Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road
Tamiya DF-03 type >

Tamiya DF-03 type

Tamiya DF-03 type

Old 02-27-2009, 04:11 PM
  #421  
Tech Elite
 
streetracer745's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 2,291
Default

Man the buggy looks great. Please take my advice and seal that chassis. You dont want it splitting or anything like that! Thats a rare piece and to get all of that for only $125... You better take care of that
streetracer745 is offline  
Old 02-27-2009, 10:20 PM
  #422  
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 561
Default

Originally Posted by valyau2002 View Post
Best of luck with the DB-01, exciting times ahead!

ps I wouldn't mind to know how it goes for you as I'm thinking down the same lines.

Val
Well fellas, I finally finished the DB01. If it doesn't rain tomorrow I plan on giving it it's first shakedown to compare to my fully optioned DF03, but for now have a look at my new '09 livery...

http://www.rctech.net/forum/5490175-post604.html



- Paulie
pgeldz is offline  
Old 02-28-2009, 02:36 AM
  #423  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
iTrader: (13)
 
tom_chang79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Southern California
Posts: 2,591
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Looks great Paulie, I love your paint scheme, very original...

mj, your buggy looks sweet! Can't tell by the pic, but your chassis looks sealed, if not, run some CA along the edges to seal them as streetracer said...

I don't know if it happens on your chassis, but one of the things I noticed on mine is that if you trim the edges of the body along the guidelines, the sides doesn't quite come down further enough. With the stock tub, it's not an issue since the sides of the tub makes up for the body not covering all the way down...

I've been thinking about servo taping some scrap lexan along the edge to make a wall... Guess I'll do that with some scraps after trimming my next wing for it (I was using some AE wing on mine and it's getting chewed up).
tom_chang79 is offline  
Old 03-01-2009, 09:03 AM
  #424  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (8)
 
mjderstine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 413
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

the edges are sealed already. so no worries there.

i am going to have to make some custom sides for the chassis out of some old body parts since i want to keep at much dirst as possible out of the inside.
mjderstine is offline  
Old 03-01-2009, 09:27 AM
  #425  
Tech Elite
 
streetracer745's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 2,291
Default

I have heard that if you heat a small line in the lexan enough you can bend it really easily and it will stay whenever it cools... And heres a small trick to keep your carbon chassis nice and shiney and somewhat new looking. On my onroad chassis I get packaging tape and make a layer covering my entire chassis. I take an Xacto knife around all holes and then fold it in so it protects the edges a little bit as well. I havent gotten a new scratch on my chassis since I started doing that. You do have to take it off every few runs cause itll collect small pieces of dirt and will begin to tear after a while. But its cheap and easy and one roll will do hundreds of chassis...
streetracer745 is offline  
Old 03-02-2009, 06:30 AM
  #426  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (8)
 
mjderstine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 413
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

well, i got the steering all worked out. just had to move the servo to the other side of the mounting tabs. now i have a proper angle for steering. the servo arm was being used just because i dont have a JR servo saver at the moment. once i get one, i will have to mount an extension on the saver so that it will clear the top plate of the chassis. should be pretty easy though.

here are some pics.











this was the before pic!

mjderstine is offline  
Old 03-02-2009, 06:35 AM
  #427  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (8)
 
mjderstine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 413
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

can anyone tell me the width of the chassis? i am trying to see if i can retro fit a different body. i am looking at bodies that are 5.5inches wide
mjderstine is offline  
Old 03-02-2009, 08:39 AM
  #428  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
iTrader: (13)
 
tom_chang79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Southern California
Posts: 2,591
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Are you referring to the KM chassis in particular? I'd measure my 3Racing one if I could, but my stuff is in the garage and inaccessible at the moment since my house is getting remodeled.

I could've swore someone else on this thread (or was it on oople) was running the KM chassis as well...

mjderstine, all I have to say is... looking good!

streetracer, how's your keen hawk going? I thought you bought a kit and was going to transfer some of the stuff you had on your old df-03 onto it?
tom_chang79 is offline  
Old 03-02-2009, 10:30 AM
  #429  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (8)
 
mjderstine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 413
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

since i have the KM, yeah i guess i am, but its the same width as the stocker, at least its within a couple mm.

just gonna try to fit a different buggy body on there and see what i can come up with.
mjderstine is offline  
Old 03-02-2009, 02:50 PM
  #430  
Tech Elite
 
streetracer745's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 2,291
Default

You could always measure it yourself... And I was planning on getting a Keen Hawk from rcmushroom but havent yet. I found a good deal on batteries and since I absolutely needed those(had none until now) I went ahead and got them. Whenever I can make up that $125 that I spent on those I will likely buy the Keen Hawk because all of my other trucks and cars are running fine(hopefully will be in a few weeks as well)
streetracer745 is offline  
Old 03-02-2009, 03:05 PM
  #431  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (8)
 
mjderstine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 413
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

i could measure it myself, if i could teleport home from work, but since im at work and have access to the internet, i figured i would ask and maybe someone would know.

no worries man, i am already trying to figure out what it is in my head, but i will use my tape measure when i get home
mjderstine is offline  
Old 03-02-2009, 03:14 PM
  #432  
Tech Elite
 
streetracer745's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 2,291
Default

Good reason... Its basically 5in or 125mm wide.
streetracer745 is offline  
Old 03-03-2009, 06:37 AM
  #433  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (8)
 
mjderstine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 413
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

good to know, thanks again.
mjderstine is offline  
Old 03-03-2009, 08:32 AM
  #434  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
iTrader: (13)
 
tom_chang79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Southern California
Posts: 2,591
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

I've always wondered if the B4 body would fit. The Dark Impact body always reminded me of my old B4.
tom_chang79 is offline  
Old 03-03-2009, 08:53 AM
  #435  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (8)
 
mjderstine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 413
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

tha main goal is to be able to get an undertray to work with this. i want to keep the dirt outta the motor and outta the elecs.

my thought was to screw the undertray to the bottom of the chassis, and use velcro to secure the lid to the undertray. cut some vent holes were needed, and wha-bamm. i have a stealth DF03 in a recognizable body.
mjderstine is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.