Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road
Goin to Lipo from IB4200 What differences should i expect? >

Goin to Lipo from IB4200 What differences should i expect?

Goin to Lipo from IB4200 What differences should i expect?

Reply

Old 10-11-2007, 07:02 PM
  #1  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
iTrader: (33)
 
NJA82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Cairns, QLD
Posts: 430
Trader Rating: 33 (100%+)
Default Goin to Lipo from IB4200 What differences should i expect?

Hi guys,

Have just got back into racing and purchased some matched IB4200`s but due to the convinience of Lipo`s i have decided to sell the IB4200`s and go Lipo. Any experienced people that have done the conversion themselves please share thoughts.

Have been looking at Orion/Peak 3200 carbon edition packs, now if im correct the extra 30% runtime that Lipo`s have compared to NiMH means these Lipo`s should run the same or longer than the IB4200`s?

What would the power be like compared?

I am happy with the power and run time i am getting out of the IB4200`s i currently have so i would just like to know if i can expect the same performance as what i have with the Orion 3200 Lipo`s?

Cheers guys.
NJA82 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2007, 07:52 PM
  #2  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (17)
 
BuggyKing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Huntington Beach, Ca
Posts: 7,919
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

more then likely longer run time. DOnt have to worry about cycling batteries.
BuggyKing is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2007, 08:26 PM
  #3  
Tech Master
iTrader: (28)
 
johnnyboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,634
Trader Rating: 28 (97%+)
Default

The runtime of the Orion 3200 should be similar to the IB4200's because of IR and composition differences in the two technologies. You should have better punch later on in the runtime with the LiPo's as well. The greatest thing about them is that you don't need to do any fancy and time consuming maintenance on them. Just charge, run, re-peak, run and store charged. No cycling, equalizing etc. You WILL need to add weight back into the car for it to handle properly (probably around 3 to 5 oz) because the LiPo's are quite light. I can get away with running one 4800 Platinum LiPo pack in my RB5 for the whole day of racing! Awesome....
johnnyboy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2007, 11:38 PM
  #4  
Tech Master
iTrader: (15)
 
sim600's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,629
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Team Orion are coming out with 3600mah LiPo packs with similar shape to their 3200 Carbons, but not sure when. Thought you'd want to know.
sim600 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2007, 02:14 AM
  #5  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (3)
 
acko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: perth west aus
Posts: 834
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

mate you will not regret going to lipo as far as power output is concerned. ive been playin with lipos for a while now and it will be like you have just supercharged your rc by only changing the battery. the power output if unbelieveable

do it man, do it
acko is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2007, 09:46 AM
  #6  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (17)
 
BuggyKing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Huntington Beach, Ca
Posts: 7,919
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

I guess Lipos cant drop below a certain voltage. I have hearing about this can can anyone share on this.
BuggyKing is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2007, 10:11 AM
  #7  
Tech Legend
 
Wild Cherry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: TRCR Modified Driver
Posts: 22,595
Default

The performance is close to the same cept the Li-Po will still be in use a few months later and the Nk Ml 4200 will be only good for a paper weight....


Don`t make the mistake of not switching over to Li-Po !!!!


Its a expensive mistake....

Li-po cutoff voltage cutoff is around 6.25 volts, I never get that close though...
When you begin to feel the pack slow down, pull off the track ...
The voltage will be only down to 7 volts if you do as I do....
Wild Cherry is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2007, 10:16 AM
  #8  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 296
Default

When the power comes down, stop, and recharge. It's that simple. Some even have a lipo cut off built into the speedo. You make it sound like it's the end of the world. Any battery that is showing signs of powering down should be stopped being used and whatever steps is needed to recharge should be done. The good thing with lipos, there is not discharge process unlike regular Sub C-cells.
silence360 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2007, 10:22 AM
  #9  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (19)
 
MannEdge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Spring Hill, TN
Posts: 480
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Wild Cherry View Post
The performance is close to the same cept the Li-Po will still be in use a few months later and the Nk Ml 4200 will be only good for a paper weight....


Don`t make the mistake of not switching over to Li-Po !!!!


Its a expensive mistake....

....
Why?? If lipos and NiMH are mistake, what else is to use? I am confused on what your point is.
MannEdge is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2007, 12:25 PM
  #10  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (33)
 
Jason Pelletier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New York
Posts: 8,820
Trader Rating: 33 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by MannEdge View Post
Why?? If lipos and NiMH are mistake, what else is to use? I am confused on what your point is.
read his post again.
Jason Pelletier is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2007, 01:41 PM
  #11  
Tech Master
iTrader: (28)
 
johnnyboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,634
Trader Rating: 28 (97%+)
Default

Originally Posted by sim600 View Post
Team Orion are coming out with 3600mah LiPo packs with similar shape to their 3200 Carbons, but not sure when. Thought you'd want to know.
Here ya go:
Attached Thumbnails Goin to Lipo from IB4200 What differences should i expect?-sany0030.jpg  
johnnyboy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2007, 02:01 PM
  #12  
Tech Master
iTrader: (8)
 
jkirkwood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,239
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

For the people that run only one battery all day at a race are you repeaking the battery between each qualifier or every other qualifier? How long are you waiting to put it on the charger after you finish a qualifier?
jkirkwood is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2007, 02:07 PM
  #13  
Tech Master
iTrader: (28)
 
johnnyboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,634
Trader Rating: 28 (97%+)
Default

I actually run two packs. I use one for practice and then one for the qualifiers and the main. After each qualifier, I will let the pack cool down a bit and then just re-peak it. Then just charge it back up when I get home for storage. Even if you don't get it peaked in time (which hasn't happened to me yet) you will have plenty of runtime left in the pack to get you through. I can get 15 to 20 minutes of modified runtime out of my 4800.
johnnyboy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2007, 02:23 PM
  #14  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 296
Default

Where is a good place to buy the Orion Lipo packs? What is the difference between the A123 packs. I see a lot of people run the Maxamps, are they good as well?
silence360 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2007, 02:47 PM
  #15  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (41)
 
Turbo Joe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Corona, CA
Posts: 4,878
Trader Rating: 41 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by jkirkwood View Post
For the people that run only one battery all day at a race are you repeaking the battery between each qualifier or every other qualifier? How long are you waiting to put it on the charger after you finish a qualifier?

I usually run two cars in two classes and I throw them right back on the charger as soon as they come off the track. They don't have to "cool down", they actually cool down as they charge. If they don't get charged back up, no biggie, but for a 5 minute race, it only takes maybe 15 minutes or so to top it off.

I could easily run the whole night on one charge and I've run back-to-back mains (10 with a 10.5 in the RB-5 and 10 minutes with a 7.5 in the ZX-5) on one (old) 4800 without charging it back up...it was on the charger for maybe two minutes and I pulled it back off.
Turbo Joe is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service