Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road
Question on a Mamba Max 5700 >

Question on a Mamba Max 5700

Question on a Mamba Max 5700

Reply

Old 10-24-2007, 09:15 PM
  #1  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
iTrader: (10)
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 494
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default Question on a Mamba Max 5700

I just purchased a NEW Mamba Max 5700 system for my
B4. I mounted up the motor and took it out to run a couple of packs through it. Near the end it was sounding kinda funny to me but I thought it was just the pinion and spur. When I went to adjust the mesh I noticed there is what I would consider alot of play in the motorshaft, side to side. Has anyone else noticed this ? Is that normal or is there something wrong with my brand new motor ?
I dont think it has anything to do with the noise I was hearing but it doesnt seem to me like the shaft should be that loose on a new motor.
ROBBSRACING is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2007, 09:26 PM
  #2  
Tech Master
iTrader: (26)
 
chewiefttc4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: algonac, mi
Posts: 1,552
Trader Rating: 26 (96%+)
Default

my mamba motor was very tight
had very little slop but that was in and out. it rivaled a hand shimmed motor. very precise

sounds to me like you have a busted bearing.

im sure castle will have no problem replacing it for you.

shoot em a email
chewiefttc4 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2007, 11:43 PM
  #3  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (4)
 
glassdoctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 2,250
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

I have seen MM motors with some 'slop' where you can wiggle the rotor in and out of the can, and some that are very tight... no play at all.

Both can run just fine. If yours is making some funky sounds then maybe it's something other than just "normal" slop.

You could shim it, but it's very difficult to open up the motor... it's glued and screwed.
glassdoctor is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2007, 05:37 AM
  #4  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (27)
 
MADMAN23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: waddington ny
Posts: 6,359
Trader Rating: 27 (97%+)
Default

mine don't have any wiggle in it .. i ran mine about 15 time's... i like mine in my zx5
MADMAN23 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2007, 06:55 AM
  #5  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (26)
 
CRASH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 2,715
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by ROBBSRACING View Post
I just purchased a NEW Mamba Max 5700 system for my
B4. I mounted up the motor and took it out to run a couple of packs through it. Near the end it was sounding kinda funny to me but I thought it was just the pinion and spur. When I went to adjust the mesh I noticed there is what I would consider alot of play in the motorshaft, side to side. Has anyone else noticed this ? Is that normal or is there something wrong with my brand new motor ?
I dont think it has anything to do with the noise I was hearing but it doesnt seem to me like the shaft should be that loose on a new motor.
YGPM,

Thanks,
CRASH is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2007, 09:45 AM
  #6  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
iTrader: (10)
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 494
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default Castle customer support

I just spoke with Bernie at Castle. He was very cool. He said that there should be VERY little if any side to side play in it. He said they have seen a couple motors with a manufacturing defect where the bearing holder comes loose and causes the play I am feeling. He had no problem sending me out a new motor and a prepaid package to send the defective one back to them in. This was my first dealings with Castle. I was expecting to get a run around. ABSOLUTELY NOT THE CASE AT ALL. They could not have been any better about it at all.
Way to go Castle. AWESOME customer support.
ROBBSRACING is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2007, 10:52 AM
  #7  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (4)
 
glassdoctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 2,250
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Yeah... and yet some guys here like to brag on Novak's service... it's not even close.
glassdoctor is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2007, 09:29 AM
  #8  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
iTrader: (10)
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 494
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default Castle Update

Well 8 days later and I still have no motor. Maybe it was smoke. Its kinda disappointing to have dropped $200 on it and still not be able to run it. Still waiting.
ROBBSRACING is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2007, 03:43 PM
  #9  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (27)
 
MADMAN23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: waddington ny
Posts: 6,359
Trader Rating: 27 (97%+)
Default

mine run like new...
MADMAN23 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2007, 06:42 PM
  #10  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
iTrader: (10)
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 494
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

STFU !!!
ROBBSRACING is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2007, 06:44 PM
  #11  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
iTrader: (10)
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 494
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default yeah

I dont wanna hear it !
ROBBSRACING is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2007, 06:28 AM
  #12  
Tech Apprentice
 
Roozdad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 91
Default

I will see if I can check the status of that for you.
Roozdad is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2007, 06:42 AM
  #13  
wyd
Tech Legend
iTrader: (50)
 
wyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Castle Mamba Max Pro. Feel its power!!!!!!!!!!
Posts: 21,198
Trader Rating: 50 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by ROBBSRACING View Post
Well 8 days later and I still have no motor. Maybe it was smoke. Its kinda disappointing to have dropped $200 on it and still not be able to run it. Still waiting.
If they said they would take care of it they will. I know you want to run and it is hard to wait so I can understand your frustration.
wyd is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2007, 07:22 AM
  #14  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (4)
 
glassdoctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 2,250
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Sometimes what happens to CC is that they are completely out of stock of stuff. I know this for a fact... one time they were trying to come up with a couple combos for me (I needed them ASAP) and they literally had none... new, refurb, demos, nothing. It took them like 3 weeks or so to get them (until the next production run). Also, in Sept I called asking about getting a 6900 and I was told they "might" be out of stock. It wasn't a big deal so I didn't even have them check. (My LHS had a 6900 combo on order)

It might be bad timing... they just made a production run on the MM esc last month. Maybe they ran out of 5700s boxing up combos?

Or... someone forgot to put the order in to ship one out to you. All you have to do is call and ask if they have one coming your way. Just hit "0" and ask the operator lady.
glassdoctor is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2007, 03:48 PM
  #15  
Tech Regular
 
Joe Ford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Olathe, KS
Posts: 287
Default

Robb...we're waiting on 5700 motors right now. Should be in this week. We'll get one out to you as soon as they come in. Sorry for the delay.
Joe Ford is offline  
Reply With Quote

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service