R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road

Old 07-31-2008, 02:08 AM   #1
Tech Master

Default Taking the next step in off-road

So, even though I'm still admittedly green and as a rookie, I'm going out there every weekend to improve my driving skills and learn how to tune my truck for the track's conditions...but I'm thinking toward the future and wanted some expert input. Truck was recommended as the starting point, due to being easier for a beginner to drive. Should a person graduating from rookie status and entering into standard stock driving consider switching to buggy? It seems like buggies always smoke trucks in the mixed stock club races I've seen, but I don't know if that's simply driver skill, or if it's the fact that they're lighter/more nimble...or maybe a combination. Would two drivers of equal skill, one with a B4 and one with a T4, be evenly matched, for instance?

I'm just curious what people think about the "upgrade path" in off-road RC racing.

The impetus for this post is all the info and shots I've seen of the Hot Bodies D2. It looks sweet, and I have to admit I kinda like the styling of a buggy a bit more than the truck. The Slash is how a truck ought to look...stadium trucks look a little goofy, to me...not that I don't thoroughly enjoy my T4, I do. Except when I'm building shocks...
kdeselms is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2008, 05:31 AM   #2
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 23 (100%+)

That was kind of the idea behind the trucks, being easier to drive and better handling. The size of the trucks and their tires should make them a little easier to drive and more stable. Thats what I've always thought. I have a Losi truck and a buggy. I think my buggy is a lot more nimble, but I would not say its easier to drive at all.
jla8874 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2008, 06:09 AM   #3
Tech Fanatic

Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)