R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-14-2008, 06:29 AM   #1
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 292
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default Mamba Max with Sensored Motors

Anybody have experience with trying sensored motors with a Mamba Max, just leaving the sensor cable unplugged? I've heard mixed reports, but it's supposed to work ok. I just picked up a Hacker E40 5.5 turn (5800 kv) for my B44, haven't run it yet but it appears to be about as smooth as the mamba motors in just bench testing. Anyone else getting good results with a different sensored motor?
pullinteef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2008, 06:46 AM   #2
Tech Addict
 
scott54's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 693
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

HA! I chose the same...

I'm going to the ROAR Region 1 Championship race next weekend and I had to buy some new motors too... and I chose the same for my D4. I haven't tried anything other than my castle motors with my Mamba so I'm curious as well but from what I've heard, there should be no problems. It kills me to even try to use another motor because I'm so used to the smoothness and the power of my 5700 combo.. But the Hacker 5.5 seems to be a very close match on paper. Is the sensor wire prewired or is it removeable? Mine probably won't show up until Tuesday. I also bought the 6.5 which seems like a very close match to the 4600 for my T4.
__________________
TLR Racing - ARCS Speedway - B-Fast Racing - Dialed RC - G-Force
scott54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2008, 07:00 AM   #3
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 292
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Cool! I'll be at the same race in 4WD and electric 1/8. The sensor wire is not removable, so I just coiled it up and zip tied it, not a big deal. I even tried taking apart the end with the wires to see if they are removeable from the inside (or unsolderable) and it doesn't look like it's possible. I supposed you could cut it if you're sure you won't ever need them, but it fits ok coiled up. I will hopefully try it out today at Glenwoods club racing if we don't get rained out.
pullinteef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2008, 07:07 AM   #4
Tech Addict
 
scott54's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 693
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

I was up there for the trophy race a few months ago and had a blast. Those guys run a great program and they're very helpful. I smoked a speedo (before ever trying castle) and there must have been 6 escs thrown into my pits to run! There's 5 of us from Ashtabula making the way up there. What tires are you guys having luck with outside?
__________________
TLR Racing - ARCS Speedway - B-Fast Racing - Dialed RC - G-Force
scott54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2008, 12:16 PM   #5
Tech Addict
 
scott54's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 693
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Just cancelled my HACKER order!! Go read the WNYRC.com threads... They got the exception to allow Castle motors at the ROAR race!!
__________________
TLR Racing - ARCS Speedway - B-Fast Racing - Dialed RC - G-Force
scott54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2008, 12:47 PM   #6
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 292
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Yeah, I was there today when Drew got the word from the regional director about allowing them in the mod class. Too late to return mine. Oh well. We got rained out today, but ripped it around the small indoor dirt oval and it seemed pretty similar to the 5700.
pullinteef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2008, 01:17 PM   #7
Tech Regular
 
Low_E's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Flanders, Belgium
Posts: 357
Send a message via MSN to Low_E
Default

IMHO it should work.
It is only the ESC that needs the sensor to determine the position of the rotor and then calculate which of the three wires it has to "feed".
A sensorless ESC should be able to run any BL motor.
__________________
thou shall think twice or trice before hitting thee SEND-button
Low_E is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2008, 04:41 PM   #8
wyd
Tech Legend
 
wyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Castle Mamba Max Pro. Feel its power!!!!!!!!!!
Posts: 21,143
Trader Rating: 50 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to wyd
Default

If you want the Mamba to work at its best then you need run either the Castle motors or the Tekin sensorless series of motors. Those motors will work just like normal.

If your going to run sensored motors with the Mamba it will run them but it won't be perfect. More than likely on initial hit of the throttle it will hesitate some but once the car is moving it will work just like the Castle motors as far as smoothness goes. Any time you come to a stop and start up again it will hesitate.
__________________
Castle Creations (Since 2005) Just awesome products
Bumps & Jumps RC (Great Indoor facility for offroad and oval)
ST Racing Concepts (STRC)
Custom Works (Best Oval Cars around)
wyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2008, 04:54 PM   #9
Tech Regular
 
Low_E's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Flanders, Belgium
Posts: 357
Send a message via MSN to Low_E
Default

so I assume there is a difference in the build of the sensorless and the sensored motor?
Could you tell us what or how?
__________________
thou shall think twice or trice before hitting thee SEND-button
Low_E is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2008, 05:03 PM   #10
wyd
Tech Legend
 
wyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Castle Mamba Max Pro. Feel its power!!!!!!!!!!
Posts: 21,143
Trader Rating: 50 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to wyd
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Low_E View Post
so I assume there is a difference in the build of the sensorless and the sensored motor?
Could you tell us what or how?
I don't know as much about brushless as some but I can say that sensored and sensorless motors are different and built a little differently.

I think the hesitation might be less with the lower turn motors. From others I have talked with it seems like 13.5, 17.5 and 10.5 motors tend to hesitate more than the 7.5 or lower winds. I honestly don't know why but maybe because the lower winds spool up faster so the hesitation is less noticable.
__________________
Castle Creations (Since 2005) Just awesome products
Bumps & Jumps RC (Great Indoor facility for offroad and oval)
ST Racing Concepts (STRC)
Custom Works (Best Oval Cars around)
wyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2008, 07:56 PM   #11
Tech Regular
 
macr0w's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Charlotte N.C.
Posts: 493
Default

I tried to hook my extra MM up to my Vortex 5.5 in my XXX4-G+ while my LRP is out for repair and it didn't work worth a crap. I advanced the timing as far as it would go and it was slow as dirt and would not go into reverse.

I gave up and decided to work on my E-Maxx.
__________________
www.clearspotrecording.com
macr0w is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2008, 08:05 PM   #12
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: France
Posts: 259
Default

slotless design, the magnetic circuit is "behind" the coil, much less reluctance torque

Few picture of a slotless motor http://www.rc-monster.com/forum/show...4&postcount=10
Mister-T is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2008, 08:39 AM   #13
Tech Addict
 
scott54's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 693
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

[QUOTE=wyd;4539059]If you want the Mamba to work at its best then you need run either the Castle motors or the Tekin sensorless series of motors. Those motors will work just like normal.

[QUOTE]

I actually looked at those but they are not listed on the ROAR approved list. I found a lot of motors say "Meet ROAR Specifications" but they're not on the ROAR Approved list. Trinity's are like that too..
__________________
TLR Racing - ARCS Speedway - B-Fast Racing - Dialed RC - G-Force
scott54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2008, 09:46 AM   #14
Tech Regular
 
Low_E's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Flanders, Belgium
Posts: 357
Send a message via MSN to Low_E
Default

the CC-motors are not aproved because they can't be opened and have bolts sticking out on the side which makes the overall diameter larger then the max span a motor can have, according to ROAR-regulations. Without those bolts and if the motor could be opened, they would be ROAR-legal, I guess.
__________________
thou shall think twice or trice before hitting thee SEND-button
Low_E is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2008, 10:12 AM   #15
Tech Elite
 
Glowster21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 3,493
Trader Rating: 116 (100%+)
Default

Ran my Mamba Max with an LRP Vector 4.5 and it was fine. No hesitation at all and was very smooth.
Glowster21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 04:38 PM
Losi excelorin sensored brushless motors b-man777 Electric Off-Road 15 11-03-2008 08:57 PM
Sensored VS. Sensorless brushless motors bsmooth Electric On-Road 1 08-12-2008 08:22 AM
New Tekin Redline Sensored Motors are Roar Legal! Randy_Pike Electric On-Road 3 08-05-2008 02:08 AM
Mixing it up: Sensored ESCs and motors rmdhawaii Electric On-Road 8 08-16-2007 01:57 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 11:29 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net