R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-14-2008, 10:27 AM   #1
Team Tekin
 
Tekin Prez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,047
Default BL motors sensor plug damage

How much of an issue is the sensor plug or wires getting damaged on BL motors?

Tekin Prez
Tekin Prez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2008, 10:44 AM   #2
Tech Regular
 
cfwdude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 288
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

If one of the wires is loose/missing, they make one hell of a nasty noise, and don't run well, if at all.

With the Novak non removable harness, if you can't repair it, you have to send it in for warranty repair work. Replacable harnesses would be nice.

Although, with 4 Novak systems over about 2 years, I've only had a loose sensor wire once, and never damaged the harness.
cfwdude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2008, 10:56 AM   #3
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 872
Trader Rating: 35 (100%+)
Default

I have owned 3 GTBs over about 3 years, and never had a problem with the sensor wires or harness becoming damaged or coming loose.
__________________
High Desert Raceplace, Grand Jct CO, Sanwa Exzes Plus Stick Radio, Spektrum,Thunderpower 230g, Modified Tri-Nut Novak GTB2, Ballistic 4.5t 550, 5.83lb SCTE Ten, Novak Sentry Brushless Dyno, Crossweight Setup Station, Junsi 20A power supply Icharger 20A Charger,TP610C, 22B, Novak Edge, Novak 13.5, SC10, Havoc Pro SC XDrive, Ballistic 17.5 Matthew Joseph Cordova
mattnin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2008, 11:19 AM   #4
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Saginaw, MI
Posts: 495
Trader Rating: 83 (100%+)
Default

At our track we have had a few wires go bad on the Novak system. Basically what we have done is buy an LRP harness and cut and solder a new wire into the Novak plug. I would really like to see a plug like LRP and Speed Passion used IMHO. FYI itís the orange wire that seems to break. I know of one guy that bought the Deans micro 6pin connectors to help solve this problem.

Mark
__________________
B5M
Losi 22SCT
mrhenning11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2008, 11:32 AM   #5
Tech Master
 
CCristo's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Millbury, MA
Posts: 1,439
Trader Rating: 55 (100%+)
Default

I've never had an issue with the harness on my Novak motors. I still prefer a plug though so I can use a different length harness in different applications. Having neat wiring with the long Novak sensor harness is sometimes impossible.
CCristo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2008, 11:36 AM   #6
Tech Legend
 
Wild Cherry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: TRCR Modified Driver
Posts: 22,595
Default

I broken a few. (Torn wires) 1/10 off-road buggy

Just replace it, no "big" on the Lrp...
__________________
Any driver can copy a great set up, a Champion however will steal it .
If Jesus returned as a Rc car he be a Rc10 B5M
George W. Cherry
Wild Cherry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2008, 11:39 AM   #7
Tech Elite
 
K_King's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 4,196
Trader Rating: 39 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to K_King
Default

A more secure connection would be nice, my 7.5 wire seems to come out too easily.
__________________
TLR - Spektrum - Pro-Line - Team Orion - Stickit1 - Schelle
K_King is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2008, 11:45 AM   #8
Tech Elite
 
badassrevo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Roaming Shores, Ohio
Posts: 3,322
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

I have never damaged the harness or conector, but I have had it come loose.
__________________
Doug Lightcap

ARCS Hobbies / Paint Monster Airbrushing / BFast / Tonys Screws
badassrevo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2008, 05:36 PM   #9
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 343
Default

I have 2 years on both of my novak system and have had the plug come loose only one time, other than that no problems.

I do prefer the plugs on both ends, realy helps clean up the wiring.
Stallard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2008, 07:21 PM   #10
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: KY
Posts: 1,152
Trader Rating: 95 (99%+)
Default

+1 for removable plugs on both ends of the connection. I've never had a plug come loose or get damaged.
__________________
www.rcrcr.com --------> B-Mag free since fall '07
RobbieS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2008, 07:31 PM   #11
Tech Champion
 
abailey21's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: SoCal
Posts: 5,224
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Default

Jim,

Make it removable like everyone else
__________________
K.C.C.O.
abailey21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2008, 07:53 PM   #12
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Plain City, OH
Posts: 727
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

LRP style for sure. Being able to have diff length sensor wires is a HUGE plus.

I've only been running brushless about a month and had the sensoe wire come loose from the motor once. In the ZX5 with the motor being inline a "lawn dart" popped the wire out.
__________________
XXX-CR, XXX-T CR, XXX-SCT (Kertez conversion)
CRCRC.COM
Sneaky Pete Racing
Hammer Racing
Bike racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2008, 08:21 PM   #13
Team Tekin
 
Tekin Prez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,047
Default

It already has a plug. We were just deciding if it was worth the hassle of moving it to the top in the future or offering a shield.

I am surprised most esc's do not recognize a bad sensor and will run on 2. That is really hard on things... We do have the advantage of rolling to sensorless so you can finish the race without hardly noticing. If we loose a sensor or the plug entirely you might not even know it.

We also added a cool little feature for checking sensor operation. The top 3 leds light up relative to the sensors. You can roll the motor slowly and watch it happen in real time. Started as an engineering debug, but it was so cool we left it. Advantages of having an overkill microprocessor and 7 leds to play with.

Tekin Prez
Tekin Prez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2008, 10:06 PM   #14
Tech Addict
 
jobo_ph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Los Banos, Laguna, PH
Posts: 698
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to jobo_ph Send a message via Skype™ to jobo_ph
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TeamTekin View Post
How much of an issue is the sensor plug or wires getting damaged on BL motors?

Tekin Prez
2+ years of being a loyal Novak BL system user and haven't had any issues, whatsoever, with the sensor wires or plug.

I also prefer removable sensor harness on both ends.

Quote:
Originally Posted by TeamTekin View Post
It already has a plug. We were just deciding if it was worth the hassle of moving it to the top in the future or offering a shield.

I am surprised most esc's do not recognize a bad sensor and will run on 2. That is really hard on things... We do have the advantage of rolling to sensorless so you can finish the race without hardly noticing. If we loose a sensor or the plug entirely you might not even know it.

We also added a cool little feature for checking sensor operation. The top 3 leds light up relative to the sensors. You can roll the motor slowly and watch it happen in real time. Started as an engineering debug, but it was so cool we left it. Advantages of having an overkill microprocessor and 7 leds to play with.

Tekin Prez
Looks impressive and after being shaken with the reliability of later editions of Novak GTBs that I read on the other thread, I'm keenly interested in your Tekin RS/RSPro BL systems. I plan to get one in the near future to try out.

Even with a USB plug to update the ESC firmware, please try to make your ESCs as water- and dust-proof as possible. I don't like ESCs where it's easy for dust and moisture/water to get inside the case like that of the Mamba (aside from my preference for sensored systems).
__________________
Hibernating...
Team Associated B4 * T4 * B44
Novak BL * Futaba TX/RX/Servos * Hyperion/Megapower Chargers
Orion/Yuntong/Maxamps Lipo * AMB #6655738
jobo_ph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2008, 05:15 AM   #15
Tech Champion
 
abailey21's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: SoCal
Posts: 5,224
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Default

Jim, when are you gonna send me your super secret sensor cable????



Attached to your super secret 8th system?
__________________
K.C.C.O.
abailey21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Lipo and brushed motors? Damage? MOmo Radio and Electronics 4 01-28-2008 12:54 PM
Nomadio Sensor/transciever and sensor pack DaveH R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 14 05-14-2007 11:12 PM
Turbo plug Vs Standard plug mrhenning11 Electric Off-Road 1 04-16-2007 09:20 AM
Nomadio Sensor, V2 transeiver, temp sensor sstoffer R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 1 01-16-2007 02:35 PM
Turbo plug vs standard plug shortygy Onroad Nitro Engine Zone 5 08-13-2004 04:10 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 02:55 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net