R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-30-2008, 02:50 PM   #1
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: en tu amigas pantalones
Posts: 1,605
Trader Rating: 16 (94%+)
Questions?? lipo?

im going lipo from nmih. what do i need to know about it and what else do i need other than a lipo sac? i have a duratrax ice charger. i heard somethin about a lipo balancer? whats that?
BSS07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2008, 02:55 PM   #2
Tech Addict
 
rjs_13203's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: lowell, nc
Posts: 725
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

if they r not balanced right they can overcharge(fire)or over discharge(battery no good anymore). depending on what battery u get there r alot of balancers out there.
rjs_13203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2008, 03:07 PM   #3
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: en tu amigas pantalones
Posts: 1,605
Trader Rating: 16 (94%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rjs_13203 View Post
if they r not balanced right they can overcharge(fire)or over discharge(battery no good anymore). depending on what battery u get there r alot of balancers out there.
say if i were to get an orion 4800 and 3600
BSS07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2008, 03:12 PM   #4
Team Tekin
 
yzracer758's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Tekin HQ
Posts: 3,030
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BSS07 View Post
say if i were to get an orion 4800 and 3600
Orion says that balancing it's batteries are not necessary. Still not a bad idea to balance every once in a while for security.
__________________
Tekin, Inc. | XRAY | RC America | Hudy | Protek RC | Exotek Racing | Factory-RC Products | Proline Racing | Avid RC | Vision Racing Products | Paint By Smiley | SOR Graphics |
Jeremy Potter
yzracer758 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2008, 03:13 PM   #5
Tech Addict
 
rjs_13203's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: lowell, nc
Posts: 725
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

they have a 2mm bullet style plug that u can put any kind of balancer plug on u just need a balancer

balancer
http://www.maxamps.com/MA-Method-Balancer.htm

plug
http://maxamps.com/proddetail.php?pr...TI-GOLD&cat=34

these would work just fine, there r many othere options out there though. u just need to look around to see what u like. the max amps stuff i posted just seem really easy to use to me
rjs_13203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2008, 03:14 PM   #6
Tech Champion
 
Jason Pelletier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New York
Posts: 8,820
Trader Rating: 33 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BSS07 View Post
say if i were to get an orion 4800 and 3600
Dude don't bother, i been using my orions for 7 months and i don't use a balancer. You seen me race my batteries work perfectly. If you wanna balance them shizzles go see gweed he has one and it takes like 5 minutes to balance them.
__________________
Island Raceway & Hobby
Jason Pelletier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2008, 04:00 PM   #7
Suspended
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Monster
Posts: 920
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

yeah dude listen to johnny
B4 Racer1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2008, 06:43 PM   #8
Tech Fanatic
 
kuzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 948
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to kuzo
Default

I've got a few 2 year old 4800s that have never needed balancing. They still take a full charge too. Anyone want to buy a unused balancer???
kuzo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2008, 07:08 PM   #9
Tech Addict
 
beez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 678
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BSS07 View Post
say if i were to get an orion 4800 and 3600
If you're lazy like me, you would buy two of the same batts so that you can just set your charger and leave it the same all the time.
beez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2008, 02:29 AM   #10
Tech Regular
 
SN33KY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 290
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

do hardcase lipo's fit the t4, xxx-t, e-firestorm etc?
SN33KY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2008, 03:51 AM   #11
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Texas
Posts: 22
Default

Balancing your batteries???

I have been messing with Li-Ion & Li-Po cells for years and you MIGHT NOT need to balance them but BUTT YOU SHOULD! Maybe only ruin some a pack from over discharge? Maybe WORSE??? These cells are becoming safer but do some research before you decide not to balance them and become one of those stories of New safer chemistries are out therelike the A123 but those don`t have enough storage capacity yet for thier size & weight. In time..... Nitro Electric

Be safe not sorry!

Last edited by Kenster; 07-14-2008 at 04:03 AM.
Kenster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2008, 01:13 PM   #12
Tech Master
 
Bulldawg RC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,941
Trader Rating: 65 (99%+)
Default

My opinion is why not balance them, why take a chance. i have had nimh cells burn up on me from one cell overcharging in a pack. you can buy a balancer for pretty cheap. just my 2 cents.

http://www.BulldawgRC.com
__________________
Bulldawg R/C Batteries and Products
Nimh and Lipo Batteries and accessories
www.BulldawgRC.com
Team Driver for: Proline, Team Epic/Trinity, Hex Crew, Bulldawg R/C, Speed Demon Hobbies ~~~~TEAM CRUNCHY~~~~
Bulldawg RC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2008, 06:59 PM   #13
Suspended
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Monster
Posts: 920
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

what do you have to do different with a lipo then a nimh..
B4 Racer1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2008, 07:11 PM   #14
Tech Fanatic
 
kuzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 948
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to kuzo
Default

It is important to have a balancer available or at least have a way of charging each cell individually. However, even after 2 years on 2 of my packs my balancer won't even turn on in passive mode since the cells are so close still in both a partially discharged and fully charged state.

I'm of the opinion monitoring the packs before and after each charge with a multimeter is sufficient to catch problems before they arise.
kuzo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2008, 07:56 PM   #15
Suspended
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Monster
Posts: 920
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

how much do balancers cost...??
B4 Racer1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NIP Novak 5amp lipo regulator with volt monitor, NIP venom 1600mah lipo rx pack sharkman R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 1 06-10-2008 02:36 PM
LIPO CHARGER LIKE HYPERION AND LIPO BATTS AND MAYBE CHEAP 12TH SCALE jslider R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 1 02-16-2008 07:55 AM
FS TrakPower 7.4V 4900MAH Hardshell Lipo,TrakPowerBalancer,TrinityReference 4500 Lipo ffpm46 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 11 01-29-2008 06:11 PM
Pg 2 on Complete Sellout Motor rebuild Orion Lipo, peak Lipo 4800 and more gunlocators R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 18 10-08-2007 02:11 PM
Lipo charger with power supply and 2 cell lipo pack fweemindan R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 01-03-2007 11:51 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 09:38 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net