R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-28-2008, 03:11 AM   #1
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 7
Default Novak GTB running forward no reason!

Hi, I just wired up my Novak GTB 7.5 to a spektrum SR3000rx and it runs forward for no reason.
When disconnected from the receiver it is fine. But as soon as I hook it up it takes off!
I've also tried another spektrum receiver that came with my DX3R and same problem.

I've tried binding the transmitter and I can overcome the forward drive by trimming the brakes all the way on. This gives me normal forward drive control but obviously isn't ideal. Also if I were to loose signal it would just take off. Very weird.

I've tried resetting the profiles as well as adjusting profiles to all the profiles with no luck.

I'm really stumped and Need help PLEASSEE!!! I hate not being able to fix it myself, especially as it's sitting in my just built B44 and am itching to run it.
metromadman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2008, 03:40 AM   #2
Tech Regular
 
MattWebb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 320
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Hmm. What happens if you plug a servo into that channel on the receiver?

(move the ESC to channel 1, or the aux batt plug on the receiver, or ideally use a battery box with 4 AA's if you have one, to power the receiver/servo.)
__________________
www.teamadrenaline.net - your home for West Australia r/c race results and gossip
MattWebb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2008, 04:41 AM   #3
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 7
Default same thing

Just tried swapping the plugs around and same thing, if I run the esc in the steering output it takes off as well. Will try the batt pack tomorrow when wife is off my back about bedtime!

Even tried using only the ESC plugged in by itself
metromadman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2008, 04:44 AM   #4
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 7
Default

What really bugs me is that all the other functions seem to work fine. So it's not like it has had a major malfuction. It's like neutral has been set 25% into the forward drive.
metromadman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2008, 04:59 AM   #5
Tech Elite
 
jlfx car audio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: jackson,tn
Posts: 3,363
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Default

the gtb in my turing car is doing the exact same thing all of the suddin i have reset the esc several times but withno luck i have just trimed it out with the radio i am running a M11 so i know it cant be the radio it dosnt do it with any other of my rc cars
jlfx car audio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2008, 05:16 AM   #6
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 7
Default

that sucks! I'm mostly worried about losing signal and the car shooting off into a kid or tree and exploding. I hope there is an answer out there. I'm going to try calling novak. Though being in Australia it'll be hard to stay up. Let me know if you find any fixes too.
metromadman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2008, 06:22 AM   #7
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 343
Default

sounds like you just need to go through the one touch set up on the esc. Make sure you have the throttle end points set at 100% before you do it.
__________________
"It's like his brain is running a 64p spur and 48p pinion, sometimes it will engage and work but mostly it just makes a terrible noise"
Stallard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2008, 08:56 AM   #8
The Evicerator
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Irvine, CA
Posts: 4,142
Default

As mentioned I recommend performing the one-touch setup once again.

the Spektrum system seems to "reassign" the signal that it outputs from the transmitter ... thus the old settings that you had are probably the reason why you are seeing odd behavior.
__________________
Steve Weiss
TEAM ASSOCIATED -- REEDY -- SANWA -- PROTOFORM -- 1UP Racing -- ActivRC -- P1 BRAND -- TEAM KINWALD -- TEAM STEVE INTERNATIONAL
Steve Weiss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2008, 03:31 PM   #9
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 7
Default

I'll give it another go resetting everything again.
I did reset my transmitter and tried the one touch
on the gtb before, but hopefully this time it will work.

Is there another way to reset the gtb than the one touch set up?

Also is there a reset on the spektrum receiver?
metromadman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2008, 04:42 PM   #10
Tech Elite
 
K_King's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 4,196
Trader Rating: 39 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to K_King
Default

Id also try a new on off switch, as weird as that sounds it fixed an issue I had once.
__________________
TLR - Spektrum - Pro-Line - Team Orion - Stickit1 - Schelle
K_King is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2008, 05:06 AM   #11
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 7
Default

balanced out the forward drive now when connected to the transmitter. It was set to zero in the throw which was wrong for the gtb.

Only problem now is when I power down the transmitter it still shoots into drive. I ran out of time to keep tinkering tonight, the wife is sick of hearing the engine spool up! Seems like the settings for the failsafe mode is off in the receiver.

Back to the drawing board tomorrow.

More reading on how to lock the receiver into the new settings will help I guess.

Thanks for the help so far guys.
metromadman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2008, 06:21 AM   #12
Tech Fanatic
 
dski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 764
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by metromadman View Post
Only problem now is when I power down the transmitter it still shoots into drive. I ran out of time to keep tinkering tonight, the wife is sick of hearing the engine spool up! Seems like the settings for the failsafe mode is off in the receiver.

More reading on how to lock the receiver into the new settings will help I guess.
Does sound like failsafe settings now. Rebind the DX3R and pay attention to the trigger settings while binding. The failsafe is settings are set by the trigger/wheel position while binding.
dski is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Reason for stalling nyczbubba Nitro On-Road 1 09-28-2006 12:43 PM
getting out of rc for a good reason LOSIMANJRXS R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 60 07-13-2006 11:42 PM
running 7 cell with novak ss 5800??? Valentin.H Electric On-Road 4 02-13-2005 12:04 PM
Is anyone running the New Novak XRS? LosiFromHell986 Electric Off-Road 2 04-25-2004 11:22 PM
Novak GT7-Running with switch off-wideopen JubJub Electric Off-Road 6 08-14-2003 05:07 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 04:21 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net