Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road
XXXT new purchase >

XXXT new purchase

XXXT new purchase

Old 04-15-2008, 04:39 AM
Tech Rookie

Cool XXXT new purchase

Well, as you can see I am new to the RCTech community. I am not new to RC, though, I have raced cars since 1993, not that I have ever gotten terribly good at it, just an enjoyable pass-time. I started out my RC hobby life with a XXT-CR in 93. I always raced stock back then because I didn't have a lot of money and the modified guys were dropping a lot of money in their trucks to compete. I used to race in northern illinois, there was a large community of racers there in the electric off-road scene and the number of heats it took to narrow down a field on most race weekends was staggering. I wish I could remember the name of the shop. aye. I also spent a long time flying planes, from electric foamies all the way to Wild Hare 50cc gas edge 540Ts.

Lately i live in SoCal, and while the electric off-road scene here is not nearly as lively as it used to be, but at least there is one. I currently run a Losi LST2, which I don't race, but I do plenty of upgrading, for strength. I like to bash it and the stronger the better.

I am looking into getting back into electrics. I am intrigued by all the changes in the electrics. Brushless motors and LiPo packs, and I want to get a Losi XXXT and stick a new Losi BL system in it, and run LiPos. I have figured out most of what I need to know about what I want to do. I have used LiPos, I have run electric trucks. There are just 2 things that I have yet to piece together, and I was hoping you guys could set me on the straight and narrow.

1. I can't tell the difference between the XXXT MF2 and the XXXT CR trucks other than the MF2 mentions the GEN II Transmission. Which of these trucks is the better purchase, my LHS has both, just don't know which I should get.