R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road

Old 11-05-2007, 06:01 PM   #1
Tech Adept

Default class progression.

I am still relatively new to off-road r/c racing, I started in late april or early may maybe. I raced Novice until I was winning more often than not. I moved to stock and raced there until I was winning more often than not. I have moved to mod racing now and I have a problem.

going from novice to stock I didnt slow down. I kept getting faster until I was competitive and began to win. I probably left stock too soon, maybe, but I didnt want to be the guy the others called a sand bagger by staying too long and not allowing others their time to shine.

when I moved to mod I didnt expect to win, and I still dont. but I didnt expect to actually be slower than I was in stock! a full lap no less!! I realize it just takes time and practice, which I am willing to put in, I just wasnt ready for the fact that I would be slower.

I could put my stock motors back in and be more competitive, but what would I be learning really? I mean, when I put my mod motors back again, will anything have changed?

I am sure that everyone has gone through this stage, or will. I hope. so I guess my question is... how long will a guy normally be slower in mod than he was in stock? or am I an anomoly? the people I race against are all very accomplished drivers for the most part, so I am not looking to be winning... not for quite some time. but I cannot believe I am slower, by a lap, than before.

my current plan is to stick it out. I go to the track 3-5 times a week for practice and racing. I am beginning to see some results, but I am "cheating" to do so. I have turned down the power on my radio to break myself in some. good idea, or bad? a little guidance is all I am looking for here. I dont need to be told that I suck, that isnt helpful... nor is it news to me. rofl.