R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road

Old 12-28-2007, 04:37 PM   #1
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 69 (100%+)
Default Building T4 shocks...frustrating.

Okay I know im a noob, Ive only built a few kits in my lifetime.....but trying to build these FT T4 shocks is making me feel like a donkey. I have taken my time, trimmed, used green slime, the works. BUT when i get to the part where you fill the shock, then the cap, and then magically slap them together, they keep getting cross threaded. I dont think I have ruined the caps yet but I am not sure. I have to wash everthing and see what the damage is. I have tried it over and over again...calm and collected like three separate times with only LUCKILY get one successful shock complete. WHen I finally got one other on all the way it gushed oil out like the o-ring was damaged. I took the rings off to check to see if I tore one and they look intact. Why did Associated not include aluminum caps to match up with the aluminum shock bodies it would have really made life easy. These cheap plastic caps absolutely suck. None of them are going on smoothly. Am I doing something wrong. I was looking on ebay and found blue aluminum shock caps for $10, should I just go that route. I am sooooooo frustrated.
Paul Whalen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2007, 04:55 PM   #2
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 66 (92%+)
Send a message via AIM to Jake S Send a message via MSN to Jake S

first time threading them is always weird, i thread backwards for a turn (CCW), then go the right way (CW) then they seem to work better.
Old 12-28-2007, 05:19 PM   #3
Tech Master

Yep tried that several times, I am gentle with it too. I just dont understand why I am having such a hard time. I think Im going to order those aluminum associated blue caps off ebay just to make things easier.
Old 12-28-2007, 05:54 PM   #4
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 41 (100%+)