Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road
Tamiya DF-03 type >

Tamiya DF-03 type

Tamiya DF-03 type

Old 12-02-2011, 06:34 PM
  #1021  
Tech Initiate
 
K10wN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Outback - Australia
Posts: 38
Default

Originally Posted by Jammin23 View Post
Are you on Tamiyaclub as that yellow df looks very familiar!
LOL It should be pretty obvious. There's only one DF03MS like it. Using my Castle powered Fox as an avatar in TC now.
K10wN is offline  
Old 01-02-2012, 05:14 PM
  #1022  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (9)
 
CamZH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 154
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Having some issues with my DF03...

Its really motor heavy !

I've ran a few motors in it, mostly a Super Stock RZ.
I had it geared 26/85 with the tamiya gears.

I've changed it this weekend to 22/84 with 48p gears.
Now using a HPI 15T brushed can.

In both cases the car is ok speed wise (not fast, but ok) but I've getting excessive motor temps, but can't find anything particularly wrong in the drive train.

Is this a common thing with this chassis ??
CamZH is offline  
Old 01-02-2012, 07:56 PM
  #1023  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (3)
 
forwardonly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Rolla Missouri
Posts: 622
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

The DF-03 does not have much air flowing over the motor so it is prone to higher motor temps. With only a 15T Motor, you should be able to operate in a decent temp range though. Make sure your gear mesh is not too tight and that the drive train will roll freely with no pinion on. I would think your gearing would be pretty close but I have not been running brushed for a while.

Good luck!
forwardonly is offline  
Old 01-02-2012, 08:23 PM
  #1024  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (9)
 
CamZH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 154
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Thanks for the tips,
I'll pull the pinion and make sure she rolls along ok.
The mesh should be ok, i'd like to think i'm pretty good at setting it right

I have the Keen Hawk body, so i might try and open up the duct at the top to encourage some air flow to the motor.

I've also got a 13T Hobbywing combo inbound, so will try and see if that helps.
CamZH is offline  
Old 01-05-2012, 06:55 PM
  #1025  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (3)
 
forwardonly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Rolla Missouri
Posts: 622
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by CamZH View Post
Thanks for the tips,
I'll pull the pinion and make sure she rolls along ok.
The mesh should be ok, i'd like to think i'm pretty good at setting it right

I have the Keen Hawk body, so i might try and open up the duct at the top to encourage some air flow to the motor.

I've also got a 13T Hobbywing combo inbound, so will try and see if that helps.
The problem really lies in the design of the motor placement. Air just can not get to it. There are some small vent holes in the chassis but not sufficient to keep air moving on the motor. I ran 19T-13T motors in mine though and was fine. If you get the gearing right, it should be OK as long as nothing is binding anywhere.
forwardonly is offline  
Old 03-08-2012, 10:55 AM
  #1026  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (4)
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Norway
Posts: 351
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default FS-7039

Hi !
Just wanted to inform you that RC-Champ in Japan have the main slippershaft from Five Star in stock.
Just send them an email.
Price wasnt bad either
ridgeracer is offline  
Old 04-06-2012, 09:09 PM
  #1027  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (7)
 
Nologicone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 427
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Hi,

Got a question and would need some help from Tamiya owners.

Would these Tamiya #53080 Steel pinions fit on a 1/8" (3.175mm) motor shaft?

All I could find out after a few days of searching is that the bore is 3mm and I want to know if it is 3mm exact. Searching for specs on Tamiya motor shaft dimension had also proved to be almost impossible.

Thanks in advance! I'm desperately looking for 19T & 20T mod 0.5 steel pinions for my Mini 8ight with a 28mm brushless on a 1/8" shaft. Novak aluminium ones just could not handle it.
Nologicone is offline  
Old 04-19-2012, 08:40 AM
  #1028  
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 2
Default

Test..
Tip42069 is offline  
Old 04-19-2012, 08:44 AM
  #1029  
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 2
Default

Apologies. my other phone would not actually send anything. Want to put dirt hawg tires and wheels.on my beast, but worried ill either rip the car apart from the weight.of them, or just keep ruining slipper clutches with my 120a sensored 8.5turn set up.... ive been doing enough repairs with this set up but would like more high speed traction. xheers
Tip42069 is offline  
Old 09-26-2012, 01:15 AM
  #1030  
Tech Master
iTrader: (6)
 
ford_racing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Canberra
Posts: 1,480
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Long time no posting for me...

My DF 03 has the dreaded stripped gears in the rear gearbox. Running a 13.5 Bl w/ LRP SXX.
and I know I'm not alone, I have a friend with 4 of these and they all have the same issue.

Is there a more permanent solution to purchasing the standard kit parts?
Has Tamiya made upgrade parts to fix this issue? How about another manufacturer?

I recall hearing something about using a pair of 18 tooth 0.6 module pinions that have been 'bored' out to 5mm of the shaft as a possible solution. Any other suggestions?

Thanks
ford_racing is offline  
Old 09-26-2012, 01:45 AM
  #1031  
Tech Master
iTrader: (21)
 
Sith Lord's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Canberra, ACT, Australia
Posts: 1,405
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by ford_racing View Post
Long time no posting for me...

My DF 03 has the dreaded stripped gears in the rear gearbox. Running a 13.5 Bl w/ LRP SXX.
and I know I'm not alone, I have a friend with 4 of these and they all have the same issue.

Is there a more permanent solution to purchasing the standard kit parts?
Has Tamiya made upgrade parts to fix this issue? How about another manufacturer?

I recall hearing something about using a pair of 18 tooth 0.6 module pinions that have been 'bored' out to 5mm of the shaft as a possible solution. Any other suggestions?

Thanks
Ben, I haven't got a df03 anymore so haven't read in detail, but check out a couple threads over on RC Crawer http://www.rccrawler.com/forum/non-c...ed-df03ra.html
I think they've found some solutions
Sith Lord is offline  
Old 09-26-2012, 07:11 PM
  #1032  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (13)
 
valk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Victoria, BC
Posts: 2,097
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

joining the club with a second hand df03 thats more blue than black lol. just got a good deal on one with the 3racing cf chassis and a ton of blue stuff. excited to do the RA conversion to it. just arms, cvds, shock towers and shocks?
valk is offline  
Old 09-27-2012, 03:27 AM
  #1033  
Tech Master
iTrader: (6)
 
ford_racing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Canberra
Posts: 1,480
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Sith Lord View Post
Ben, I haven't got a df03 anymore so haven't read in detail, but check out a couple threads over on RC Crawer http://www.rccrawler.com/forum/non-c...ed-df03ra.html
I think they've found some solutions
Thanks Ian
I have had a look over there and think I have found a solution. Am ordering some parts and will see what comes of the fix.
ford_racing is offline  
Old 09-27-2012, 06:22 AM
  #1034  
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: France
Posts: 25
Default

Hi,

I'm a newbie here.

Just sayin: a 7T delta wound (8700kv) motor in a DF03 is not such a good idea
megastef is offline  
Old 09-27-2012, 08:40 AM
  #1035  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (13)
 
valk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Victoria, BC
Posts: 2,097
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

alright. so having hacked away at the rear most aluminum bulkhead of the 3racing conversion to make standard lipos fit, finding out my d3 7.5 is a no go unless i either cut into that bulkhead even more to make room for the posts, or cut the transmission case support up top to make room for it. or make new holes in the motor mount.

are there any recommended motors for use with this car? i might buy a new one to live in it. something in a 6.5 range.
valk is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.