R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-16-2008, 06:34 PM   #1
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 343
Default CC Mamba Max Help!

I just bought a Castle Creation Mamba Max 5700 system. It has been very easy to use and makes a ton of power but I am having problems with the voltage cutoff.

I am running lipos and set the cutoff at 6.4 but it never cutoff and my pack got very close to being totaly dead. (Luckly it is fine)

I then set it to 6.6 and to test it ran a 3600mah NiMH stick pack. It did finaly cutoff but not until the truck was almost crawling.


Is this normal? What do others set the cutoff at for a 2 cell lipo?


Any help would be greatly appreciated.


Thanks
Lockhart
Stallard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2008, 07:05 PM   #2
Tech Elite
 
Flying Monkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ringgold, GA
Posts: 4,452
Trader Rating: 54 (100%+)
Default

Im using the Auto-lipo cut off. Ive also been told if you drained a lipo far enough to be crawling....it isnt any good anymore. but that just what ive been told.
__________________
MONKEY BUSINESS RACING
Flinging poo at a track near you! Winning hearts and minds everywhere!
www.graphicmonkeydesigns.com
Brooksphotodesign.net
Flying Monkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2008, 08:05 PM   #3
wyd
Tech Legend
 
wyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Castle Mamba Max Pro. Feel its power!!!!!!!!!!
Posts: 21,141
Trader Rating: 50 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to wyd
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stallard View Post
I just bought a Castle Creation Mamba Max 5700 system. It has been very easy to use and makes a ton of power but I am having problems with the voltage cutoff.

I am running lipos and set the cutoff at 6.4 but it never cutoff and my pack got very close to being totaly dead. (Luckly it is fine)

I then set it to 6.6 and to test it ran a 3600mah NiMH stick pack. It did finaly cutoff but not until the truck was almost crawling.


Is this normal? What do others set the cutoff at for a 2 cell lipo?


Any help would be greatly appreciated.


Thanks
Lockhart
I don't use the voltage cutoff. From what I heard from others you shouldn't depend on a voltage cutoff from any company. Better to check it ever so often to see where your at.
__________________
Castle Creations (Since 2005) Just awesome products
Bumps & Jumps RC (Great Indoor facility for offroad and oval)
ST Racing Concepts (STRC)
Custom Works (Best Oval Cars around)
wyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2008, 09:13 PM   #4
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada
Posts: 265
Default

Have you updated to the latest firmware version via CastleLink? The download is on Castle's website.
shurcooL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2008, 09:25 PM   #5
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 343
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wyd View Post
I don't use the voltage cutoff. From what I heard from others you shouldn't depend on a voltage cutoff from any company. Better to check it ever so often to see where your at.
WOW

Hope that's not true!!

One of the reasons I bought the MM was because of the custom voltage cutoff. I bash very little, so I have never worried about a cutoff but I can't seem to stop running my slash


I have used lipo cutoff in CC and other's air ESCs for years, I guess the constant on and off of a car esc could make getting an accurate read on batt. voltage hard?


Thanks for the input.
Stallard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2008, 09:27 PM   #6
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 343
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shurcooL View Post
Have you updated to the latest firmware version via CastleLink? The download is on Castle's website.
Thanks

Sure did, I was very impressed by how easy all the software is to hook up and use, sure beats the blinking lights and tones
Stallard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2008, 03:00 AM   #7
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 7
Default

Hi im interested in getting the mamba max system too. Would like to know if you have experienced any cogging since the latest firmware update?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Stallard View Post
Thanks

Sure did, I was very impressed by how easy all the software is to hook up and use, sure beats the blinking lights and tones
meowdog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2008, 03:43 AM   #8
Tech Elite
 
Bugle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 2,082
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

They fixed the cogging. Only happens on my crappier batteries probably because i'm running a 9000kv motor.
__________________
http://bugleboyracing.com/

http://stivesrc.org.au/
Bugle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2008, 04:12 AM   #9
Tech Fanatic
 
tdeal823's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: North West, Ohio
Posts: 951
Trader Rating: 30 (100%+)
Default

How old is your Mamba Max?
What type of batteries are you using?
You do have castle link correct?
So you can see on the screen that the setting are correct, Right?
are their any loose wires or bad solder joints?
Some of the older mambas had firmware problems, But if you updated the esc you should be good.
Hum....
This is all I can think of. maybe someone with more castle knowledge will find the thread.
good luck.
tdeal823 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2008, 05:08 AM   #10
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Evansville, IN
Posts: 671
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

My two Mamba's seem to just cut power delivery to motor instead of totally "cutting out" or becoming inoperable. The esc almost acts like it tries to keep battery voltage above to set cut off while still remaining operable. I'm sure if the vehicle was driven enough at this reduced output the vehicle would eventually go into full "cut off" though.
JLinney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2008, 06:46 AM   #11
wyd
Tech Legend
 
wyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Castle Mamba Max Pro. Feel its power!!!!!!!!!!
Posts: 21,141
Trader Rating: 50 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to wyd
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stallard View Post
WOW

Hope that's not true!!

One of the reasons I bought the MM was because of the custom voltage cutoff. I bash very little, so I have never worried about a cutoff but I can't seem to stop running my slash


I have used lipo cutoff in CC and other's air ESCs for years, I guess the constant on and off of a car esc could make getting an accurate read on batt. voltage hard?


Thanks for the input.
The other thing you could try is setting it around 7volts just to see if it cuts off for you and how it feels when it cuts off. This way your safe and no chance of hurting your lipo.

I feel you pain with the Slash. I run are shop demo Slash with the 7700kv MM and it is alot of fun!!!!!!!!
__________________
Castle Creations (Since 2005) Just awesome products
Bumps & Jumps RC (Great Indoor facility for offroad and oval)
ST Racing Concepts (STRC)
Custom Works (Best Oval Cars around)
wyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2008, 06:56 AM   #12
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 343
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by meowdog View Post
Hi im interested in getting the mamba max system too. Would like to know if you have experienced any cogging since the latest firmware update?
I have ran a assortment of batteries in mine, 2 cell lipo, 1700mah NiCd, 3600 NiMH and have had no cogging what so ever.

Quote:
Originally Posted by tdeal823 View Post
How old is your Mamba Max? It is now 6 days old
What type of batteries are you using? Mostly Trakpower 4900mah lipos.
You do have castle link correct? Sure do, it has been easy to use.
So you can see on the screen that the setting are correct, Right? Correct
are their any loose wires or bad solder joints? Checked all connections
Some of the older mambas had firmware problems, But if you updated the esc you should be good.
Hum....
This is all I can think of. maybe someone with more castle knowledge will find the thread.
good luck.

Thanks for all your help, more input is appreciated.


Quote:
Originally Posted by JLinney View Post
My two Mamba's seem to just cut power delivery to motor instead of totally "cutting out" or becoming inoperable. The esc almost acts like it tries to keep battery voltage above to set cut off while still remaining operable. I'm sure if the vehicle was driven enough at this reduced output the vehicle would eventually go into full "cut off" though.
I kind of felt that with my NiMH test but with my lipo it drove like a raped ape until I finaly quit, when I checked the lipo on my balancer I got a low voltage error, so I checked it with my digital meter and it was 6.06V.

I am going to keep tyring higher and higher cuttoffs, hopefully I will find one that works?


Thanks for everyones help.
__________________
"It's like his brain is running a 64p spur and 48p pinion, sometimes it will engage and work but mostly it just makes a terrible noise"
Stallard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2008, 07:26 AM   #13
Tech Fanatic
 
sport10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Pensacola, FL
Posts: 969
Default

Usually you set your cutoff at 6V for a two cell lipo. You can take them down to 2.5 a cell with a hard cut but 3v a cell is safer. Try setting the voltage cut a 6v and monitor the battery and see if it goes into cut. The problem might lie with the way the lipo battery discharges. The voltage curve of a lipo stays pretty flat until you reach a certain voltage and it really falls off fast. Also, update your firmware and see if that fixes the problem. I have had updates that did not fully take using the castlelink in the past.
__________________
Hot Bodies VE8 w/ RX8-1900 combo
Associated B44
Associated B6
Associated TC7.1
Durango DESC410V2 Pro
sport10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2008, 08:33 AM   #14
Tech Champion
 
abailey21's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: SoCal
Posts: 5,222
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Default

+1, Better be safe than sorry

Quote:
Originally Posted by wyd View Post
I don't use the voltage cutoff. From what I heard from others you shouldn't depend on a voltage cutoff from any company. Better to check it ever so often to see where your at.
__________________
K.C.C.O.
abailey21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2008, 11:41 AM   #15
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada
Posts: 265
Default

How does *not* using a built-in Lipo safety measure make you safer from damaging your Lipos?
shurcooL is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mamba Micro Pro, mamba 8000kv, Spektrum 3001 rx, heat sink pinoyboy R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 05-13-2008 06:19 PM
Mamba 4200 + Mamba 25 Shawner85 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 0 01-30-2008 05:54 PM
Mamba 5400 with mamba 25 esc for sale josh the 2nd R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 4 01-14-2007 04:11 PM
MAMBA COMPETITION X 2080 and data cable / mamba 6800kv with esc tmaxxking R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 11 05-23-2006 10:59 AM
Mamba 8000/Mamba 25 esc coolkide R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 11 12-23-2004 05:48 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 12:00 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net