two pieces do not align correctly and are not flush against the motor. The machining seems to be slighty off.

Did I miss something or has anyone else come across this issue. The parts I am referring to are #9198 and #9199 as listed on the kit.
zipperfoot is offline  
Old 10-12-2008, 07:56 AM
  #282  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (7)
 
air8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Hutch, KS
Posts: 5,748
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Can the Losi ESC drive the NEU motors? I have no idea what the Losi motors are but the NEU's are a 4-pole correct?
air8 is offline  
Old 10-12-2008, 10:32 AM
  #283  
TLRacing
 
Todd Hodge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: California
Posts: 1,679
Default

Originally Posted by air8 View Post
Can the Losi ESC drive the NEU motors? I have no idea what the Losi motors are but the NEU's are a 4-pole correct?
Yes the Losi 1/8 ESC can drive the Neu motors. Losi motors are 4 pole as well.
Todd Hodge is offline  
Old 10-12-2008, 10:33 AM
  #284  
TLRacing
 
Todd Hodge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: California
Posts: 1,679
Default

Originally Posted by spcpicard View Post
Well I went to run my e 8ight Monday and it was working fine until about 3 minutes into the run I cased a small jump and suddenly it was like the system went to 50% power. I thought it may have been something loose so I brought it back home and looked over it. Took it back today and it was doing the same thing, but after about a half a lap it came back to life and was full power again, but then a few seconds later it would loose it again, this went on for about 3 or 4 mins and I came in and checked the temps and the motor was 204! Anyone has any suggestions?
It sounds like you may be overgeared for your track. If you are geared 45/16, the stock ratio that comes on the 8E, try gearing down to a 14T
Todd Hodge is offline  
Old 10-12-2008, 01:26 PM
  #285  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (14)
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 242
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by T. Hodge View Post
It sounds like you may be overgeared for your track. If you are geared 45/16, the stock ratio that comes on the 8E, try gearing down to a 14T
Thanks Todd, But I never ran the system with the 16t that it came with, I put in a 14t in before I ran it.
spcpicard is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.