R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-23-2008, 03:13 PM   #1
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 9
Default Probs with Sidewinder

Hello, I'm a new RC fan.

I just bought the Kyosho Lazer RTR with Castle Creations Sidewinder with 5700kv engine. I think it gets overheated (i felt on the engine and esc and it was really Hot) I have the original pinion on the 5700 engine.. the car runs great, great acceleration och high topspeed, but after about 5minutes of pretty rough driving it just stops. Once i turn the esc off and then on again it works for a couple of more minutes. Could this pinion be the problems? That the engine runs with to high revs?

Has anyone had this problem? How did you solve it?

Is a coolingfan something to recommend? Or maybe a hole in the body for extra aircooling to the esc?

I apologize for my english..I'm from sweden..

thanks!
storcc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2008, 03:40 PM   #2
Tech Fanatic
 
happywing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Canton, MI
Posts: 997
Trader Rating: 93 (100%+)
Default

It's definitely a thermal shutdown. Yes, it could be the pinion. What gearing are you using? Some small vent holes can help. Buggies generally run a little hotter because there's no circulation. A fan helps a lot, but they are a pain and you shouldn't need one. Try adding some cooling holes and dropping the pinion one tooth.
__________________
SCTE and 22T
Lovin' the Barn!
Doing the "League" at DirtBurners!
happywing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2008, 03:41 PM   #3
wyd
Tech Legend
 
wyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Castle Mamba Max Pro. Feel its power!!!!!!!!!!
Posts: 21,141
Trader Rating: 50 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to wyd
Default

Sounds like it might be getting a little hot. I would run a smaller pinion and or larger spur gear or a combination of both. Holes in the body above where the speedo is would help as well. Could also use a small fan on the speedo as another option. Another thing is a using a lower timing on the motor if you have it set high.
__________________
Castle Creations (Since 2005) Just awesome products
Bumps & Jumps RC (Great Indoor facility for offroad and oval)
ST Racing Concepts (STRC)
Custom Works (Best Oval Cars around)
wyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2008, 03:47 PM   #4
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 9
Default

thanks for your help.

I will try a smaler pinion.. and perhaps make a little vent hole in the body.
How can I tell if the ESC or the engine is getting to hot?

I run the default settings. But I might have to try a lower timing as you sad.

Thanks again!
storcc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2008, 04:14 PM   #5
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 9
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by happywing View Post
What gearing are you using?
I'm using the original gearing in the RTR set... I have no idea what that is.
storcc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2008, 11:06 PM   #6
wyd
Tech Legend
 
wyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Castle Mamba Max Pro. Feel its power!!!!!!!!!!
Posts: 21,141
Trader Rating: 50 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to wyd
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by storcc View Post
thanks for your help.

I will try a smaler pinion.. and perhaps make a little vent hole in the body.
How can I tell if the ESC or the engine is getting to hot?

I run the default settings. But I might have to try a lower timing as you sad.

Thanks again!
Normally a temp gun is the best way to check the temp.
__________________
Castle Creations (Since 2005) Just awesome products
Bumps & Jumps RC (Great Indoor facility for offroad and oval)
ST Racing Concepts (STRC)
Custom Works (Best Oval Cars around)
wyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2008, 11:16 PM   #7
Tech Addict
 
rjs_13203's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: lowell, nc
Posts: 725
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

u should probably be running a 17. i run a 17 with a mm5700 zx-5 sp. also make sure ur mesh is not 2 tight
rjs_13203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2008, 01:40 AM   #8
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 9
Default

I now have a 15t pinion and the engine set on the lowest timing. The engine is cool as ice even after hard racing.
But there is still probs. I now think its something with the transmitter. I lost "connection" with my car after about 35-40meters... I'm gonna try new chrystals today and if that dosent work I will by a new radio and trasmitter..
storcc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2008, 06:07 AM   #9
wyd
Tech Legend
 
wyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Castle Mamba Max Pro. Feel its power!!!!!!!!!!
Posts: 21,141
Trader Rating: 50 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to wyd
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by storcc View Post
I now have a 15t pinion and the engine set on the lowest timing. The engine is cool as ice even after hard racing.
But there is still probs. I now think its something with the transmitter. I lost "connection" with my car after about 35-40meters... I'm gonna try new chrystals today and if that dosent work I will by a new radio and trasmitter..
Well its cool that you have the speedo and motor temps down. Normally its simple stuff to fix the problem.

For the radio new crystals is a good thing to try and if that don't work try another receiver if you have one to test with.
__________________
Castle Creations (Since 2005) Just awesome products
Bumps & Jumps RC (Great Indoor facility for offroad and oval)
ST Racing Concepts (STRC)
Custom Works (Best Oval Cars around)
wyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2008, 06:04 AM   #10
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 9
Default

To night I'm gonna try a different transmitter, radio and even a stock engine and esc.
So today I'm gonna find the problem.
storcc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2008, 09:18 AM   #11
Tech Addict
 
rjs_13203's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: lowell, nc
Posts: 725
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

make sure ur wires from ur esc to motor r as far away from receiver as u can get them, they will make ur radio glitch. i had to change to a 2.4 speky cuz of the same problem. i have also heard that the bullet connectors can also cause a problem, so u might want to short'n wires and get rid of them.
rjs_13203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2008, 09:46 AM   #12
Tech Regular
 
blue.coupe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Dresden TN
Posts: 377
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to blue.coupe
Default

I went to a 2.4 spektrum setup with my MM and fixed my glitching problems.
blue.coupe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2008, 11:00 AM   #13
Tech Addict
 
rjs_13203's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: lowell, nc
Posts: 725
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

me and brotheer law had to go to 2.4 to solve problem
rjs_13203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2008, 11:31 AM   #14
wyd
Tech Legend
 
wyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Castle Mamba Max Pro. Feel its power!!!!!!!!!!
Posts: 21,141
Trader Rating: 50 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to wyd
Default

Lots of things can cause glitching. If your batteries are not strong enough that can cause a problem, the connectors can be a problem unless your Sidewinder has the new Castle bullets which then the way they fit tight I then highly doubt that is you problem as they are excellent and fit alot better than the standard bullet connectors.

If you have bad crystals can cause a problem as well. Just too many things to think of right now but it is a few more ideas for you.
__________________
Castle Creations (Since 2005) Just awesome products
Bumps & Jumps RC (Great Indoor facility for offroad and oval)
ST Racing Concepts (STRC)
Custom Works (Best Oval Cars around)
wyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2008, 02:00 PM   #15
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 110
Send a message via AIM to Creature
Default

Yes, just for future reference remember that stock RTR gearing is normally going to be way to high for a faster, lower turn motor.

You might find yourself going to 2.4ghz like a lot of us have...it makes a lot of things easier and I've never had to worry about glitching since I made the leap.

If the Radio equipment is shot, consider a Spektrum DX2. Its budget friendly, comes with a nice receiver and servos, and Spektrum makes great stuff. Here is a link: http://www.horizonhobby.com/Products...rodID=SPM20200 It is on backorder though. Should be in soon.

In the case that you do need a new radio, it will be beneficial in the long run to get a DX2 or similar 2.4ghz radio now rather than later when you really need it.
Creature is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Probs with the Traxxas 2.5 pfcbrook Monster Trucks 3 12-11-2005 06:02 PM
RC10 GT starting probs/idleing probs Smoke21 Electric Off-Road 3 07-13-2004 11:03 PM
sterring probs trx1 Rookie Zone 4 06-16-2004 12:59 PM
Head Probs Tech_Muggz Monster Trucks 2 10-03-2003 05:45 AM
V-one-s Probs Durge Australian Racing 6 06-09-2003 05:01 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 03:29 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net