R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-29-2007, 10:55 AM   #1
vr6
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: rockford illinois
Posts: 709
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default need help!!

been a while since i have ran electric off-road. i traded some parts for novak gtx esc. tried to install it so that i can center the servo before putting the servo into the car.

installed esc to channel 2 on my receiver, put servo on channel 1, and plug pt on channel 3. no motor attached. soldered charged battery to correct terminals turn the esc switch to the on position and i get nothing, my light on my pt doesn't come on. my servo doesn't turn. tried it on an m8 and a 3pk system

does a motor need to be attached to finish the power circuit? if anybody has an idea, please reply
__________________
Ko Propo. Hobbywing. Jconcepts. SMC cells

Also my local track Race em r/c. Rockford Illinois
vr6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2007, 11:05 AM   #2
TLRacing
 
Frank Root's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Corona, CA, USA
Posts: 5,435
Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vr6 View Post
been a while since i have ran electric off-road. i traded some parts for novak gtx esc. tried to install it so that i can center the servo before putting the servo into the car.

installed esc to channel 2 on my receiver, put servo on channel 1, and plug pt on channel 3. no motor attached. soldered charged battery to correct terminals turn the esc switch to the on position and i get nothing, my light on my pt doesn't come on. my servo doesn't turn. tried it on an m8 and a 3pk system

does a motor need to be attached to finish the power circuit? if anybody has an idea, please reply
You don't need the motor to be soldered in. First thing I would check, make sure you soldered up the battery negative, and not the motor negative wire, they aren't the same.
__________________
Frank Root -- TLR Project Manager
Twitter - @FrankRoot FB - facebook.com/FrankRootTLR
Team Losi Racing (TLR) - Team Orion - Spektrum - JConcepts - Horizon Hobby - Stick It 1 - Sticky Kicks - Bradley's Fine Line Designs - liverc.com - OCRC Raceway - Tuning Haus - Pacific Coast Hobbies - RIP
Frank Root is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2007, 11:09 AM   #3
vr6
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: rockford illinois
Posts: 709
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

yep, i definitely checked that. as a matter fact, the negative wire for the battery is really short, and the motor negative is really long like the positive wire
__________________
Ko Propo. Hobbywing. Jconcepts. SMC cells

Also my local track Race em r/c. Rockford Illinois
vr6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2007, 11:23 AM   #4
TLRacing
 
Frank Root's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Corona, CA, USA
Posts: 5,435
Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)
Default

Is you switch/BEC harness plugged in properly? The Solid plastic side should be towards the ESC and the side where you can see the connectors through the plug, should be away from the ESC. Have you double checked that?
__________________
Frank Root -- TLR Project Manager
Twitter - @FrankRoot FB - facebook.com/FrankRootTLR
Team Losi Racing (TLR) - Team Orion - Spektrum - JConcepts - Horizon Hobby - Stick It 1 - Sticky Kicks - Bradley's Fine Line Designs - liverc.com - OCRC Raceway - Tuning Haus - Pacific Coast Hobbies - RIP
Frank Root is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2007, 11:49 AM   #5
vr6
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: rockford illinois
Posts: 709
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

yep, all the prongs are facing away from the esc. the guy i got this from ran an m11 system and i was plugging it into a m8 system, so i figured that i would just be able to plug it right in.

the plug reads like this switch to receiver
red,blk blk,red,white
__________________
Ko Propo. Hobbywing. Jconcepts. SMC cells

Also my local track Race em r/c. Rockford Illinois
vr6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2007, 12:16 PM   #6
TLRacing
 
Frank Root's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Corona, CA, USA
Posts: 5,435
Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)
Default

Hmm, I am really not sure then..maybe call Novak tech support.
__________________
Frank Root -- TLR Project Manager
Twitter - @FrankRoot FB - facebook.com/FrankRootTLR
Team Losi Racing (TLR) - Team Orion - Spektrum - JConcepts - Horizon Hobby - Stick It 1 - Sticky Kicks - Bradley's Fine Line Designs - liverc.com - OCRC Raceway - Tuning Haus - Pacific Coast Hobbies - RIP
Frank Root is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2007, 12:32 PM   #7
vr6
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: rockford illinois
Posts: 709
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

that was my next option.do you know of somebody in particular to talk to?
__________________
Ko Propo. Hobbywing. Jconcepts. SMC cells

Also my local track Race em r/c. Rockford Illinois
vr6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2007, 03:26 PM   #8
Tech Champion
 
BuggyKing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Huntington Beach, Ca
Posts: 7,919
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

talk to [email protected] with questions u may have.
__________________
Our government is a #$%$ joke, from the head jester on down
RIP Mike M
BuggyKing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2007, 04:57 PM   #9
Tech Champion
 
Jason Pelletier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New York
Posts: 8,820
Trader Rating: 33 (100%+)
Default

that dude sold you a broken gtx prob.
__________________
Island Raceway & Hobby
Jason Pelletier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2007, 07:30 PM   #10
Tech Elite
 
Yeti35's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: SL, UT
Posts: 2,804
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tripthreat View Post
Is you switch/BEC harness plugged in properly? The Solid plastic side should be towards the ESC and the side where you can see the connectors through the plug, should be away from the ESC. Have you double checked that?
Actually you have that backwards and if he has it the way you describe, that is why it does not work. The solid part of the plug should be away from the speedo not toward it. I have three of these speedos and all are plugged the same way. I did not change them around either, that is how it came from Novak.
Incase his was switched around for some unknown reason, the plug should be wired, looking at it from the plug side of the speedo going from the back (motor wire side) to front, red,black= switch, then black, red then white for the receiver.
__________________
JRXS Type R, I have four of them!! ;) ( Yes, I still have them!!)And racing one of them again!!
22 3.0SR
22T 2.0 w/ Exotech chassis
Yeti35 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2007, 09:43 PM   #11
vr6
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: rockford illinois
Posts: 709
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

interesting can anybody confirm this with there gtx?
__________________
Ko Propo. Hobbywing. Jconcepts. SMC cells

Also my local track Race em r/c. Rockford Illinois
vr6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2007, 10:02 PM   #12
Tech Elite
 
Yeti35's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: SL, UT
Posts: 2,804
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vr6 View Post
interesting can anybody confirm this with there gtx?
You have a PM.
__________________
JRXS Type R, I have four of them!! ;) ( Yes, I still have them!!)And racing one of them again!!
22 3.0SR
22T 2.0 w/ Exotech chassis
Yeti35 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 01:43 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net