R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-26-2007, 04:25 PM   #1
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 174
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default trying to charge a lipo

Ok I'm trying to charge a 4000mah 2 cell lipo with my muchmore cell master ctx-c and it keeps giving me an error message that says *SUP DROP* cant figure this out don't know why its doing this and there is nothing in the manual about it
Frank78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2007, 05:00 PM   #2
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,644
Trader Rating: 67 (100%+)
Default Charging

It almost sounds like the charger is saying your power supply isn't sending enough current to charge. I assume you are charging at 4.2? If not, that might be creating a problem. Not familiar with your charger and don't know what power supply you are using. What are the volt and amp rating on your power supply or does the charger have one built in?
nutz4rcyktw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2007, 05:15 PM   #3
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 174
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

it is just a crappy old power supply 3 amp 5 amp surge i believe it is 12 volt but can't be certain the charger i have will only charge lipo's from 0.1 amp to 1 amp not sure what you mean by 4.2 also the battery says it should not be charged over 1c whatever that means it is my first lipo
Frank78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2007, 07:22 PM   #4
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 187
Default Cell Master

I wouldn't recommend the cell master to charge lipo's. My cell master and all the ones used at my track don't charge lipos properly. When the pack is near capacity the charger will not hold the voltage at 8.4v, the voltage just keeps going up like a nimh pack, the cell master is supposed to be a cc-cv charger. So be very careful and monitor the voltage of the pack closely, if at any time it goes over 8.4v stop charging immediately.
_pilot_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2007, 01:22 PM   #5
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,644
Trader Rating: 67 (100%+)
Default C Rating

The C rating is how the charging rating is calculated witha Lipo.

For instance my 3200 Orions have a 1C rating and thus you charge them at 3.2 Amps on the charger. You do not have enough power to charge your Lipo as a 4200 should be charged at 4.2 Amps. The Orion also has a warning never to charge below 2 Amps. If you try to charge at a low rate, I would think you would damage the Lipo.

Unlike NIMH or NICADs if you overcharge or over discharge a Lipo it is ruined. Did the battery come with any instructions. Orion includes a full page of dos and don'ts to make certain the Lipo is used safely.
nutz4rcyktw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2007, 02:15 PM   #6
Tech Elite
 
UK.hardcore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Belgium.
Posts: 2,136
Default

You need another charger,
the charger you have doesnt charge Lipo at more then 1 amp.
Thats asuming you have a special edition one.
I dont know if the first one even has lipo capability.
__________________
A racecar is only as good as the mechanic who build it.
UK.hardcore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2007, 02:16 PM   #7
Tech Elite
 
joe of loath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Posts: 4,857
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

its fine to trickle charge lipos. its just boring waiting for them to finish charging...
__________________
HPI E-Firestorm - Tamiya TA05 racer (carbon chassis, 10.5 brushless etc) - LRP Blast S10 BX - Revo 2.5r truggy conversion (in progress)
joe of loath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2007, 02:18 PM   #8
Tech Elite
 
UK.hardcore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Belgium.
Posts: 2,136
Default

LIPO needs CC/CV charging.
__________________
A racecar is only as good as the mechanic who build it.
UK.hardcore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2007, 03:55 PM   #9
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Austin, Tx
Posts: 2,088
Trader Rating: 33 (100%+)
Default

Get the Team Orion advantage Charger.. it will charge lipo's.. you can set up a profile on it, to do lipo's.. then also another profile to charge your other stuff as well..
__________________
Daniel Grobe
----------------------
Sponsors:
Proline Racing / RC America / Xray
dgrobe2112 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2007, 06:54 PM   #10
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 187
Default Cellmaster

The original Cell Master V1.0 does not charge lipos properly, be careful.
_pilot_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
First Charge - lipo FOXY923 Radio and Electronics 1 05-29-2008 06:47 PM
WILL IT HANDLE TO CHARGE MY LIPO? Rolex Rookie Zone 1 03-08-2008 09:00 PM
what do you charge at (lipo) papadocks Electric On-Road 14 01-24-2008 12:44 PM
what amps to charge at (lipo) papadocks Electric Off-Road 2 01-22-2008 07:38 PM
lipo charge times? streetracer745 Electric Off-Road 3 04-30-2007 06:49 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:40 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net