Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road
Mamba max ESC and BL questions >

Mamba max ESC and BL questions

Mamba max ESC and BL questions

Reply

Old 05-23-2008, 05:15 PM
  #1  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
iTrader: (10)
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Cincinnati OHIO
Posts: 97
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default Mamba max ESC and BL questions

Hey I did some trading last nite and got ahold of a XXXT MF2 with Mamba max and BL 7700 KV......The fellow I traded with gave me 2 NiMH 7.2 V 2000mah Batteries.....after doing some research I discovered that this motor calls for 8 cell vs. 6 cell....or Lipo....and since I dont have Lipo, and this is my first Electric Im not sure if it will just be slower with the 6 cell or will it damage to either ESC or Motor.....just for now!.....Ill get lipo eventually but I really cant afford $200 charger right now.....and again old nitro guy here when I wire it all up dont I have to have a connection to the batt. plug on the radio or does ESC bypass that somehow?
this has been the best site for help in my nitros onroad and hope itll be the same here!
Thanks again!
bo_barger is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2008, 05:24 PM
  #2  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (5)
 
rjs_13203's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: lowell, nc
Posts: 725
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

will be just fine on 6 cells i run my mm5700 in a zx-5 sp with 6 cells. i would suggest getting batteries with more mah, like 4200 or atleast 3300 or 3800. the esc will run on more but dont need more, more cells is just more speed. a 7700 on 6 cells is goin to be very very fast. most 1/10 eps run on 6 cells it is the norm, i think the mm esc can handle more though.
rjs_13203 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2008, 05:28 PM
  #3  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
iTrader: (10)
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Cincinnati OHIO
Posts: 97
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

thats what I thought.....heres the thing thats got me puzzled when you go online on http://www.castlecreations.com/products/mamba_max.html
on the right under tech specs!! check it out... BIG RED LETTERS
bo_barger is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2008, 05:34 PM
  #4  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (5)
 
scott54's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 693
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

I think you'll be fine. Your run time is going to be pretty short though. Keep a close eye on temps, not because of the battery, but because of the motor. And honestly, if you're going to keep that motor, don't spend too much on batteries because it's going to be insanely fast with a highend pack. There was a noob at my local track with a 7700 but his packs were cheap stick packs and it didn't feel any faster than a 4600.
scott54 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2008, 05:36 PM
  #5  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (5)
 
rjs_13203's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: lowell, nc
Posts: 725
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

yea there talking about the emaxx or things like that u have a mf2 correct thats a 2wd staduim truck
rjs_13203 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2008, 05:38 PM
  #6  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (5)
 
rjs_13203's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: lowell, nc
Posts: 725
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by scott54 View Post
I think you'll be fine. Your run time is going to be pretty short though. Keep a close eye on temps, not because of the battery, but because of the motor. And honestly, if you're going to keep that motor, don't spend too much on batteries because it's going to be insanely fast with a highend pack. There was a noob at my local track with a 7700 but his packs were cheap stick packs and it didn't feel any faster than a 4600.
the only problem with cheap packs is cogging have to have good batterys for brushless not lipo but good qulity batterys
rjs_13203 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2008, 05:39 PM
  #7  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
iTrader: (10)
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Cincinnati OHIO
Posts: 97
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

indeed it is a 2wd Stadium truck......
bo_barger is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2008, 05:40 PM
  #8  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (5)
 
rjs_13203's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: lowell, nc
Posts: 725
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

they are talking aabout not running them in monster trucks such as the emaxx
rjs_13203 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2008, 05:40 PM
  #9  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
iTrader: (10)
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Cincinnati OHIO
Posts: 97
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

what is cogging?
bo_barger is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2008, 05:42 PM
  #10  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (5)
 
rjs_13203's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: lowell, nc
Posts: 725
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

will like stutter on the start sometimes a little sometimes real bad. if u have the mm esc u can change the throttle curve and it will be fine
rjs_13203 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2008, 05:46 PM
  #11  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
iTrader: (10)
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Cincinnati OHIO
Posts: 97
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

so in summary it will not harm the ESC or the Motor to run 7.2v packs in this setup....what about the battery input on the radio.....do I need splice?
bo_barger is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2008, 05:49 PM
  #12  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (5)
 
rjs_13203's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: lowell, nc
Posts: 725
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

splice? just run it like it was a brushed system but no need to mess with the motor. plug and play
rjs_13203 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2008, 05:51 PM
  #13  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (5)
 
rjs_13203's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: lowell, nc
Posts: 725
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

oh u should be able to plug the esc into the receiver and be all good, though u might have to buy a better radio if its am cuz the brushless can interfer with the radio
rjs_13203 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2008, 06:02 PM
  #14  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
iTrader: (10)
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Cincinnati OHIO
Posts: 97
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

I plan on using JR RS 300.
bo_barger is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2008, 06:03 PM
  #15  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (5)
 
rjs_13203's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: lowell, nc
Posts: 725
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

should be fine just keep receiver away from the motor wire it can pick up interference.
rjs_13203 is offline  
Reply With Quote

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Terms of Service