R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-08-2008, 04:07 PM   #1
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 133
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to ThunderRobo Send a message via MSN to ThunderRobo
Default ZX5 Electronics placement

haha...

I cant seem to get get everything in this dang car!

would some of you guys please share what your setups look like?

i am running...

Reedy/LRP Neo One 3.5T
Novak GTB w/ low-profile fan
Futaba 9550 servo
and transponder...

I think i have to cut a hole for GTB either way, but what about the RX? i can only get it to sit on it's side, and when i do that, i cant get the body fully on
__________________
Derek.C
http://www.runryder.com/helicopter/gallery/43404/
ThunderRobo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2008, 04:13 PM   #2
Tech Fanatic
 
RodneyB's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 902
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

I'm currently running the GTB w/o the fan (at least here in the winter) and have had no problems. That allows me to push it into the center as much as possible. When I was running the fan I cut the body 1/4" higher than normal.

I have my receiver on the top plate between the antenna mount and the front windshield. The ponder I have on the top plate behind the front shock tower. Fit's no problem.
RodneyB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2008, 04:20 PM   #3
Tech Champion
 
Jason Pelletier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New York
Posts: 8,820
Trader Rating: 33 (100%+)
Default

look within the last 4 pages of the kyosho electric off road thread. I just did it. My car is white you will see my wiring pics. Just gotta be creative and patient.
__________________
Island Raceway & Hobby
Jason Pelletier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2008, 04:24 PM   #4
Tech Champion
 
Jason Pelletier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New York
Posts: 8,820
Trader Rating: 33 (100%+)
Default

http://www.rctech.net/forum/showthre...85386&page=150
__________________
Island Raceway & Hobby
Jason Pelletier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2008, 05:09 PM   #5
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 133
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to ThunderRobo Send a message via MSN to ThunderRobo
Default

thanks RodneyB and RB5!
__________________
Derek.C
http://www.runryder.com/helicopter/gallery/43404/
ThunderRobo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2008, 05:38 AM   #6
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Cheltenham, Gloucestershire, England
Posts: 238
Default

The stock body is really tight for space .....

Try the Balkan (LAB03) or Bullet (LAB02) bodies .... a fair bit of space under them.
__________________
http://model-car-racer.co.uk/

Today AE .. tomorrow who knows?
RogerM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2008, 07:15 AM   #7
Tech Regular
 
Djioul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: France
Posts: 319
Default

I've just put my novak gtb with fan on the top plate at the "driver place" and I cut a hole in the body to allow the fan to "breathe".

It's not perfect regarding the high position of the weight but haven't been able to fit it lower with the standard body.
Djioul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2008, 07:28 AM   #8
Tech Elite
 
BillyCaldwell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: OKC, Oklahoma
Posts: 4,005
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to BillyCaldwell
Default

Before you trim your body sides, check to see if you need extra clearance and leave a little extra for fan clearance. The balkan looks like its got more clearance also than the bullet.
__________________
Maclin | VP-Pro USA
BillyCaldwell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2008, 12:56 PM   #9
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: socal
Posts: 858
Trader Rating: 52 (98%+)
Default

I cut my body higher, almost no cut at all on the side, and I use velcro to attach the body to the chassis.

I don't use fan becasue the fan blade breaks easy. They costs $18 each to replace.

I have no problem running 6.5. It is planty fast. I drill some holes on top of the gtb for airflow and a few holes in front.
__________________
Lots of RC Stuff
straightaway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2008, 05:10 AM   #10
Tech Regular
 
Djioul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: France
Posts: 319
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by straightaway View Post
I cut my body higher, almost no cut at all on the side, and I use velcro to attach the body to the chassis.

I don't use fan becasue the fan blade breaks easy. They costs $18 each to replace.

I have no problem running 6.5. It is planty fast. I drill some holes on top of the gtb for airflow and a few holes in front.
My GTB/6.5 with the fan was clearly overheating with the stock pinion (not a surprise, I know...) so I prefer to keep the fan so far.

Maybre I should try without once, now that I have a proper gearing, with a small air intake on the body...
Djioul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2008, 06:07 AM   #11
Tech Master
 
Racerx336's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Allen, Tx.
Posts: 1,410
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

I run a sphere and a 6.5. I turn the sphere on it's side and have a flap cut out and bent on the body so that the sphere can protrude ever so slightly, but the body is still covering it. No overheating problems here either. I will have to get pics.
Racerx336 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2008, 07:33 AM   #12
Tech Champion
 
Jason Pelletier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New York
Posts: 8,820
Trader Rating: 33 (100%+)
Default

everything underneath nice and snug. That gtb looks massive, my sphere fits great.
__________________
Island Raceway & Hobby
Jason Pelletier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2008, 07:54 AM   #13
Tech Regular
 
Djioul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: France
Posts: 319
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RB FIVE View Post
everything underneath nice and snug. That gtb looks massive, my sphere fits great.
It's especially massive with the fan, without it, it will fit without problem under the body.
Djioul is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Electronic Placement? Associated-08 Electric Off-Road 0 03-04-2008 09:12 PM
Schottky diode placement? aus jd 2703 Electric On-Road 5 09-12-2006 07:48 AM
Personal Transponder placement lookinco Electric On-Road 3 01-28-2006 06:17 AM
Inline Battery placement, so why not? Ginsu Electric On-Road 42 02-01-2005 07:52 PM
esc and rx placement in micro rs4 SunRunner Electric On-Road 0 09-27-2002 09:37 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 06:26 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net