R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-15-2008, 11:26 AM   #1
Tech Adept
 
BCrumB4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 107
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Questions?? B4 motor/speed control issue?

Hello, I'm running a B4 with a Novak GTB and 13.5 brushless and a spectrum receiver. My car is having a power pick-up problem.
The car will run fine on warm up laps but when I bring it to a complete stop to line up for a race when I go to take off the car wont go. I've changed the speed control to the Sphere Bush/Brushless and still the problem is there so I got a new brushless set up, and still. If I hold the car off the bench and pin it, nothing, once I roll the rear wheels it takes off with no in between and sounds if something is a miss with the trans. I have replaced everything in the rear-end, and still have the issue. Another new problem is that once the car is going I'll lose the binding on the receiver and all goes to fail safe. I can't even rebind it at this point. . All steering is completely fine at all times. Sometimes on acceleration the car will seem to miss a little, not sure if this is related. I have been very frustrated because this stuff isnt cheep so the car has been sitting for about a month, but I am in need of getting back on the track
Thanks for any help....
BCrumB4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2008, 11:31 AM   #2
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,644
Trader Rating: 67 (100%+)
Default

Since you changed everything else, it sounds like a problem with your radio and receiver. Is this an early Spektrum, newer DSM, or DSM 2? Have you fully reset the radio and receiver? Do you have a fail safe set incorrectly? Radio battery charge level is adequate?
nutz4rcyktw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2008, 12:47 PM   #3
Tech Adept
 
BCrumB4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 107
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

I got the radio system in February 2008. It is the DX 3.0. I have tried to reset everything and go about putting it together like I had never had it before, and still nothing. I wasn't thinking it was the radio because I also have a Losi XX-4 and I have no issues with that car. I even took all electronic out of that and put them in the B4 with no luck. The battery pack I have in the car is fairly new, works fine in the XX-4 and the radio batters are new as well. I have heard something about some people having to "shield" their electronic.... Any word on what that might entail?
BCrumB4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2008, 01:01 PM   #4
Tech Regular
 
beast95451's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Kelseyville, CA
Posts: 273
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Do you run the Spektrum radio system (radio & RX) on the XX-4 & the B4?
beast95451 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2008, 01:03 PM   #5
Tech Adept
 
BCrumB4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 107
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Yes i run the system in both cars. First thing I thought was that I hadn't changed the model number on the radio between the two, but I had so I ruled that out.
BCrumB4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2008, 01:07 PM   #6
Tech Regular
 
beast95451's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Kelseyville, CA
Posts: 273
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Hmmm.
The XX-4 works fine, right?
And you put the XX-4 motor, esc, Rx, servo & battery in the B4?
beast95451 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2008, 01:12 PM   #7
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 5
Default

stick to 4wd. its faster anyway

RC collection is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2008, 01:14 PM   #8
Tech Regular
 
beast95451's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Kelseyville, CA
Posts: 273
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RC collection View Post
stick to 4wd. its faster anyway

Thats helpful.....welcome
beast95451 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2008, 01:16 PM   #9
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,644
Trader Rating: 67 (100%+)
Default

You said you changed model numbers, do you have the radio parameters on the other model number set correctly?
nutz4rcyktw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2008, 02:34 PM   #10
Tech Adept
 
BCrumB4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 107
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

what I have done with the radio is go through and clear everything I've done and set it back to the factory settings on the two "models" (B4 and XX-4)
Not sure if that helps you, what do you mean by parameters? (expo, deadband.etc.)
BCrumB4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2008, 03:10 PM   #11
Tech Addict
 
beez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 678
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

I have a similar problem with an MF2/GTB/13.5. I unhooked the motor from the car and noticed that it always refuses to start from a specific position (when the flat spot on the rotor is facing towards the rear of the car) so I eliminated the gearbox as the problem. Novak thinks it's my ESC, so I ordered a new one... If my problem persists as yours has, I'm going to rip my hair out.

I don't know if this is helpful, but maybe one more way to look at it.
beez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2008, 03:47 PM   #12
Tech Adept
 
BCrumB4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 107
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

thanks beez, it's helpful to know that I'm not the only one have this type of issue. I'm going to give Novak a call next, just thought I'd see if anyone out here has found a fix...
BCrumB4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2008, 04:05 PM   #13
Tech Addict
 
beez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 678
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

I've emailed steve Weiss at novak ([email protected]) a couple of different times and he always gets back to me very fast during business hours. Give him a shot, but if you're switched out your ESC and motor and it still persisted, I don't have any idea if he can help you or not.
beez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2008, 04:11 PM   #14
Tech Adept
 
BCrumB4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 107
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Great!! Thanks I'll give him a try.
BCrumB4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2008, 04:42 PM   #15
Tech Regular
 
beast95451's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Kelseyville, CA
Posts: 273
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

............
Quote:
Originally Posted by beast95451 View Post
Hmmm.
The XX-4 works fine, right?
And you put the XX-4 motor, esc, Rx, servo & battery in the B4?
beast95451 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
motor/speed control D.Bates Electric Off-Road 1 09-06-2008 01:10 PM
Motor/Speed Control Issue? BCrumB4 Radio and Electronics 2 04-15-2008 12:51 PM
F/S Speed Control & Motor Vegasracer R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 0 02-02-2008 12:05 PM
Which brushless motor and speed control? pf100 Wisconsin & Illinois Racing 4 07-16-2007 12:12 AM
wtb speed control and 19t motor Hasee R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 8 09-02-2004 11:59 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 01:47 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net