R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road

Old 08-10-2008, 10:16 PM   #1
Tech Regular

Default Top-end 2s Lipo for 1/10 B4 racing: PQ-5000RXQ or TrakPower 4900 or Orion?

Hi,

I need to get (my first) 2s Lipo pack for use with my RC10B4 with Mamba Max 5700. I want to get into racing, and this will be my car for it. I'm still a beginner at most of this.

Anyway, I've come to terms with the conclusion that I should get an expensive "premium quality" lipo pack right away, rather than trying to save some money and end up getting a better pack later anyway.

I'm willing to spend $100-200 and I'm looking for something with at least 4000-5000 mAh capacity, and 25C+ discharge. I want it to last me a long time with good care taken, so I won't need to buy another Lipo for 1/10 cars in a month.

My main choice was the TrakPower 4900 2s 25C hard-case gold brick pack. It seems that it gets the best reviews from people as a high quality pack, with good punch and great support from the company. A couple ppl have recommended it to me, and I've seen it often at the track.

However, a few things put me off about it. It doesn't even come with wires for dis/charging and balancer plug. Gotta buy those separately. Also, some places seem to list it as a 20C rather than 25C discharge. Its recommended charge is only 1C, although official site lists 2C as max quick charge rate. It's probably an older pack that's been around for a couple years, right?

On the other hand, I've run into this Enerland/PolyQuest battery: PQ-5000RXQ 5000 30C discharge hard-cased.