R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-24-2007, 03:21 PM   #1
Tech Regular
 
Bighomedog11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Georgia
Posts: 424
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Bighomedog11 Send a message via Yahoo to Bighomedog11
Default Got my Parts Today.

Hey I got my parts today New motors an a new ESC. I am all new to upgrading my truck. So i am wondering i put everything together i charge my battery i had an when i plug it in i can here my will twich but when i press the gas the motor does not move. I had to change the connectors because it had deans an my charger dont have deans and the battery i had didnt have deans. but i was pulling on the wire with the standard plug trying to get the wires out to get the standard battery clip. I am wondering could this be a problem why its not worken because i pulled on the wires and not getting a good charge to spin the motor?
Bighomedog11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2007, 03:28 PM   #2
Tech Fanatic
 
ray3619's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: glendale az
Posts: 999
Default

i would have left the deans , re read esc set up instructions , check throttle reversing in your radio , ray
ray3619 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2007, 03:31 PM   #3
Tech Elite
 
schmelme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 2,294
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Need translation
schmelme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2007, 04:21 PM   #4
Tech Champion
 
BuggyKing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Huntington Beach, Ca
Posts: 7,919
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

you might to reprogram your speed control. SOunds like it is not programmed right.
__________________
Our government is a #$%$ joke, from the head jester on down
RIP Mike M
BuggyKing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2007, 04:29 PM   #5
Tech Champion
 
Jason Pelletier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New York
Posts: 8,820
Trader Rating: 33 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bighomedog11 View Post
Hey I got my parts today New motors an a new ESC.


Sweet man, i was wondering when you were gonna get that stuff.

Retype your post again, and think about it slowly when you type so we all can understand.
__________________
Island Raceway & Hobby
Jason Pelletier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2007, 07:08 PM   #6
Tech Regular
 
Bighomedog11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Georgia
Posts: 424
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Bighomedog11 Send a message via Yahoo to Bighomedog11
Default

Ok. Let me start over.. Hopefully you will be able to understand it better. I am wondering on my peak charger is it the tamiya plug. I am wondering can i cutt that off an solder a Dean plug?

With the truck. I solder the tamiya plug slot on my new esc. Because the ESC had deans an i didnt have a no dean plug to put on my charger to charge my new battery. So i used my old battery with the standard plug. When i try to make it go it wouldnt do nothing. I turned it wouldn't turn but i would here like a twitch sound when i first turn it on. I am wondering why its doing this. I even put back on my stock ESC an it did the samething. So i am wondering should i change everything to deans an try again? Also how much do dean plug cost?

Last edited by Bighomedog11; 10-24-2007 at 07:59 PM.
Bighomedog11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2007, 09:45 PM   #7
Tech Apprentice
 
TechWun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Pittsburgh PA
Posts: 97
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to TechWun Send a message via MSN to TechWun Send a message via Yahoo to TechWun
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bighomedog11 View Post
Ok. Let me start over.. Hopefully you will be able to understand it better. I am wondering on my peak charger is it the tamiya plug. I am wondering can i cutt that off an solder a Dean plug?

With the truck. I solder the tamiya plug slot on my new esc. Because the ESC had deans an i didnt have a no dean plug to put on my charger to charge my new battery. So I used my old battery with the standard plug. When i try to make it go it wouldnt do nothing. I turned it wouldn't turn but i would here like a twitch sound when i first turn it on. I am wondering why its doing this. I even put back on my stock ESC an it did the samething. So i am wondering should i change everything to deans an try again? Also how much do dean plug cost?
MY TRANSLATION:

' Can I remove the Tamiya plug from my peak charger and use a deans instead?

Initially I didn't have any deans connectors handy and my new ESC came with one installed. But since I didn't have any deans to use on my old battery or charger I decided to remove the deans from the ESC and wire in a Tamiya plug I already had. It made a funky noise when I turned it all on but doesn't seem to do anything else, why? I threw my old ESC back in the car to see if it was the new ESC, but it's doing the same thing as well. Do you think I should change it all over to deans and trhy it again? Whats the going rate for deans connectors? '

- Matt (who speaks very good broken english)
__________________
Current Models/Projects: Kyosho Optima Mid, Kyosho Shadow, RC10T4, RC10 truck conversion, Tamiya Clodbuster, Bolink Eliminator Sport
TechWun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2007, 02:11 AM   #8
Tech Fanatic
 
B4Bandit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Sydney, Australia. St Ives RC Club.
Posts: 960
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Use Deans connectors. They are far superior to the Tamiya style plugs.
B4Bandit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2007, 04:03 AM   #9
Tech Regular
 
Bighomedog11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Georgia
Posts: 424
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Bighomedog11 Send a message via Yahoo to Bighomedog11
Default

Thanks matt for clearing it up for me.
Do you think thats whats causing the problem is i need to change to deans? Because like nothing works when the battery hooked up. The front wheel wont even turn. Does this happen when its no programed?
Bighomedog11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2007, 04:41 AM   #10
Tech Fanatic
 
B4Bandit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Sydney, Australia. St Ives RC Club.
Posts: 960
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Are the servo and esc plugged into the correct ports on the reciever?
B4Bandit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2007, 04:53 AM   #11
Tech Regular
 
Alltapdout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Great White Buffalo
Posts: 412
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Did you check to ensure that the polarity is correct on the connectors you changed?
Alltapdout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2007, 06:11 AM   #12
Tech Elite
 
SQC049's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: New York
Posts: 2,851
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

Sounds like you have the ESC plugged into the receiver backwards. Unplug the ESC from the receiver and plug it in the opposite way, that should fix your problem.
SQC049 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2007, 01:45 PM   #13
Tech Regular
 
Bighomedog11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Georgia
Posts: 424
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Bighomedog11 Send a message via Yahoo to Bighomedog11
Default

Ok. I change the slots an my ESC turned on. The red light lit up. But the tamyia plug got really warm an started to smoke. I am wondering is this because i am using a 19t motor on the tamyia plug? Because if it is i will use my 27t motor instead.
Bighomedog11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2007, 01:57 PM   #14
Tech Elite
 
SQC049's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: New York
Posts: 2,851
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

It shouldn't start to get hot right away. Check the polarity of the soldering you did.
SQC049 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2007, 01:59 PM   #15
Tech Regular
 
Bighomedog11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Georgia
Posts: 424
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Bighomedog11 Send a message via Yahoo to Bighomedog11
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SQC049 View Post
It shouldn't start to get hot right away. Check the polarity of the soldering you did.
what is the polarity? What does that mean?
Bighomedog11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hudy 1/8'th scale setup station pay today ships TODAY!! (MARYLAND) A Robinson. R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 2 05-27-2010 08:33 PM
Hudy 1/8'th scale setup station pay today ships TODAY!! (MARYLAND) A Robinson. R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 4 02-27-2008 05:17 PM
I am 18 today! StephenSobottka Electric On-Road 38 10-10-2005 11:01 PM
over 210 used extra tc3 parts new&used parts plus hop ups mint MORE ADDED TODAY MONDA jason cheng R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 13 04-01-2004 07:05 PM
tons of used tc3 parts all mint shape updated list more added today jan 25th jason cheng R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 0 01-25-2004 05:08 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 02:05 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net