Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road
Duratrax Ice Charger Problems >

Duratrax Ice Charger Problems

Duratrax Ice Charger Problems

Reply

Old 03-11-2008, 07:51 PM
  #1  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
iTrader: (11)
 
Associated-08's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Oregon, Wisconsin
Posts: 391
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default Duratrax Ice Charger Problems

I have a duratrax Ice. and am chargine a 7.4v 2s 4000maH pack. And it says that the pack compacity is at 1760maH when its all done. Shouldnt it be close to 4000maH?
Associated-08 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2008, 08:23 PM
  #2  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (41)
 
JamesnMeyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: So Cal
Posts: 2,224
Trader Rating: 41 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Associated-08 View Post
I have a duratrax Ice. and am chargine a 7.4v 2s 4000maH pack. And it says that the pack compacity is at 1760maH when its all done. Shouldnt it be close to 4000maH?
Thats how much it took not how much it is. Meaning only roughly 1750 mah were run out of it prior to charging.
JamesnMeyer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2008, 08:25 PM
  #3  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
iTrader: (11)
 
Associated-08's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Oregon, Wisconsin
Posts: 391
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Ok thanks. This was my first time using the charger. And there were no instructions.

Thanks again. I really appreciate it.

Mike
Associated-08 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2008, 09:25 PM
  #4  
Tech Master
iTrader: (16)
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: en tu amigas pantalones
Posts: 1,605
Trader Rating: 16 (94%+)
Default

i have had my ice charger for about 2 years now, and the left yellow button is going bad, i have to push down with lots of pressure in order for it to work
BSS07 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2008, 09:26 PM
  #5  
Tech Apprentice
iTrader: (1)
 
wade7575's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 63
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

If you go to towerhobbies.com and type in the word ice it will bring up your charger then click on it to see the product description in there you will see you can download the manual or instructions for the ice charger.
wade7575 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2008, 09:37 PM
  #6  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (4)
 
glassdoctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 2,250
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Those buttons (actually the micro switchhes under them...) can do that. They get dirty and don't make good contact. One thing that can fix it.. is take the charger apart and use compressed air and maybe electronics spray cleaner to blow out the switch. If it gets the crap out it will work like new again.

I've done it a couple times.
glassdoctor is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2008, 09:39 PM
  #7  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (41)
 
Turbo Joe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Corona, CA
Posts: 4,878
Trader Rating: 41 (100%+)
Default

The buttons also get smashed on the bottom. Once you try to force them a few times, the bottom gets mushroomed out. I've seen a couple like that.
Turbo Joe is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2008, 12:04 AM
  #8  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (13)
 
beast95451's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Kelseyville, CA
Posts: 273
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by glassdoctor View Post
Those buttons (actually the micro switchhes under them...) can do that. They get dirty and don't make good contact. One thing that can fix it.. is take the charger apart and use compressed air and maybe electronics spray cleaner to blow out the switch. If it gets the crap out it will work like new again.

I've done it a couple times.
BINGO!! Yesterday both buttons just quit working on mine. 4 screws & a little contact cleaner....good as new!
beast95451 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2008, 03:11 AM
  #9  
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Rochester Hills Michigan
Posts: 7,232
Default

Originally Posted by Turbo Joe View Post
The buttons also get smashed on the bottom. Once you try to force them a few times, the bottom gets mushroomed out. I've seen a couple like that.
Then what Joe? Can ya fix them, or get new ones? Cause I've had this issue a lot quicker than 2 years. As my beloved Dad taught me:

If it doesn't fit, don't force it.... Get a bigger hammer!
Dave H is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2008, 09:47 AM
  #10  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (41)
 
Turbo Joe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Corona, CA
Posts: 4,878
Trader Rating: 41 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Dave H View Post
Then what Joe? Can ya fix them, or get new ones? Cause I've had this issue a lot quicker than 2 years. As my beloved Dad taught me:

If it doesn't fit, don't force it.... Get a bigger hammer!
I would get ahold of Duratrax...they seem by all accounts to have pretty good customer service. I've had mine (two of them) since they came out and I have one button acting up...I just don't feel like sending it back. I may get another one, then send that one in.
Turbo Joe is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2008, 09:34 AM
  #11  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (52)
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: socal
Posts: 858
Trader Rating: 52 (98%+)
Default

Duratrax gives 5 yr warranty on the ICE. You can send it in for repair.
straightaway is offline  
Reply With Quote

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service