R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-22-2008, 03:15 AM   #1
Tech Elite
 
motomanpat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 2,181
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default Running a LIPO in a starter box

Well I have not found an answer in the nitro forum so I thought I would try you awesome electric guys and see if you might be able to help me with my LIPO question.Here you go


Hello all,

I am getting ready for the new upcoming season and I need to upgrade my batteries in my starter box as they are 1500s and they totally suck. I have one of the Ofna stater boxes that use two 6 cell batteries. I am very interested in LIPO but have some confusion I have a new charger and a balancer that will charge a LIPO but then I started looking into batteries for this set-up. I have a connector on the balancer that will accept 4pin or 6pin. I was looking at the HT500 but they have a 5pin connector What's the deal can I still connect it to the 6pin and if I am not able to do that where can I get 5pin to 6pin adapters or is there another way to do this. Sorry if this sounds stupid but I just don't get it!
motomanpat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2008, 06:42 AM   #2
Tech Initiate
 
paulj2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Twin Falls, ID
Posts: 30
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by motomanpat View Post
if I am not able to do that where can I get 5pin to 6pin adapters or is there another way to do this. Sorry if this sounds stupid but I just don't get it!

Have you contacted HT Batteries? I believe I have seen adapters on their site.
paulj2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2008, 09:03 AM   #3
Tech Master
 
Bulldawg RC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,941
Trader Rating: 65 (99%+)
Default lipo

i run a 14.8v lipo in my starter box. a lipo is a must in a starter box. it lasts forever and reduces starter box weight. i kept mine simple and just go deans to deans. i have one on my site, its a common sense 14.8v 3850mAh. thats what i have in my starter box. as far as adapters, a few websites may have them. you can sometimes use the same balancing lead just make sure the wires are in right sequence. hope this helps.

http://www.BulldawgRC.com
__________________
Bulldawg R/C Batteries and Products
Nimh and Lipo Batteries and accessories
www.BulldawgRC.com
Team Driver for: Proline, Team Epic/Trinity, Hex Crew, Bulldawg R/C, Speed Demon Hobbies ~~~~TEAM CRUNCHY~~~~
Bulldawg RC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2008, 12:18 PM   #4
Tech Master
 
TonysScrews's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Central NJ
Posts: 1,660
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

I replied in the nitro forum with all the info you should need ....LOL
__________________
Tony P.

Tonys Screws LLC
http://www.tonysscrews.com
High Grade Alloy Steel Screws, Screw Kits and Mugen Parts
TonysScrews is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Running Lipo with no cutoff??? RCRat Electric Off-Road 34 08-27-2008 01:30 PM
Running a LIPO in a starter box motomanpat Nitro Off-Road 17 02-23-2008 12:31 PM
ESC for 540 Lipo Running grassrootsracer Australia Wanted to Buy 3 01-25-2008 02:47 AM
Velineon running HOT 200(F)+ on 3s 5 amp lipo R1R 7humbs Electric Off-Road 16 09-24-2007 08:08 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 08:47 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net