R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-03-2007, 06:30 PM   #1
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 116
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default Will this power supply work?

Hey guys I am going to be upgrading to a good battery charger. I am thinking of getting the Great Planes Electrifly Triton2 DC Computer Charger or the DuraTrax IntelliPeak ICE. They are both DC and would need a power supply.

I have a power supply at my house. It is a Radio Shack 13.8v, 3A power supply. Will this work? It is only 3A so would that mean the chargers couldnt charge at 4A or more since the power supply is 3A? The input volatge is fine at 13.8volts but I am curious if this will work.

I found the owners manual from Radio Shack.

http://www.radioshack.com/graphics/u...0504_PM_EN.pdf

Thanks
Jynx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2007, 06:33 PM   #2
Tech Addict
 
FOXY923's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Canada eh
Posts: 549
Default

A 3amp PS will not work for an ICE. I think you'll need at least 10. More would be better.
__________________
Paris Junction Hobbies ~ RROL.ca ~ Lou's Speedway ~ SCAR
XRAY X10 Link ~ CVTA Sakura Zero S ~ XRAY X10 Custom Oval ~ Caster Fusion F18
RACE 4FUN
FOXY923 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2007, 06:35 PM   #3
Tech Elite
 
wallyedmonds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Brampton ont canada
Posts: 3,662
Default

no
most use a 23-24A power supply.
i think radio shack sells one like this.
it looks like the competition electronics one.
wallyedmonds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2007, 06:43 PM   #4
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 116
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

ok thanks for the quick replies. Any recomendations for a good power supply?
Jynx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2007, 07:16 PM   #5
Tech Elite
 
wallyedmonds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Brampton ont canada
Posts: 3,662
Default

the competition electronics
wallyedmonds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2007, 08:16 PM   #6
Tech Addict
 
raceGEEK's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Socal
Posts: 593
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

you really dont need anything above 10 amps, you just need a little bit above what your charging at. IF you plan on getting another ICE in the future, go ahead and get a 15-20 amp so it would be possible to run two chargers. radio shack makes some decently price power supplies in this range.
__________________
looking for xxxcr parts

xxxcr
xxx4
xx4
raceGEEK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2007, 09:08 PM   #7
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 187
Default PS's

Get a power supply thats around 20-25 amps, a 10 amp power supply limits you to one charger, buy the 20-25 amp and that way when/if you start running more equipment you'll have all the power you'll need and won't need a second power supply.
_pilot_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2007, 09:11 PM   #8
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,451
Default

I would go with eather a much more or a competition electronics power supply. I have the much more, and like it alot. 3 amps is not capable of running a charger, especially if you had more than one.
samstheman2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2007, 01:57 AM   #9
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,141
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jynx View Post
Hey guys I am going to be upgrading to a good battery charger. I am thinking of getting the Great Planes Electrifly Triton2 DC Computer Charger or the DuraTrax IntelliPeak ICE. They are both DC and would need a power supply.

I have a power supply at my house. It is a Radio Shack 13.8v, 3A power supply. Will this work? It is only 3A so would that mean the chargers couldnt charge at 4A or more since the power supply is 3A? The input volatge is fine at 13.8volts but I am curious if this will work.

I found the owners manual from Radio Shack.

http://www.radioshack.com/graphics/u...0504_PM_EN.pdf

Thanks
You got it correct, either the ice or the T-2 will work fine on the small ps. At about 12 volts output (7-8 cells) they would run 3 amps or so. On 4 cells you could charge at 5-6 amps, on 12 cells you could only charge at about 2 amps.
gulio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2007, 07:56 AM   #10
Tech Elite
 
jk racing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Yorba Linda, CA
Posts: 2,642
Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)
Default

I use the Radio Shack 15 amp power supply and 2 Orion Advantage chargers. Never had any issues, been running this set up for 2 years. Good price on the power supply also. In my opinion, getting a "name brand" supply is paying for the sticker on the box.
__________________
--Joey--
Venom Batteries & Chargers
Old School Racer & Vintage RC Car nut
jk racing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2007, 09:07 AM   #11
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 116
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by raceGEEK View Post
IF you plan on getting another ICE in the future, go ahead and get a 15-20 amp so it would be possible to run two chargers. radio shack makes some decently price power supplies in this range.
Yea I definately want to be able to run 2 chargers off of the power supply. I always go with my brother so it would be nice if we could have just one power supply for our 2 chargers.

How is the quality of the Radio Shack ones? Is it necesary to get an R/C specific one? All the power supplies I see only have one output no matter how many amps they are rated at. Can you somehow split that for two? Who makes one that already has 2 or more outputs?

I think it may just be cheaper to get 2 of these.

http://www.amainhobbies.com/product_...oducts_id/5172
Jynx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2007, 10:35 AM   #12
Tech Addict
 
FOXY923's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Canada eh
Posts: 549
Default

You can build a distribution box or buy one.
__________________
Paris Junction Hobbies ~ RROL.ca ~ Lou's Speedway ~ SCAR
XRAY X10 Link ~ CVTA Sakura Zero S ~ XRAY X10 Custom Oval ~ Caster Fusion F18
RACE 4FUN
FOXY923 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2007, 10:47 AM   #13
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,141
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

There's also some stackable banana jacks/plugs that allow multiple chargers to be used on one output.

Here's really the two questions that need to be asked when deciding upon any power supply.

1 what is the max rate and number of cells you will do.
2 will you use the impulse charge? if so at what power?

It is quite common to see these discussions go back and forth between users who have a particular power supply and "it works good" to "it doesn't work" and very likely a 1/18 scale racer with mini-batts can use a small 4-5 amp cheapy power supply on 2 ice chargers.

And a boater with a large boat will require a 15-20 amp ps.
gulio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2007, 11:34 AM   #14
Tech Elite
 
jk racing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Yorba Linda, CA
Posts: 2,642
Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)
Default

try this one

http://www.hobbypeople.net/gallery/158301.asp
__________________
--Joey--
Venom Batteries & Chargers
Old School Racer & Vintage RC Car nut
jk racing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2007, 11:35 AM   #15
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 116
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gulio View Post
Here's really the two questions that need to be asked when deciding upon any power supply.

1 what is the max rate and number of cells you will do.
2 will you use the impulse charge? if so at what power?
I have decided on the intellipeak Ice.

1. Currently I use 6 Cell 4200mAh and 5000mAh NiMH but will eventually go to 2s LiPo or maybe 3s LiPo.

2. I dont even know what that is.
Jynx is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Computer power supply used for charger power supply? 66Racer Radio and Electronics 7 05-25-2008 12:52 AM
RC BLOW OUT !!!! Ice chargers,novak discharger,power supply,power bridge,integy setup shrum1340 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 20 07-23-2007 05:37 AM
turning pc power supply into a rc power supply andy_666 Electric On-Road 20 01-16-2006 05:20 PM
Converting Computer Power Supply. Who got it to work? Who didnt? Calvin Ng Electric On-Road 47 02-20-2005 08:17 PM
SEC Power Supply vs. Hobbico Power Supply? F1Junkie Electric On-Road 1 06-05-2004 08:52 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 12:53 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net