R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-22-2008, 11:32 AM   #1
Tech Regular
 
Applesauce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Boynton Beach, FL
Posts: 452
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default Tekin R1 Pro

anybody running this speedo in 2wd mod any issues? pros, cons, issues with certain brand motors?

thanks for your help
Applesauce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2008, 01:44 PM   #2
Tech Regular
 
scrubnick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: AJ, AZ
Posts: 321
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to scrubnick
Default

I've been running it in my GV2 and my X-6 a whole bunch. I've only ran it with Tekin's motors or Traxxas' motor which is similar, and haven't had any real issues with it. Real smooth on the bottom, plenty of power. I'm going to try it soon with a Novak or Orion motor and see what happens.
__________________
KO Propo Supporter
scrubnick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2008, 04:49 PM   #3
Tech Addict
 
t4usee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 505
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

It's an awsome speedcontrol. It runs great with any brushed motor and runs flawlessly with the Tekin Redline motors. I reccomend to run the 448 or 537 in 2 wheel mod buggy. Have not had the oppurtunity to run any other brand motors with the R1 yet just playing around only. There has been some issues reported that cogging and hesatation is there with other motors and that hardware is available to make it smoother with the other motors. The Hotwire is available to keep up with all the latest updates and you can change the timing characteristics of the motors with it also.
t4usee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2008, 06:28 PM   #4
Tech Master
 
CCristo's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Millbury, MA
Posts: 1,439
Trader Rating: 55 (100%+)
Default

Pro: It's nice and small and fit's in my X-6 well
Con: It's unusable with a novak 10.5 (Midrange and down is sluggish and not linear. Sometimes it goes backwards before going forwards)

I have one for sale if you are interested It only has about 4 minutes of on time.
CCristo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2008, 07:11 PM   #5
Tech Addict
 
t4usee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 505
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Dont give up on it so soon. There are updates that are available to help with the slower turn motors. We have a Hotwire on the way to do the updates and will be sure to post results afterwards. Like I said above though,, the Tekin motors are awsome powerhouses with plenty of torque.
t4usee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2008, 09:01 PM   #6
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Dallas,Tx
Posts: 3,666
Trader Rating: 70 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to TexRacer
Default

CCristo-Are you running 4 cell or something?
Dont sell it. Send it in or find a Team Driver to use his HotWire to reset it for you with the new software.
17.5's are having issue's in 6 cell with OLD software but has been MUCH improved with new software.
13.5's were having issue's with the OLD software and are about 70-80% right with new software.
10.5's on the other hand are not having that bad of cogging issue's on the OLD software and hardly any on the new software.
6.5's,5.5's and 4.5's run like a top with the R1.

In mod buggy go with the Tekin 537. I LOVE THIS COMBO!!!!!!
By far the best Brushless speedo out. Only knock is the cogging on higher turn motor's due to being sensorless.
TexRacer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2008, 05:47 AM   #7
Tech Addict
 
t4usee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 505
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TexRacer View Post
CCristo-Are you running 4 cell or something?
Dont sell it. Send it in or find a Team Driver to use his HotWire to reset it for you with the new software.
17.5's are having issue's in 6 cell with OLD software but has been MUCH improved with new software.
13.5's were having issue's with the OLD software and are about 70-80% right with new software.
10.5's on the other hand are not having that bad of cogging issue's on the OLD software and hardly any on the new software.
6.5's,5.5's and 4.5's run like a top with the R1.

In mod buggy go with the Tekin 537. I LOVE THIS COMBO!!!!!!
By far the best Brushless speedo out. Only knock is the cogging on higher turn motor's due to being sensorless.
Tekin is definately on to something here. We run the 537 in both Truck and Buggy geared to the moon and their not even warm after a 6 minute main. No fan needed. They are developing new equipment now that will be hitting the tracks soon like the RS Pro. A sensored version of the R1 Pro.
t4usee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2008, 04:22 PM   #8
Tech Master
 
CCristo's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Millbury, MA
Posts: 1,439
Trader Rating: 55 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TexRacer View Post
CCristo-Are you running 4 cell or something?
Dont sell it. Send it in or find a Team Driver to use his HotWire to reset it for you with the new software.
I'm running it in a 2wd off road buggy with 6 cells. Is the latest firmware available now if I send it in?
CCristo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2008, 03:44 AM   #9
Tech Elite
 
mangoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 2,981
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Applesauce, note that for competition racing i havent come across any organisation where the Redline brushless motors are legal.

This includes ROAR, EFRA, BRCA (and locally for me in australia).

In Australia we have had major problems with the R1 Pro NO ONE here has been able to get one to work properly with a sensored brushless motor. This includes trying to get it to work with a 3.5 (5 cell mod touring car).
I personally have tried an LRP 4.5 X11 and Feigao (orion style) 3.5, 4.5 and 5.5 so i know its not the motor.

Seeing that the programming kit (hotwire) has only just become available and in light of issues with the esc and sensored brushless motors i would wait for widespread confirmation that the new firmware resolves all issues or wait for the RS1 which is a sensored version they are now working on. The sensored version is meant to have a similar footprint to the R1 Pro (which i must say is pretty nice due to its small size).
__________________
Hot Bodies Cyclone!!!
www.smaracing.org
www.rchobbies.com.au - www.feralbatteries.com.au
craig mcphee ( WHERE'S MY BEER )
mangoman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2008, 07:14 AM   #10
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1,870
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

the latest firmware makes the esc work far better with all motors, and now they are working on yet another update so that it works with 5 cell mod. If you buy an R1, it is far more beneficial to factor in the cost of the hotwire for running, as it allows all the latest updates and it also allows you to access to motor timing on the brushless motors.
DA_cookie_monst is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2008, 07:25 AM   #11
Tech Elite
 
mangoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 2,981
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Ahhh that's interesting. I didnt know they were also looking to make firmware revisions for 5 cell mod. When i was runninng it on-road the esc was getting pretty warm so hopefully the update might help with that.
__________________
Hot Bodies Cyclone!!!
www.smaracing.org
www.rchobbies.com.au - www.feralbatteries.com.au
craig mcphee ( WHERE'S MY BEER )
mangoman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2008, 07:50 AM   #12
Tech Champion
 
RC MARKET's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: HK
Posts: 6,172
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mangoman View Post
Ahhh that's interesting. I didnt know they were also looking to make firmware revisions for 5 cell mod. When i was runninng it on-road the esc was getting pretty warm so hopefully the update might help with that.
was arrive !
RC MARKET is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2008, 02:11 PM   #13
Tech Addict
 
radio_car_racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 543
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Just installed one in a 2wd buggy on 6 cell & 6.5s Nosram BL

Bottom end is cogging/stalling when I want to hit the throttle medium to hard.

Anyone got any suggestions to improve it?

snap shot of HotWire attatched
Attached Thumbnails
Tekin R1 Pro-hotwire.jpg  
radio_car_racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2008, 04:30 PM   #14
Tech Elite
 
1armed1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Northern Indiana
Posts: 3,075
Trader Rating: 79 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to 1armed1
Default

On your hotwire with the R1 hooked up click view version.
Let us know which version software you have, if it says 178, do the update through the hotwire to 180.

Dayton
1armed1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2008, 04:30 PM   #15
Tech Addict
 
az00lude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Garden Grove
Posts: 541
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by radio_car_racer View Post
Just installed one in a 2wd buggy on 6 cell & 6.5s Nosram BL

Bottom end is cogging/stalling when I want to hit the throttle medium to hard.

Anyone got any suggestions to improve it?

snap shot of HotWire attatched
Try dropping timing advance to lowest setting.
az00lude is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Official Tekin FX series thread(tekin support) Randy_Pike Radio and Electronics 50 09-01-2016 05:13 PM
>>TEKIN R1 PRO ESC/TEKIN REDLINE BRUSHLESS MOTOR<< LOSI SCOTT R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 19 09-12-2008 07:51 PM
FS: Tekin mini rage esc and tekin 6800kv! 1/18th! tt01-demon Australia For Sale/Trade 7 05-24-2007 02:59 AM
Tekin Mini Rage w Tekin 5.4k motor J.Gonzalez R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 0 12-26-2006 07:02 PM
RC12LC, Tekin G-12 ESC, batts, OS .46FX, Tekin BC100L DennisNyholm R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 19 02-28-2006 03:32 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 12:35 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net